Breath of fresh air for wind power market

November 2020 – Before the coronavirus pandemic, the German wind power sector found itself in a deep structural crisis. On a positive note: the companies which survived the downturn in business are emerging from it stronger. The outlook for the offshore business in particular is improving appreciably.

In December, there is generally a particularly harsh, cold breeze blowing in front of the Hamburg exhibition halls. -The participants from all over the world at this year's leading “WindEnergy Hamburg” fair will not, however, notice it at all in their well-heated offices or their re-purposed offices at home. As with almost all trade fairs, the WindEnergy Hamburg has become a virtual event, taking place from December 1 to 4, 2020.

working men

Tangible sector crisis despite megawatt boom

The virtual nature of the conference won't change the volatility of the topics being discussed. The global wind power sector, particularly in Germany, is finding itself at a crossroads. After an exemplary boom, urged on largely by the remunerations secured for power from alternative energies through the Renewable Energy Sources Act, the wind energy sector in Germany virtually came to a standstill back in 2019. Some companies along the entire value chain are embroiled in tangible, economic problems; notable corporations have completely waved goodbye to their commitment to the wind energy sector. As a final step, the fall in prices on the electricity market further exacerbated the crisis.

2019 should actually have been a year to celebrate: for the first time, wind power pushed brown coal from its top spot as the most important German energy source. Nevertheless, in 2019, only another 325 wind power plants were erected on the coasts or the hillsides of the interior. In 2002, in contrast, 2,328 new plants had been erected according to figures from the German Wind Energy Association and the WindGuard GmbH consulting firm.

Dull business

Additional construction and overall trend in the onshore wind power plants in Germany since 2000

Additional construction and overall trend in the onshore wind power plants in Germany since 2000

Source: German Wind Energy Association; WindGuard GmbH

As well as the decline in the statutorily guaranteed remuneration, another reason for the dire circumstances is the increasingly critical attitude from parts of society and politics towards new wind power plants – particularly close to urban areas and in areas where protected bird species are present. The halted additional construction on land is felt by all participants on the market: the manufacturers of wind power plants, suppliers, project managers, planners, wind consultants, lawyers, public auditors, technical consultants and investors.

“2020 won't be a better year for the German wind power sector either,” says Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure Project Finance at the Hamburg Commercial Bank, quashing optimism for a fast recovery in the style of the much-quoted V-shaped economic trend. But the future is much more important to the world economy than the present. And ahead of the Hamburg wind trade fair, the positive signs are increasing.

Wind power oft the street

Offshore farms full of promise

The regularly extolled “Wind energy trend:index” is for the first time reporting a generally better mood among the latest online survey of around 7,500 market participants from the onshore and offshore industry. “The outlook for the future of the international wind market is globally good and is on the rise again. The future of the German market is being assessed positively for the first time in a year,” according to the evaluation of the survey results.

The German federal government is making its contribution to the improved mood: the planned “Wind energy at sea act” from the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs is setting ambitious targets in the expansion of offshore wind power: by 2030, instead of 15 gigawatt (GW), now 20 gigawatt are to be erected, and 40 GW by 2040. Currently, the power that wind turbines generate in the open sea in Germany stands at around 7.5 GW. Federal Minister of Economics Peter Altmaier: “The target increase in wind plants at sea makes it clear that Germany will continue to be a leading market for offshore wind power. The clear long-term goals provide planning and investment security.”

“The demand from local authority or municipal providers for local wind power plants to appease their own energy requirements is also noticeably on the rise.”

Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure Project Finance at the Hamburg Commercial Bank

The European Union has even bigger targets. According to an internal paper, just quoted in the “Handelsblatt”, offshore wind farms around Europe's coastlines are to deliver a total output of 300 gigawatt by 2050. This equates to the output of around 450 atomic reactors or 450 large coal generating units.

New upwind on land too: Peter Almaier who himself at one point complicated matters with the 1,000-meter interval rule for interior construction of new wind power plants, is once again choosing more wind-rich locations between the North Sea coast and the foothills of the Alps. The federal government promises an increased expansion of wind power on land from the “investment acceleration act”.

Even the wave of complaints against the new construction of modern wind power plants is expected to tail off. Significantly streamlined legal processes have provided investors and project managers with more and faster clarity. “The demand from local authority or municipal providers for local wind power plants to appease their own energy requirements is also noticeably on the rise,” notes market expert Inka Klinger. In addition to this there is a growing interest in fixed power supply contracts: More and more companies who are doing something for their carbon footprint and would like to supply their offices, factories or data centers with green energy, are concluding direct supply contracts with individual wind farms. The renewable energy experts at Hamburg Commercial Bank have been particularly focusing on these transactions in recent years – alongside all other financing types in the wind business. Inka Klinger: “There is a particularly large amount of institutional capital flowing in this field. As market experts and intermediaries, we establish ties between plant operators and investors.”

Frische Brise am Markt für Windenergie

November 2020 – Schon vor Ausbruch der Corona-Pandemie befand sich die deutsche Windenergiebranche in einer tiefen Strukturkrise. Das Gute jedoch: Die Unternehmen, die das Abflauen des Geschäfts überlebt haben, gehen gestärkt aus ihr hervor. Vor allem die Aussichten für das Offshore-Business bessern sich zusehends.

Im Dezember weht vor den Hamburger Messehallen meist eine besonders steife, kalte Brise. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der diesjährigen Leitmesse „WindEnergy Hamburg“ aus aller Welt werden davon in ihren gut beheizten Büros oder zum Büro umfunktionierten Homeoffices jedoch nichts mitbekommen. Wie fast alle Messen ist aus der WindEnergy Hamburg ein virtuelles Event geworden, das vom 1. bis 4. Dezember 2020 stattfindet.

Mann, blaues Hemd, weißer Helm steht vor einem Flügel eines Windrads

Handfeste Branchenkrise trotz Megawatt-Booms

An der Brisanz der besprochenen Themen wird die Virtualität der Tagung nichts ändern. Die weltweite und speziell die deutsche Windenergiebranche befinden sich am Scheideweg. Nach einem beispielhaften Boom – angefeuert vor allem von den durch das Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz gesicherten Vergütungen für Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien – ist die Windenergiebranche hierzulande bereits 2019 faktisch zum Erliegen gekommen. Mancher Hersteller entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungsstufen steckt in handfesten wirtschaftlichen Problemen; namhafte Konzerne haben sich aus ihren Engagements im Windbereich komplett verabschiedet. Der Preisverfall am Elektrizitätsmarkt hat die Krise zuletzt nochmals verschärft.

Dabei war 2019 eigentlich ein Jahr zum Feiern: Die Windenergie hatte die Braunkohle erstmals von Platz eins als wichtigsten deutschen Energieträger verdrängt. Dennoch wurden 2019 nur noch 325 Windenergieanlagen an den Küsten oder Hängen im Binnenland neu errichtet. 2002 waren es dagegen noch 2.328 neue Anlagen gewesen, zeigen Zahlen des Bundesverbandes WindEnergie und des Beratungshauses WindGuard GmbH.

Flaues Geschäft

Zubau und Gesamtentwicklung bei Onshore-Windenergieanlagen in Deutschland seit 2000

Zubau und Gesamtentwicklung bei Onshore-Windenergieanlagen in Deutschland seit 2000

Quelle: Bundesverband WindEnergie; WindGuard GmbH

Ein weiterer Grund für die Misere neben dem Rückgang bei der gesetzlich gesicherten Vergütung ist die zunehmend kritischere Haltung in Teilen der Gesellschaft und der Politik gegen neue Windenergieanlagen – besonders in der Nähe bebauter Gebiete und in Gebieten, in denen Vogelschutzarten vorkommen. Den zum Erliegen gekommenen Zubau an Land spüren alle Marktteilnehmer: die Hersteller von Windenergieanlagen, Zulieferer, , Projektierer, Planer, Windgutachter, Anwälte, Wirtschaftsprüfer, technische Gutachter und Investoren.

„Auch 2020 wird für die deutsche Windenergiebranche kein besseres Jahr werden“, dämpft Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure Project Finance bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank, den Optimismus für eine schnelle Erholung im Stil der vielzitierten „V”-Konjunkturkurve. Doch viel wichtiger als die Gegenwart ist in der Wirtschaftswelt stets die Zukunft. Und hier mehren sich im Vorfeld der Hamburger Windmesse die positiven Signale.

Ein Flügel eines Windrades auf einem Lastwagen unterwegs auf einer Straße

Offshore-Parks als großes Versprechen

Der regelmäßig erhobene „Windenergy trend:index“ meldet bei der jüngsten Onlinebefragung unter rund 7.500 Marktteilnehmern aus der On- und Offshore-Industrie erstmals wieder eine allgemein bessere Laune. „Die Aussicht auf die Zukunft des internationalen Windmarkts ist weltweit gut und steigt weiter an. Auch die Zukunft des deutschen Markts wird zum ersten Mal seit einem Jahr wieder positiv bewertet“, heißt es in der Auswertung der Befragungsergebnisse.

Auch die Bundesregierung trägt zur Stimmungsverbesserung ihren Teil bei: Das geplante „Windenergie-auf-See-Gesetz“ des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums setzt ambitioniertere Ziele für den Ausbau der Offshore-Windenergie: Bis 2030 sollen statt bisher 15 nun 20 Gigawatt (GW), bis 2040 dann 40 GW Leistung errichtet werden. Aktuell sind es rund 7,5 GW, die Windräder auf offener deutscher See jährlich an Strom erzeugen. Bundeswirtschaftsminister Peter Altmaier: „Mit der Zielerhöhung für Windanlagen auf See ist klar, dass Deutschland ein führender Markt für die Offshore-Windenergie bleiben wird. Wir geben mit den klaren Langfristzielen Planungs- und Investitionssicherheit.“

„Auch die Nachfrage durch Kommunen oder städtischer Versorger nach Windenergieanlagen vor der eigenen Tür zur Stillung des eigenen Energiebedarfs zieht spürbar an.“

Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure Project Finance bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Noch größere Ziele hat die Europäische Union. Laut einem internen Papier, aus dem das „Handelsblatt“ jüngst zitiert, sollen bis zum Jahr 2050 Offshore-Windparks vor Europas Küsten eine Gesamtleistung von 300 Gigawatt liefern. Das entspricht der Leistung von etwa 450 Atomreaktoren oder von 450 großen Kohlekraftwerksblöcken.

Neuer Aufwind auch an Land. Peter Altmaier, der einst selbst mit der 1.000-Meter-Abstandsregel den binnenländischen Bau neuer Windkraftanlagen erschwert hatte, setzt nun wieder vermehrt auf windreiche Standorte zwischen Nordseeküsste und Alpenvorland. Vom „Investitionsbeschleunigungsgesetz“ verspricht sich die Bundesregierung einen verstärkten Ausbau von Windenergie an Land.

Selbst die Klagewelle gegen den Neubau der modernen Windenergieanlagen dürfte abflachen. Dafür sorgen deutlich verschlankte Rechtswege, die Investoren und Projektierern mehr und schneller Klarheit verschaffen. „Auch die Nachfrage durch Kommunen oder städtischer Versorger nach Windenergieanlagen vor der eigenen Tür zur Stillung des eigenen Energiebedarfs zieht spürbar an“, registriert Marktexpertin Inka Klinger. Hinzu kommt ein wachsendes Interesse an festen Stromlieferverträgen: Immer mehr Unternehmen, die etwas für die Klimabilanz tun und ihre Büros, Fabriken oder Rechenzentren mit grünem Strom versorgen möchten, schließen direkte Abnahmeverträge mit einzelnen Windparks. Besonders auf solche Geschäfte haben sich die Erneuerbare-Energien-Experten der Hamburg Commercial Bank in den vergangenen Jahren spezialisiert – neben allen anderen Finanzierungsspielarten im Windgeschäft. Inka Klinger: „In diesem Bereich ist derzeit besonders viel institutionelles Kapital unterwegs. Wir als Marktkenner und Mittler knüpfen dabei die Bande zwischen Anlagenbetreibern und Investoren.“