Diversity makes companies better

August 2020 – Good diversity management demonstrably increases corporate success and can be a strong advantage in times of crisis. Here, Hamburg Commercial Bank recently signed the “Diversity Charter.” With this obligation HCOB commits itself to an unprejudiced working environment and to equal opportunities.

Diversity Charter

Equal opportunities for all should be standard in the 21st century. And yet the understandable outrage of the black population in the United States in the face of discrimination and lethal police violence demonstrates the gap between equal rights on paper and equal treatment of all people in practice. And in Germany, too, the “Black Lives Matter” movement is attracting much public attention. But discrimination doesn’t only manifest itself in such obviously appalling ways as the racially motivated police operations that can be observed in the USA; discrimination also takes the form of much smaller everyday acts – and this also includes the working realities of businesses.

People of non-white skin color, women, the disabled, the elderly, single parents and part-time workers still, according to many studies, for example McKinsey for the Berlin recruiting start-up Truffls, face certain disadvantages in terms of their careers, promotion opportunities, and pay when compared to single or married middle-aged white men. But at the same time there is good news: the number of companies focusing on diversity has been growing rapidly for several years now.

Persons staying together

Companies with diverse staff are more successful

Diversity management is now part of the corporate philosophy of many major international corporations. Company groups in particular have long had their own diversity management departments and promoted themselves as being particularly diverse, recognizing that diversity is not a burden but an added value. Studies prove this, including a McKinsey study from mid 2020 that shows that companies with a high proportion of women in management or on the board are a quarter of a percent more profitable than others, while a 2019 study by PricewaterhouseCoopers found that those companies that maximize diversity and inclusion are 13.8 times more likely to be innovative than their competitors. The US investment bank Goldman Sachs also announced at the most recent World Economic Forum in Davos that since July 2020, it only supports IPOs in the US and Europe with at least one board member from a diverse background. This decision was partly influenced by the fact that IPOs of companies with diverse management boards have been significantly more successful in the past.

But things often look different in practice, with women making up just 28 of the total 193 Dax board members, or 15 percent. The situation is similar when it comes to the management teams of the largest German family-owned companies: according to a recently published study by the Allbright Foundation, just 6.9 percent of the managers of the 100 top-selling German family-owned companies are women.

The issue of diversity isn’t only about equal opportunities, it is also clever economics, since establishing diverse structures leads to greater success: those who exclude marginalized groups also deprive themselves of economic opportunities. “The advantages of diversity are obvious, whether increasing profitability and sales figures, or boosting innovation and creativity,” says Victoria Wagner. As a top advertising executive and strategy consultant for various companies, Wagner launched the “BeyondGenderAgenda” initiative, which aims to sensitize companies to the issue of equal opportunities for managers of the other sex, cultural backgrounds, ages, sexual orientations, and gender identities, and to change the way these differences are thought about in politics and business. The initiative has attracted many prominent advocates, including the Federal Minister of Health, Jens Spahn, who is himself openly gay: “It’s only if we exploit our full potential that Germany will remain economically strong in the 2020s. No-one who wants to help us achieve this can be disadvantaged on the basis of their gender, age, background, or sexual orientation.”

Diversity flag

Hamburg Commercial Bank in good company

Hamburg Commercial Bank has also committed itself to the issue of diversity. The Bank recently signed the “Diversity Charter”; with this voluntary commitment, HCOB commits itself to ensuring an unprejudiced working environment and equal opportunities for all. And is in big and prominent company: More than 3,000 companies, institutions, and academic and social bodies with a total of more than 13.5 million employees have now signed the “Diversity Charter,” including many major German corporations, such as Allianz, BASF, and Telekom. “HCOB wants to have the most qualified colleagues possible on board, and so it’s important we live an open culture,” says Sabine Kittner-Schürmann, the bank’s Equal Opportunities Officer.

“Diversity in all its aspects is an important topic for us as a bank,” says CEO Stefan Ermisch. “Diversity and equal opportunities for all should be a matter of course – both for companies and for society as a whole.” By signing the Diversity Charter, companies commit themselves to creating an appropriate culture in their respective organizations, and to reviewing and, if necessary, adapting their human resources work in line with the charter.

Hands are still on top of each other

The aim of the “Diversity Charter,” whose patron is Chancellor Angela Merkel herself, is to create a working environment in which all employees experience the same appreciation and support, regardless of their nationality, ethnic origins, religion or belief, disability, age, sexual orientation, or identity – it’s all about respecting the uniqueness of the other person. The “Diversity Charter” therefore represents a commitment to living together without prejudice, promoting equality, and supporting an open society. At the same time, successful diversity management offers a number of advantages and opportunities, since a diverse environment makes organizations more able to adapt to external circumstances and with this increases their chances of economic success.

The “Diversity Charter” is also intended to help make people question their own thinking and actions. “A diversity of resources means a wide range of potential,” says Christiane Gathmann, the bank’s part-time Equal Opportunities Officer. “In an increasingly complex world, we should exploit this potential,” she argues, adding that we all sometimes have “unconscious pigeonholes” that can stand in the way of this. The two equal opportunity officers now want to help the Hamburg Commercial Bank clear out these final pigeonholes and refill them with more diverse content.

Chart: How diverse is Germany’s economy? (Source: Handelsblatt Media Group, Stepstone; online survey of 11,000 specialists and executives in May 2020)

How diverse is Germany’s economy? (Source: Handelsblatt Media Group, Stepstone; online survey of 11,000 specialists and executives in May 2020)

Even with the coronavirus pandemic and its consequences, the issue of diversity remains as urgent as ever, as confirmed by a recent survey by Handelsblatt Media Group and StepStone, from May 2020. Around 11,000 specialists and managers were questioned in an online survey, 5,100 of whom provided complete answers to the extensive list of questions. For 56.7 percent of those surveyed, equal opportunities in their company remain an important topic even during the coronavirus crisis, while 20.7 percent of the study’s participants consider it to have increased in importance during the pandemic. And this isn’t surprising when one considers the growing number of articles claiming that women are the biggest losers of the coronavirus crisis.

Hamburg Commercial Bank, one of the signatories of the Charter of Diversity

Diversity macht Unternehmen besser

August 2020 – Ein gutes Diversity Management steigert nachweislich den Unternehmenserfolg und kann auch in Krisenzeiten ein starkes Pfund sein. Die Hamburg Commercial Bank hat jüngst die „Charta der Vielfalt“ unterzeichnet.

Charta der Vielfalt

Im 21. Jahrhundert sollte die Chancengleichheit eine Selbstverständlichkeit sein. Doch der berechtigte Aufschrei der schwarzen Bevölkerung in den Vereinigten Staaten gegen Diskriminierung und tödliche Polizeigewalt zeigt, dass Gleichberechtigung auf dem Papier längst noch nicht gleiche Rechte und gleiche Behandlung aller Menschen in der Praxis bedeuten. Auch in Deutschland bewegt die Initiative „Black lives matter“ die Öffentlichkeit. Diskriminierung zeigt sich jedoch nicht nur in solch erschreckender Weise wie bei rassistisch motivierten Polizeieinsätzen in den USA. Diskriminierung dokumentiert sich tagtäglich in viel kleineren Dingen – auch in der Wirklichkeit von Wirtschaftsunternehmen.

Menschen nicht-weißer Hautfarbe, Frauen, Behinderte, Ältere, Alleinerziehende oder in Teilzeit Arbeitende werden nach vielen Untersuchungen, etwa von McKinsey oder des Berliner Recruiting-Start-ups Truffls, gegenüber dem mittelalten weißen Single oder Familienvater immer noch benachteiligt, was die Berufs- und Aufstiegschancen oder die Bezahlung angeht. Doch zugleich gibt es eine gute Nachricht: Die Zahl der Unternehmen, die auf Diversität setzen, steigt seit Jahren rapide.

Menschen aller Kulturen und Hautfarben bilden sich in den Arm nehmend eine Kette.

Vielfältig besetzte Firmen sind erfolgreicher

Diversity Management gehört mittlerweile bei internationalen Großkonzernen zur Firmenphilosophie. Besonders Konzerne verfügen längst über eigenes Diversity Management und werben damit, besonders vielfältig zu sein. Sie haben erkannt, dass Vielfalt keine Belastung, sondern ein Mehrwert ist. Studien belegen das, unter anderem eine McKinsey-Untersuchung aus dem Mai 2020. Sie belegt, dass Unternehmen mit einem hohen Anteil von Frauen in der Geschäftsführung oder im Vorstand um ein Viertel Prozent profitabler als andere sind. Eine Untersuchung von PricewaterhouseCoopers von 2019 hat herausgefunden, dass es 13,8-mal wahrscheinlicher ist, dass Unternehmen mit maximaler Verankerung von Diversität und Inklusion innovativer sind als der Wettbewerb. Und die US-Investmentbank Goldman Sachs gab auf dem jüngsten World Economic Forum in Davos bekannt, dass sie seit Juli 2020 in den USA und Europa nur noch Börsengänge mit mindestens einem diversen Board-Mitglied begleiten wird. Hintergrund der Entscheidung ist auch, dass Börsengänge von Unternehmen mit vielfältig aufgestellten Vorständen in der Vergangenheit wirtschaftlich deutlich erfolgreicher waren.

Doch die Praxis spricht häufig noch immer eine andere Sprache: Nur 28 der insgesamt 193 Dax-Vorstände sind Frauen, das sind gerade einmal 15 Prozent. In den Führungsetagen der größten deutschen Familienunternehmen sieht die Lage ähnlich aus. Nach einer jüngst veröffentlichten Studie der Allbright-Stiftung arbeiten in den Geschäftsführungen der 100 umsatzstärksten deutschen Familienunternehmen nur 6,9 Prozent Frauen.

Beim Thema Diversität geht es nicht allein um Chancengerechtigkeit. Sondern auch um ökonomische Cleverness: Wer sich divers aufstellt, ist erfolgreicher. Wer Randgruppen ausgrenzt, beraubt sich selbst wirtschaftlicher Chancen. „Die Vorteile von Vielfältigkeit, wie die Erhöhung der Profitabilitäts- und Umsatzkennzahlen, die Steigerung der Innovationskraft und Kreativität, liegen klar auf der Hand“, sagt Victoria Wagner. Die Topwerberin und Strategieberaterin für Unternehmen hat die Initiative „BeyondGenderAgenda“ ins Leben gerufen, die Unternehmen für das Thema Chancengleichheit von Führungskräften anderen Geschlechts, kultureller Herkunft, Alters, sexueller Orientierung und Geschlechteridentität sensibilisieren sowie ein Umdenken in Politik und Wirtschaft erreichen will. Prominente Fürsprecher gibt es zuhauf, etwa den selbst offen homosexuell lebenden Bundesgesundheitsminister Jens Spahn: „Nur wenn wir unser volles Potenzial ausschöpfen, bleibt Deutschland in den 2020iger-Jahren ökonomisch stark. Wer mit anpacken will, darf keinen Nachteil aufgrund von Geschlecht, Alter, Herkunft oder sexueller Orientierung haben.“

Diversity Flagge

Hamburg Commercial Bank in guter Gesellschaft

Auch die Hamburg Commercial Bank hat sich des Themas Diversity verschrieben. Jüngst unterzeichnete die Bank die „Charta der Vielfalt“: Mit der Selbstverpflichtung bekennt sich die HCOB zu einem vorurteilsfreien Arbeitsumfeld und zu Chancengleichheit. Und befindet sich in großer und bester Gesellschaft: Mehr als 3.000 Unternehmen, Institutionen, akademische und soziale Einrichtungen mit zusammen mehr als 13,5 Millionen Mitarbeiter*innen haben die „Charta der Vielfalt“ inzwischen unterzeichnet, darunter viele deutsche Großkonzerne wie die Allianz, BASF und die Telekom. „Die HCOB möchte möglichst qualifizierte Kolleginnen und Kollegen an Bord haben, deshalb ist es wichtig, eine offene Kultur zu leben“, sagt die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte der Bank, Sabine Kittner-Schürmann.

„Diversity ist für uns als Bank in all ihren Dimensionen ein wichtiges Thema“, sagt der Vorstandsvorsitzende Stefan Ermisch. „Vielfalt und Chancengleichheit für alle sollten selbstverständlich sein – das gilt für Unternehmen genau wie für die ganze Gesellschaft.“ Mit der Unterzeichnung der „Charta der Vielfalt“ verpflichten sich Unternehmen, eine geeignete Organisationskultur zu schaffen, die Arbeit im Personalbereich im Sinne der Charta der Vielfalt zu prüfen und gegebenenfalls anzupassen.

Menschen verschiedener Hautfarbe und Kulturen halten ihre Hände übereinander.

Das Ziel der „Charta der Vielfalt“, deren Schirmherrin Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel ist, ein Arbeitsumfeld zu schaffen, in dem alle Beschäftigten die gleiche Wertschätzung und Förderung erfahren und zwar unabhängig von Nationalität, ethnischer Herkunft, Religion oder Weltanschauung, Behinderung, Alter sowie sexueller Orientierung und Identität – es geht um den Respekt vor der Einzigartigkeit des anderen. Die „Charta der Vielfalt“ ist damit ein Bekenntnis zu einem Zusammenleben ohne Vorurteile, für Gleichberechtigung und stellt ein Bekenntnis zu einer offenen Gesellschaft dar. Gleichzeitig bietet erfolgreiches Diversity Management etliche Vorteile und Chancen: Ein vielfältiges Umfeld fördert die Anpassungsfähigkeit von Organisationen an äußere Umstände und erhöht so die Chancen auf den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg.

Die „Charta der Vielfalt“ soll auch dazu beitragen, das eigene Denken und Handeln zu hinterfragen. „Eine Vielfalt der Ressourcen bietet eine Vielzahl von Potenzialen“, sagt Christiane Gathmann, nebenamtliche Gleichstellungsbeauftragte der Bank. „Diese Potenziale sollten wir in einer immer komplexeren Welt nutzen.“ Dabei stünden uns allen jedoch teilweise „unbewusste Denkschubladen“ im Weg. Die beiden Gleichstellungsbeauftragten wollen nun in der Hamburg Commercial Bank dazu beitragen, diese letzten Denkschubladen auszuräumen und mit diverserem Inhalt zu füllen.

Grafik: Wie divers ist Deutschlands Wirtschaft? (Quelle: Handelsblatt Media Group, Stepstone; Onlineumfrage unter 11.000 Fach- und Führungskräften im Mai 2020)

Wie divers ist Deutschlands Wirtschaft? (Quelle: Handelsblatt Media Group, Stepstone; Onlineumfrage unter 11.000 Fach- und Führungskräften im Mai 2020)

Auch die Corona-Pandemie und ihre Folgen ändern nichts an der Dringlichkeit des Themas Diversity. Das bestätigt eine aktuelle Umfrage von Handelsblatt Media Group und StepStone. Im Mai 2020 wurden dafür in einer Onlinebefragung rund 11.000 Fach- und Führungskräfte befragt, 5.100 davon haben den umfangreichen Fragebogen vollständig beantwortet. Für 56,7 Prozent der Befragten bleibt die Chancengerechtigkeit im Unternehmen auch unter Corona ein unverändert wichtiges Thema; für 20,7 Prozent der Studienteilnehmer*innen ist deren Bedeutung während der Pandemie sogar noch gestiegen. Das verwundert nicht, wenn man sich die wachsende Zahl von Beiträgen vor Augen führt, die zur These haben, dass Frauen die größten Verliererinnen der Corona-Krise seien.

Hamburg Commercial Bank, eine der Unterzeichnerinnen der Charta der Vielfalt