Optical fiber: the big corona winner

December 2020 Fiber-optic technology is on the verge of a huge breakthrough in Germany. The coronavirus crisis has played no small part in pushing forward digitalization – and has gifted those who build and operate this ultra-fast network with an exceptional boom for years to come. The Hamburg Commercial Bank is both optimally networked within the industry and a sought-after financing partner.

woman doing a video conference in front of a laptop

From December 2 to 3, 2020 the world’s biggest industry gathering around the topic of optical fiber is due to take place: the FTTH Virtual Europe Conference. It will be the first virtual meeting, since, as a consequence of the coronavirus pandemic, the in-person event scheduled for spring at the Messe Berlin Expo Center had to be cancelled. This has done nothing to dampen the allure of the program: Notable operators such as Deutsche Glasfaser will meet industry giants including Nokia, Huawei, DKT and Commscope at the expo. This exclusive field is rounded off by globally active investors such as Macquarie, EQT, and CUBE, as well as banks who are leading the way in financing fiber-optic projects, including the European Investment Bank (EIB), ING, and the Hamburg Commercial Bank.

The Hamburg Commercial Bank has been a sought-after financial backer, advisor and opener of doors in the infrastructure investment segment for many decades. In light of the triumph of digitalization, the Hamburg Commercial Bank’s attention has been firmly fixed on the topic of optical fiber in the past few years.

"We are at the beginning of a huge development in the expansion of the fiber-optic network in Germany and Europe."

Steffen Leiwesmeier, Head of Financing Digital Infrastructure at Hamburg Commercial Bank

A backlog in demand is a golden opportunity

As it stands, fast internet in Germany is more often a political aspiration than an economic reality. With fiber-optic amassing a modest 4.1% market share for internet provision, Germany is lagging behind on the global stage. There are only four OECD countries where the share of fiber-optic connections is lower than in Germany: Austria and the UK, among others.

However, this state of affairs is about to undergo a 180 degree transformation, according to Steffen Leiwesmeier. ‟The sizable backlog in demand represents a golden opportunity. We are at the beginning of a huge development in the expansion of the fiber-optic network in Germany and Europe. In just a short time, the data volumes generated by private end users have increased exponentially in a period defined by home working. The current offers from cable providers and VDSL telephone network operators will quickly be outstripped by demand. There is now only one option: Optical fiber with a minimum of 1 gigabit upload and download speeds” says Head of Financing Digital Infrastructure at the Hamburg Commercial Bank.

‟The coronavirus pandemic has opened many eyes. In one fell swoop, the advantages of digitalization have been made clear. At the same time, it has also become clear just how big the backlog is in many places. Just think about the blurred images during countless Zoom or Team conference calls”, said Leiwesmeier, who since spring of this year has acted as treasurer on the nine-member board of the FTTH Council Europe professional association, the organizers of the FTTH Virtual Europe Conference.

construction worker is measuring a street

We will see a breakthrough in 2020

The Hamburg Commercial Bank has long been active on the FTTH market as a financial backer, building bridges between project organizers and investors and opening doors into the political sphere. It is clear then that attending the FTTH Conference was a matter of course for the Bank. High-caliber participants from the HCOB are appearing on four panels. Those participating include Dr. Nicolas Blanchard, Chief Clients and Products Officer Hamburg Commercial Bank, Inka Kinger, Global Head of Infrastructure, and Executive Director Thomas Miller.

In one panel organized by HCOB, the results of a survey conducted together with the University of Applied Science Bremen and YouGov will be presented. Survey respondents were asked about their willingness to pay for a private fiber-optic connection in their home. ‟First and foremost, the project financing we provide is targeted at collecting the fees of private end users. It is therefore important to know that private home owners are genuinely prepared to pay a fee. There is clearly a psychological barrier to starting to make payments here. In light of this, prior marketing activity is the be-all and end-all of fiber-optic expansion”, explains Leiwesmeier.

Fiber-optic technology

HCOB’s customers first and foremost include medium-sized builders and operators of fiber-optic networks, who are bringing fast internet to people and businesses far removed from the large and already well-supplied metropolitan areas. That is to say, those areas that make up the heart of Germany’s mid-sized and family-owned business.

For FTTH expert Leiwesmeier, 2020 could be a breakthrough year for optical fiber: Because data volumes during and after the first wave of coronavirus exponentially increased. Because half of Germany is logging into work from their home office. Because many of them will stay there even after the pandemic has subsided. Because people and companies are increasingly prepared to pay more for ultra-fast internet. And because ‟the market has matured” as Leiwesmeier puts it. ‟We are seeing an increase in large investors buying into smaller fiber-optic companies. This will do the market good, it will become better financed, more eager for investment and more professional. ”

With its deep industry know-how developed over many years, HCOB is often a sought-after financing partner. Alongside its own loans, the Bank often also provides access to funding from the program ‟Digital Infrastructure Investment Loans” run by the state development banks KfW.

Glasfaser: der große Corona-Gewinner

Dezember 2020 – Die Glasfasertechnologie steht in Deutschland vor dem großen Durchbruch. Nicht zuletzt die Corona-Krise bringt einen weiteren Schwung in Sachen Digitalisierung – und beschert den Erbauern und Betreibern der ultraschnellen Netze auf Jahre hinaus eine Sonderkonjunktur. Die Hamburg Commercial Bank ist in der Branche bestens vernetzt und gefragter Finanzierungspartner.

Frau vor einem Laptop in einer Videokonferenz

Vom 2. bis 3. Dezember 2020 findet der weltweit größte Branchentreff zum Thema Glasfaser statt: die FTTH Virtual Europe Conference. Und das erstmalig virtuell, denn infolge der Corona-Pandemie musste das ursprünglich im Frühjahr auf dem Berliner Messegelände geplante Meeting ausfallen. Das tut der Attraktivität des Programms keinen Abbruch: Auf der digitalen Messe treffen namhafte Betreiber wie die Deutsche Glasfaser auf Industriegrößen wie Nokia, Huawei, DKT und Commscope. Das exklusive Feld komplettieren global tätige Investoren wie Macquarie, EQT oder Cube und die in der Glasfaserfinanzierung führenden Banken, darunter die Europäische Investitionsbank (EIB), ING sowie die Hamburg Commercial Bank.

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank ist bereits seit vielen Jahrzehnten gefragter Finanzierer, Ratgeber und Türöffner im Segment der Infrastrukturinvestitionen. Mit dem Siegeszug der Digitalisierung hat sich das Augenmerk der Hamburg Commercial Bank vor allem in den vergangenen Jahren stark auf das Thema Glasfaser gerichtet.

„Wir stehen vor dem Beginn einer rasanten Entwicklung beim Ausbau der Glasfasernetze in Deutschland und Europa.“

Stefan Leiwesmeier, Head of Financing Digitial Infrastructure bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Rückstand ist eine gewaltige Chance

Das schnelle Internet ist gerade in Deutschland oft noch mehr politische Absicht denn wirtschaftliche Realität. Mit einem Glasfaseranteil von gerade einmal 4,1 Prozent hinkt Deutschland international hinterher. Nur in vier OECD-Staaten war der Anteil der Glasfaseranschlüsse noch geringer als in Deutschland, unter anderem in Österreich und Großbritannien.

Diese Bestandsaufnahme lässt sich aus Sicht von Steffen Leiwesmeier aber auch komplett um 180 Grad drehen. „Dann wird aus dem Rückstand eine gewaltige Chance. Wir stehen vor dem Beginn einer rasanten Entwicklung beim Ausbau der Glasfasernetze in Deutschland und Europa. Denn die Datenvolumina der privaten Endnutzer haben in Zeiten des Homeoffice kurzfristig exponentiell zugenommen. Die derzeitigen Angebote der Kabelnetzbetreiber und der VDSL- Telefonbetreiber werden schon bald nicht mehr ausreichen. Dann gibt es nur noch eine Alternative: Glasfaser mit mindestens einem Gigabit im Down- und Upload“, sagt der Head of Financing Digital Infrastructure bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank.

„Die Corona-Pandemie hat vielen die Augen geöffnet. Die Vorteile der Digitalisierung wurden auf einen Schlag deutlich. Aber zugleich wurde auch klar, wie groß vielerorts noch der Nachholbedarf ist. Denken Sie nur an all die verwackelten Bilder während der unzähligen Zoom- oder Teams-Konferenzen“, sagt Leiwesmeier, der seit Frühjahr dieses Jahres als Treasurer im neunköpfigen Board des Fachverbands FTTH Council Europe sitzt, des Ausrichters der FTTH Virtual Europe Conference.

Bauarbeiter vermisst eine Straße

2020 wird zum Jahr des Durchbruchs

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank ist seit Langem am FTTH-Markt als Finanzierer, Brückenbauer zwischen Projektmachern und Investoren sowie Türöffner in die Politik tätig. Klar, dass sie da nicht als aktiver Teilnehmer auf der FTTH Conference fehlen darf. Vier Panels sind mit hochkarätigen Teilnehmern der HCOB besetzt, unter anderem mit Dr. Nicolas Blanchard, Chief Clients and Products Officer Hamburg Commercial Bank, Inka Kinger, Global Head of Infrastructure, und Executive Director Thomas Miller.

In einem Panel, das die HCOB organisiert, werden die Ergebnisse aus einer zusammen mit der University for Applied Science Bremen und YouGove durchgeführten Umfrage präsentiert. Gefragt wurde nach der Zahlungsbereitschaft der privaten Nutzer für eine Glasfaserverbindung in ihr Haus. „Die von uns gestellten Projektfinanzierungen zielen in erster Linie auf die eingenommenen Gebühren der privaten Endnutzer ab. Insoweit ist es wichtig zu wissen, dass private Hauseigentümer auch wirklich bereit sind, einen Beitrag zu entrichten. Es gibt offenbar eine Hemmschwelle für den Einstieg zu zahlen. Deshalb ist Vorvermarktung das A und O beim Glasfaserausbau“, sagt Leiwesmeier.

Verschiedene Glasfaserkabel

Zu den Kunden der HCOB gehören in erster Linie mittelgroße Erbauer und Betreiber von Glasfasernetzen, die schnelles Internet zu Bürgern und Unternehmen fernab der großen und bereits gut versorgten Ballungsräume bringen. Also auch dorthin, wo das Herz des deutschen Mittelstands schlägt.

Für FTTH-Experte Leiwesmeier könnte 2020 zum großen Durchbruch für die Glasfaser werden: Weil das Datenvolumen mit und nach Corona ungleich angestiegen ist. Weil halb Deutschland sich aus dem Homeoffice ins Büro einwählt. Weil viele auch nach dem Abebben der Pandemie dort bleiben werden. Weil Bürger und Unternehmen zunehmend bereits sind, für ultraschnelles Internet mehr zu bezahlen. Und weil „der Markt erwachsen geworden ist“, wie es Leiwesmeier formuliert. „Wir beobachten, dass sich zunehmend große Investoren bei kleineren Glasfaserfirmen einkaufen. Dem Markt tut das gut, er wird dadurch finanzstärker, noch investitionsfreudiger und noch professioneller.“

Mit ihrem tiefen, über Jahre gewachsenen Branchen-Know-how ist die HCOB häufig gefragter Finanzierungspartner. Immer häufiger vermittelt die Bank dabei neben eigenen Krediten auch Fördergeld aus dem Programm „Investitionskredit Digitale Infrastruktur“ der staatlichen Förderbank KfW.