Infrastructure Projects: Investors are backing digitalization

October 2020 – Stable yields over long terms: Especially in turbulent economic times institutional investors look for long-term safe havens for their capital. Infrastructure projects are coming increasingly into focus.

light points

It was a premiere - and what a premiere it was: Originally planned as a live event for spring 2020, the "Infrastructure Investor Global Summit 2020" in the German capital was also a victim of the corona pandemic. Around six months later, the summit meeting of the world's leading players in the market for infrastructure investments took place for the first time as an online event in mid-October 2020. Dr. Nicolas Blanchard, Chief Market Officer of Hamburg Commercial Bank, was a member of a panel on the first day of the event. His conclusion after four very intensive days of online conference: "Infrastructure projects in Germany are and will remain 'The next big thing'".

Online-event: screen talk

Upon closer inspection, the crisis experienced by the infrastructure conference’s organizers could, however, prove to be a virtue. Like the global economy as a whole, the infrastructure project segment is also experiencing a radical paradigm shift towards digital projects. The ongoing corona crisis also taught to project developers, investors and banks two clear lessons: Firstly, classic infrastructure projects such as railroad projects or airports are no longer risk-free investments. When hardly anyone commutes to work by train, business trips are cancelled or vacations are mainly spent on the coast or mountain lakes in one’s own country, then railroads, airport operators and airlines have a massive problem. Secondly, and this is the even bigger lesson from covid-19, Germany has a great deal of catching up to do in the area of digitalization. Homeschooling in the Spring was only just possible, the IT equipment of many schools and authorities is antiquated. Many employees, especially those living far from large metropolitan areas, were barely able to access the office server during the lockdown due low bandwidths. Not to mention the continuing lack of a nationwide high-speed mobile network. Little has changed in this situation since spring 2020, and the need for investment remains high, particularly in the area of digital education. This is likely to become apparent once again in the coming hard winter months with the threat of new lockdowns.

air plane

“The future of infrastructure clearly belongs to the topics of digitalization and sustainability. Investors should keep an eye on these trends and plan their future commitments accordingly.”

Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure of the Hamburg Commercial Bank

Infrastructure projects have a lot of catching up to do

Put positively: For infrastructure projects in the field of digitalization – from fiberglass networks, through data centers, cell towers through to fully digitalized, distributed energy supply stations – there is a great deal to do between the North Sea coast and foothills of the Alps. Inka Klinger, Head of Infrastructure at Hamburg Commercial Bank has some advice for investors: “The future of infrastructure clearly belongs to the topics of digitalization and sustainability. Investors should keep an eye on these trends and plan their future commitments accordingly.”

Green cables

Stable cashflows over long terms

The interest in applicable investments from institutional investors is immense. The main reason for this are the very stable cashflows in infrastructure projects – and this over long periods. “It is exactly that which every investor seeks in turbulent times. It is for precisely this reason that these investments are particularly popular with insurance companies and pension funds. These investors often have very long financial obligations, which have to be covered by correspondingly secure earnings . Consider, for instance, the often decades-long saving and later paying-out phases with private endowment or pension insurance,” says Kraus.

However, infrastructure projects are not easy going. “Financing options must be identified and structured, contracts are often complex and require in-depth analysis”, says Kraus. The Hamburg Commercial Bank has been active in the special area of infrastructure projects for decades and is very well networked.

The reward for the work searching for promising infrastructure projects is higher returns. Tilo Kraus. “We recently compared the returns from infrastructure projects with those of classic bonds from providers: The result was a yield increase of between 125 and 175 basis points.”

Infrastrukturprojekte: Investoren setzen auf Digitalisierung

Oktober 2020 – Stabile Renditen bei langen Laufzeiten: Gerade in wirtschaftlich herausfordernden Zeiten suchen institutionelle Investoren nach langfristig sicheren Häfen für ihr Kapital. Infrastrukturprojekte geraten da vermehrt ins Blickfeld.

Lichtpunkte

Es war eine Premiere – und was für eine: Ursprünglich für das Frühjahr 2020 als Liveveranstaltung geplant, wurde auch der „Infrastructure Investor Global Summit 2020“ in der deutschen Hauptstadt ein Opfer der Corona-Pandemie. Ein rundes halbes Jahr später fand das Gipfeltreffen der weltweit führenden Player am Markt für Infrastrukturinvestitionen nun Mitte Oktober 2020 erstmals als Online-Event statt. Dr. Nicolas Blanchard, Marktvorstand der Hamburg Commercial Bank, war gleich am ersten Veranstaltungstag Teilnehmer eines Fach-Panels. Seine Erkenntnis nach vier sehr intensiven Tagen Online-Konferenz: „Infrastrukturprojekte sind und blieben hierzulande. The next big thing‘“.

Online-Event: Gespräch zwischen zwei Personen über den Computer

Aus der Corona-Not der Anbieter der Infrastrukturmesse könnte bei näherer Betrachtung aber eine Tugend werden. Wie die gesamte Weltwirtschaft vollzieht sich gerade im Bereich der Infrastrukturprojekte derzeit ein massiver Umschwung in Richtung Digitalprojekte. Die anhaltende Corona-Krise hat auch Projektentwicklern, Investoren und Banken zwei Dinge vor Augen geführt: Erstens sind klassische Infrastrukturprojekte wie Eisenbahnstrecken oder Flughäfen keine risikolosen Investments mehr. Wenn kaum noch jemand mit dem Zug zur Arbeit pendelt, wenn Dienstreisen ausbleiben oder die Urlaube vornehmlich nur noch an heimischen Küsten oder Bergseen verbracht werden, dann haben Eisenbahnen, Flughafenbetreiber und Airlines ein massives Problem. Zweitens, und das ist die noch viel größere Lehre aus Corona, gibt es vor allem in Deutschland einen gewaltigen Nachholbedarf in Sachen Digitalisierung: Das Homeschooling im Frühjahr funktionierte nur leidlich, die IT-Ausstattung vieler Schulen und Behörden ist rückständig. Ein Großteil der Arbeitnehmer, gerade jene, die fernab der Ballungszentren wohnen, konnte aufgrund geringer Bandbreiten während des Lockdowns nur notdürftig von daheim aus auf die Büroserver zugreifen. Vom nach wie vor fehlenden flächendeckenden schnellen Mobilfunknetz einmal ganz zu schweigen. An dieser Situation hat sich seit dem Frühjahr 2020 nur wenig getan, der Investitionsbedarf besonders im Bereich der digitalen Bildung bleibt hoch. Das dürfte sich in den kommenden harten Wintermonaten mit drohenden neuen Lockdowns abermals zeigen.

Flugzeug

„Die Zukunft in Sachen Infrastruktur gehört ganz eindeutig den Themen Digitalisierung und Nachhaltigkeit. Investoren sollten diese Fundamentaltrends beachten und ihre künftigen Engagements entsprechend planen.“

Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Großer Nachholbedarf bei Infrastrukturprojekten

Positiv formuliert: Für Infrastrukturprojekte im Bereich der Digitalisierung – von Glasfasernetzen, über Daten-Center, Mobilfunkmasten bis hin zu voll digitalisierten, dezentralen Energieversorgungsstationen – gibt es zwischen Nordseeküste und Alpenvorland noch eine Menge zu tun. Inka Klinger Global Head of Infrastructure, hält für Investoren einen Rat bereit: „Die Zukunft in Sachen Infrastruktur gehört ganz eindeutig den Themen Digitalisierung und Nachhaltigkeit. Investoren sollten diese Fundamentaltrends beachten und ihre künftigen Engagements entsprechend planen.“

Grüne Kabel

Stabile Cashflows bei langen Laufzeiten

Das Interesse an entsprechenden Investitionen ist bei institutionellen Investoren immens. Hauptgrund dafür sind die sehr stabilen Cashflows bei Infrastrukturprojekten – und das bei langen Laufzeiten. „Das ist das, wonach jeder Investor in turbulenten Zeiten sucht. Genau deshalb sind diese Investments etwa bei Versicherungen und Pensionsfonds so beliebt. Diese Investoren haben oft selbst sehr lange Finanzverpflichtungen, die durch entsprechend sichere Einträge abgedeckt werden müssen. Denken Sie etwa an die oft jahrzehntelangen Anspar- und später dann Auszahlphasen bei privaten Kapitallebens- oder Rentenversicherungen“, sagt Experte Kraus.

Easy-going sind Infrastrukturprojekte aber nicht. „Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten müssen identifiziert und strukturiert werden, Verträge sind oftmals komplex und bedürfen tiefer Analyse. Das erfordert Zeit, Geduld und vor allem tiefes Know-how“, sagt Kraus. Die Hamburg Commercial Bank ist auf dem Spezialgebiet der Infrastrukturprojekte seit Jahrzehnten aktiv und bestens vernetzt.

Der Lohn der Arbeit bei der Suche nach den aussichtsreichsten Infrastrukturprojekten sind höhere Renditen. Tilo Kraus. „Wir haben jüngst die Renditen von Infrastrukturprojekten mit denen gleich lang laufender klassischer Anleihen von Versorgern verglichen: Da ergab sich ein Renditeplus zwischen 125 und 175 Basispunkten.“