Hamburg Commercial Bank strengthens ESG Criteria for issuing loans

October 2020 – It is not just businesses, but also banks as their lenders who must pay greater attention to the topic of sustainability. As of 1 October 2020, the Hamburg Commercial Bank codified all aspects of sustainable business in its lending guidelines. Likewise, the hurdle for its own activities is high.

house with balcony and plants

"Heal the world, make it a better place. For you and for me, and the entire human race”, sang Michael Jackson in 1991, lamenting the state of the planet in his song "Heal the World." Taking stock of the situation three decades later, little has changed. Quite the opposite, if one follows the young environmental activist Greta Thurnberg , whose message is clear and urgent: "We have to act like our house is on fire, because it is."

But despite temperatures increasing across the globe and new record annual highs for carbon dioxide emissions, the Swedish founder of "Fridays for Future", the environmental movement which has now spread across the globe, remains hopeful: "But the opportunity to do so will not last for long. We must start today. We have no more excuses."

In the search for ecologically prudent, economically viable and technologically feasible solutions to what is surely the biggest challenge in human history to date – climate change – states, investors and business are all obligated to act. Banks also have a positive contribution to make here.

sewing machine

Clear ESG commitment when issuing loans

Among specialist circles, but also the wider public, there is a consensus that it is not enough for lenders to focus solely on their conditions for issuing loans and the solvency of their clients. Rather, they must consider the common good and address the question of whom they should entrust their capital to and what exactly each company intends to do with it. In a globalised world, going to any lengths necessary for the purposes of investment or acquiring funding is no longer tenable. Lavish profits, generated by child labor, the exploitation of minorities or to the detriment of animal and plant life are no longer socially palatable or acceptable.

For some considerable time now, the Hamburg Commercial Bank has closely inspected the details of financing projects, scrutinizing many aspects – and refusing applications for loans if these fail to meet its high standards of compliance with ESG criteria. "E" stands for environment, "S" for social issues relating to sustainability and "G" for governance – good and transparent corporate management, which protects the rights of all employees and treats them fairly.

On 1 October 2020, sustainability criteria were formally integrated into the bank's lending standards and clear guiding principles for the bank's own actions were agreed. "At the beginning of October the bank's lending standards were comprehensively expanded to incorporate ESG criteria. These will be analyzed for each individual business and evaluated against clear benchmarks, specific to the respective business area," explains Martin Jonas, who is leading the sustainability project at Hamburg Commercial Bank together with Anna-Maria Saake and Oliver Scholz. What is most significant here: It isn't just prospective loans that must adhere to ESG standards – the existing portfolio will likewise be examined with regard to sustainability and reevaluated where necessary.

In real terms, in future the evaluation of ESG criteria for real estate financing, for example, could play out as follows: The bank examines the energy consumption of the project with regard to environmental criteria, evaluates the building materials and the emissions during the construction phase and subsequent operation of the building. With a view on the social issues, experts at the HCOB are increasing their efforts to ensure that the rights of employees are taken into consideration. As for governance, the goal here is to guarantee that all legal regulations are complied with and ideally that business partners have an established code of conduct.

Train in a train station

Blacklist and individual guiding principles

"The ESG commitment of the Hamburg Commercial Bank is not limited to its own dealings, it extends to the actions of its business partners, too", explains expert Jonas. This includes compiling a blacklist of countries and business areas, which will be automatically prohibited from acquiring financing: among which are countries with high levels of corruption and business areas such as weapons production and the nuclear industry. Likewise, companies who do not conform to minimum social requirements will simply not be considered as potential business partners for the bank.

At the same time, in fall 2020 the bank established its own guiding principles and agreed on the international framework to which it will conform. First and foremost, this pertains to the 17 sustainability development goals of the UNEP (United Nations Environmental Program), as well as standards for sustainable recycling of ships. In addition, HCOB will continue to reduce its carbon footprint: Business travel by plane is to be minimized or, where unavoidable, at the very least the associated carbon dioxide emissions will be compensated for and the journey rendered carbon neutral through participation in a carbon-offsetting initiative.

"It is our aspiration to become one of the leading banks in the field of sustainability."

Martin Jonas, sustainability project manager at Hamburg Commercial Bank

With the implementation of the ESG goals, the bank is fulfilling regulatory provisions which have become significantly more stringent in the past few years. But, of its own volition, the bank is going much further: "Alongside regulatory requirements, our project is very clearly focused on those of international investors", says Jonas. "It is our aspiration to become one of the leading banks in the field of sustainability. Sustainability is becoming increasingly important to our clients, something that holds true with regard to both assets and liabilities. Jonas maintains that the goal here is to significantly expand the investor base through refinancing by issuing green bonds and to improve funding costs over the long term. "The greener our assets, the better our ESG rating will be. And the more favorable our funding with green bonds. Sustainability is increasingly a decisive factor in the decision-making process for investors."

Jonas is doubtful that the ESG criteria will substantially limit the options for generating new business. "Since defining our blacklist, we have only identified one case of financing which we must remove from our books in the next three years. And as for new business, there are sufficient alternatives – we must always ask ourselves how fruitful doing business with companies that do not operate sustainably really is."

Hamburg Commercial Bank verfestigt ESG-Kriterien bei der Kreditvergabe

Oktober 2020 – Nicht nur handelnde Unternehmen, auch die Banken als deren Geldgeber müssen sich verstärkt dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit widmen. Seit 1. Oktober 2020 hat die Hamburg Commercial Bank sämtliche Aspekte nachhaltigen Wirtschaftens in ihren Kreditrichtlinien festgeschrieben. Und auch die Hürde an das eigene Tun liegt hoch.

Haus mit Balkonen und Pflanzen

„Heal the world, make it a better place. For you and for me, and the entire human race”, sang Michael Jackson 1991 und beklagte im Song „Heal the World“ den Zustand des Planeten. Drei Dekaden später hat sich an der Bestandsaufnahme wenig verändert. Eher im Gegenteil, wenn man der jungen Umweltaktivistin Greta Thurnberg folgt, die eindringlich mahnt: „We have to act like our house is on fire, because it is.“

Doch die aus Schweden stammende Gründerin der mittlerweile weltweiten Umweltbewegung „Fridays for Future“ hat trotz weltweit steigender Durchschnittstemperaturen und jährlich neuer Rekordwerte bei der Emission des klimaschädlichen Kohlendioxids weiter Hoffnung: „But the opportunity to do so will not last for long. We must start today. We have no more excuses.“

Bei der Suche nach ökologisch sinnvollen, ökonomisch stemmbaren und technologisch machbaren Antworten auf die wohl größte Herausforderung in der bisherigen Menschheitsgeschichte – der Klimafrage – sind Staaten, Investoren und Unternehmen gleichermaßen gefordert und in der Pflicht. Und nicht zuletzt Banken haben ihren Teil zum guten Ende beizutragen.

Nähmaschine

Klares ESG-Bekenntnis bei der Kreditvergabe

Es besteht in Fachkreisen, aber auch der breiteren Öffentlichkeit heute weitgehend Konsens darin, dass Kreditgeber nicht allein auf die Konditionen der Geldvergabe und die Solvenz ihres Gegenübers zu achten haben. Vielmehr sollten sie sich mit Blick auf das Gemeinwohl auch mit der Frage beschäftigen, wem sie da eigentlich ihr Kapital anvertrauen und was jenes Unternehmen genau damit vor hat. In einer globalisierten Welt gilt eben nicht mehr, dass bei der Geldanlage oder Geldvergabe jedes Mittel Recht ist. Satte Renditen, die auf dem Rücken von Kindern oder unterdrückten Minderheiten verdient werden oder zum Leidwesen von Tier- oder Pflanzenwelt die Kassen füllen, will niemand mehr akzeptieren.

Auch die Hamburg Commercial Bank achtet seit geraumer Zeit bei der Finanzierung von Projekten sehr genau auf die Details, hinterfragt vieles – und lehnt Kreditanträge auch ab, wenn diese den eigenen hohen Maßstäben an das Einhalten der ESG-Standards nicht entsprechen. „E“ steht dabei für Environment, „S“ für die „soziale“ Facette von Nachhaltigkeit, „G“ für Governance – also die gute und transparente Unternehmensführung, die die Rechte der Mitarbeitenden schützt und fair mit ihnen umgeht.

Seit 1. Oktober 2020 sind die Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte fest in die Kreditstandards der Bank integriert und ganz klare „Guiding Principles“ für das eigene Handeln des Geldhauses vereinbart. „Die gesamten Kreditstandards der Bank werden seit Anfang Oktober um die ESG-Dimensionen erweitert. Diese werden bei jedem einzelnen Geschäft anhand klarer – jeweils auf den Geschäftsbereich abgestimmter – Aspekte analysiert und bewertet“, sagt Martin Jonas, der das Sustainability-Projekt bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank zusammen mit Anna-Maria Saake und Oliver Scholz leitet. Das Besondere: Nicht nur künftige Kredite müssen ESG-Standards unterliegen – auch das Bestandsportfolio wird in puncto Nachhaltigkeit unter die Lupe genommen und gegebenenfalls neu bewertet.

Konkret könnte die Bewertung von ESG-Kriterien bei einer Immobilienfinanzierung künftig beispielsweise folgendermaßen aussehen: Die Bank prüft im Rahmen der Umweltaspekte den Energieverbrauch des Projekts, bewertet die Baumaterialen sowie die Emissionen während der Bauphase und des Betriebs. Bei der sozialen Dimension achten die Fachleute der HCOB verstärkt darauf, dass die Rechte der Arbeitnehmer beachtet werden. Bei der Unternehmensführung geht es schließlich darum, dass alle gesetzlichen Regeln eingehalten werden und der Geschäftspartner idealerweise einen eigenen „Code of Conduct“ hat.

S-Bahn steht im Bahnhof

Black List und eigene Guiding Principles

„Das ESG-Engagement der Hamburg Commercial Bank bezieht sich damit nicht nur auf das eigene Handeln, sondern auch auf das der Geschäftspartner“, erklärt Experte Jonas. Dazu gehört, dass in einer „Black List“ definiert ist, welche Länder und Geschäftsbereiche von vornherein für Finanzierungen ausscheiden: Dazu zählen Länder mit hoher Korruption sowie Geschäftsfelder wie die Waffenproduktion oder die Atomindustrie. Auch Unternehmen, die soziale Mindeststandards nicht einhalten, kommen für die Bank als Geschäftspartner grundsätzlich nicht infrage.

Gleichzeitig hat die Bank zum Herbst 2020 eigene „Guiding Principles“ etabliert und sich auf die internationalen Rahmenwerke verständigt, denen sie beitreten wird. Das sind allen voran die von der UNEP – das ist das Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen – verabschiedeten 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele sowie Standards für das verantwortungsvolle Recycling von Schiffen. Zudem verringert die HCOB weiter ihren eigenen Kohlendioxid-Fußabdruck: Dienstreisen per Flugzeug sollen minimiert werden oder, sofern sie notwendig sind, mit Blick auf die Kohlendioxidemissionen wenigstens klimaneutral kompensiert werden.

„Wir haben den Anspruch, uns zu den führenden Banken im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit zu entwickeln.“

Martin Jonas, Sustainability-Projektleiter der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Mit der Umsetzung der ESG-Ziele erfüllt die Bank regulatorische Vorgaben, die sich in den vergangenen Jahren deutlich verschärft haben. Aber sie geht aus eigenem Antrieb noch weit darüber hinaus. „Unser Projekt richtet sich neben den regulatorischen Anforderungen ganz klar an denen der internationalen Investoren aus “, sagt Jonas. „Wir haben den Anspruch, uns zu den führenden Banken im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit zu entwickeln. Nachhaltigkeit wird für unsere Kunden immer wichtiger, das gilt für die Aktiv- wie die Passivseite.“ Das Ziel sei es, in der Refinanzierung mittels Emissionen von Green Bonds die Investorenbasis deutlich zu erweitern und die Funding-Kosten perspektivisch etwas zu verbessern. „Je grüner wir auf der Aktivseite werden, desto besser wird unser ESG-Rating. Und desto günstiger wird unser Funding mit Green Bonds. Für immer mehr Investoren ist Sustainability ein entscheidendes Kriterium bei der Anlageentscheidung.“

Die Gefahr, dass die ESG-Kriterien die Möglichkeit des Neugeschäfts substanziell einschränken, sieht Jonas eher nicht. „Wir haben eine Black List definiert, hierbei aber nur eine einzige Finanzierung identifiziert, die wir in den nächsten drei Jahren aus den Büchern rausnehmen müssen. Und beim Neugeschäft gibt es genügend Alternativen – wir müssen uns ja immer überlegen, wie erfolgversprechend Geschäfte mit Unternehmen sind, die selbst nicht nachhaltig arbeiten.“