Food retailers: Brick-and-mortar businesses continue despite the coronavirus

June 2020 – The corona pandemic is shaking up the food industry, as well as everything else. The very existence of restaurants, canteens and other large-scale consumers is threatened, and wholesale food retailers are sharing their suffering. In these times of working from home, reduced working hours and social distancing, people are once again cooking and eating at home – and food retailers are profiting from this. Online food sales remains a niche market and delivery services an urban phenomenon. The biggest winner of the corona crisis is the good old supermarket.

supplier puts packages on sack trucks

Compulsory masks, access control, physical distancing strips on the floor, empty shelves, even pushing and shoving in front of supermarket checkouts: The customer experience of grocery shopping has been lacking since the coronavirus outbreak began. You go shopping because the fridge is empty and you have to. Not because the ambience invites you to while away the time at the cheese and deli counter. And more is being bought than before the crisis because hardly anyone is eating out anymore due to government prevention measures to contain the virus. Home cooking is the order of the day. A return to old eating habits will be slow and in small steps.

young women and a masks for her mouth

According to recent newspaper reports, in these times, more and more consumers are discovering the advantages of groceries ordered online and delivered directly to the front door. Exactly one year ago, a report appeared on this website that began with the following words: “While online commerce is booming in Germany, online food distribution is still in its infancy. This applies above all to fresh fruit, vegetables, fish and meat. Complacency would be dangerous for stationary retailers, however. That’s because the history of the Internet teaches us one thing: disruption starts very quietly but can happen very quickly.”

Weak share of online sales for groceries

Have we now reached this point? Is the coronavirus a game changer for the German food retailers that will lead to a sustainably higher ratio of groceries bought over the internet? Delivery services like REWE, Bringmeister and Co. are usually booked for days, if not weeks, in advance. The mail order business for consumer goods is also running smoothly during the corona crisis via parcel shipping – and is low contact to boot. Gero Furchheim, President of the Bundesverband E-Commerce und Versandhandel Deutschland (Federal Association of German Mail Order Companies), states: “E-commerce’s chances to supply customers and the retail business model are being reassessed.” According to the calculations of the mail order association headquartered in Berlin, internet revenue for groceries grew to EUR 361 million in the first quarter of 2020 or by 28.1 percent compared to the same quarter last year. The increased revenue was realized for the most part in March – the month in which the lockdown began in Germany.

Food lags behind in the digital world

Online share of food and nonfood in retail in percent (Source: “HDE Online Monitor 2019”)

Online share of food and nonfood in retail in percent (Source: “HDE Online Monitor 2019”)

Despite this high level of growth, one should maintain a sense of perspective, according to Volker Brokelmann, trade expert in Hamburg Commercial Bank’s research team. The current high growth level is based on the low initial numbers: For years, groceries ordered online have only made up little more than 1 percent of sales in the Germany’s food retail market. Brokelmann is convinced: “The corona pandemic is unlikely to change this situation long term – even if some consumers are currently turning to online orders with personal delivery or shipping because of fears of infection at supermarkets or supply bottlenecks for certain products.” Current surveys, like one from (M)Science of 1,000 people over the age of 18 commissioned by media agency Wavemaker, will not change this fundamentally. According to this survey, 10 percent of respondents want to continue shopping for groceries online after the crisis.

In 2019, Hamburg Commercial Bank experts established in their study “Food Retail: Freshness Makes the Difference – Can Retail Deliver?” (German) that online food retailers only existed in niches of the larger market .

“According to many consumer surveys, there is a growing general willingness to shop for groceries online, however there are still strong reservations. Consumers continue to want to check and pick fresh produce such as fruit and vegetables, as well as meat, themselves, before purchase. They want to see the range of goods for themselves at the fruit and vegetable stall and the meat counter. No online shop can offer this. For fresh products, stationary retailing is still the optimal sales form,” says Brokelmann.

A further hindrance over the long term is shipping. Delivery windows over many hours, uncertain delivery and shipping costs are hardly acceptable for consumers if they can get the same products at the supermarket or discounter in the neighborhood quickly and simply. In other words: Stationary food retailers will reign supreme even after the corona crisis.

“Delivery services are, and will remain, an inner city phenomenon in large urban centers like Berlin, Hamburg, Munich and Cologne, where distances are short and customer density high.”

Volker Brokelmann, Handelsexperte im Researchteam der Hamburg Commercial Bank

While hundreds of thousands of companies in other industries have currently registered for reduced working hours, food retail markets are desperately seeking new staff and are also giving their employees bonuses because of the increased workload.

Freshness continues to make the difference and is the main competitive advantage of stationary retailers. Over the last weeks, we’ve seen that online food retailers are able to deliver in accordance with their existing capacity. But are they actually willing to increase it? Expert Brokelmann doubts this: “Limiting factors are not only reluctant consumers but also the vendors themselves. Investment in a nationwide network to supply groceries from the internet is just not worth it. Due to the high density of stationary food retailers, few customers are willing to pay an adequate premium on the price.” He also sees a big urban-rural gap: “Delivery services are, and will remain, an inner city phenomenon in large urban centers like Berlin, Hamburg, Munich and Cologne, where distances are short and customer density high.”

A bag of fresh orange

Bigger areas lead to a disproportionately high outlay for logistic processes and the associated high personnel costs. And consumers would be unwilling to pay for that. They would simply head to the supermarket round the corner instead. Brokelmann thus sees bigger potential for online sales in the next years for gourmet food, higher-priced branded products, specialties and other niche dry goods products, wine and spirits, as well as pet food and non-food articles like drug store products.

Some manufacturers are seizing the opportunity of the corona crisis to sell their products – whether whiskey or high-quality chocolate – directly to consumers. Is a new and more direct distribution channel emerging here that bypasses both stationary and digital food retailers? Brokelmann is skeptical: “Some brand and niche products may succeed in isolated cases. Many are already active in this field or even started directly as online shops. However, I don’t see a wide-scale verticalization of the business model of food producers. Consumers don’t want to shop in many individual shops. They prefer stationary or digital shops with a wide selection.”

Lebensmitteleinzelhandel: Die stationären Geschäfte trotzen dem Corona-Virus

Juni 2020 – Die Corona-Pandemie rüttelt auch den deutschen Lebensmittelmarkt durcheinander. Gastronomie, Großküchen und andere Großverbraucher sind von den behördlichen Corona-Beschränkungen vielfach existenziell betroffen und mit ihnen leidet auch der Lebensmittel-Großhandel. In Zeiten von Homeoffice, Kurzarbeit und Kontaktbeschränkungen wird wieder zuhause gekocht und gegessen – und hiervon profitiert der Lebensmitteleinzelhandel. Der Onlinevertrieb von Lebensmitteln führt unverändert ein Nischendasein, und Lieferdienste bleiben ein städtisches Phänomen. Der größte Gewinner der Corona-Krise ist ein alter Bekannter: der stationäre Lebensmitteleinzelhandel.

Kartonlieferung Handel

Maskenvorschrift, Einlasskontrollen, Abstandsstreifen auf dem Boden, leergeräumte Regale, sogar Rangeleien vor manchen Supermarktkassen: Das Einkaufserlebnis beim täglichen Lebensmittelkauf in den Geschäften hält sich seit Ausbruch des Corona-Virus sehr in Grenzen. Man geht, weil man muss und der Kühlschrank leer ist. Nicht, weil das Ambiente wie einst zum Verweilen an Käse- oder Feinkosttheke einlädt. Und es wird mehr gekauft als vor der Krise, denn der Außer-Haus-Verzehr ist durch die behördlichen Präventivmaßnahmen zur Viruseindämmung weitgehend zum Erliegen gekommen. Selbst Kochen ist stattdessen das Gebot der Stunde, eine Rückkehr zu den alten Verzehrgewohnheiten nur langsam und in kleinen Schritten möglich.

Eine junge Dame (blonde, halblange Haare), Maske im Gesicht kauft Orangen ein.

Mehr und mehr Verbraucher, so der Tenor manch jüngst erschienen Zeitungsbeitrages, entdecken vor diesem Hintergrund die Vorzüge online bestellter und direkt bis vor die Haustür gebrachter Lebensmittel. Vor genau einem Jahr erschien auf dieser Website ein Beitrag, der mit den folgenden Worten begann: „Während der Onlinehandel in Deutschland boomt, steckt der digitale Vertrieb von Lebensmitteln noch in den Kinderschuhen. Das gilt vor allem für frisches Obst, Gemüse, Fisch oder Fleisch. Doch selbstzufriedenes Zurücklehnen wäre für die stationären Einzelhändler gefährlich. Denn die Geschichte des Internets lehrt eines: Disruption erfolgt erst im Stillen, und dann kann es plötzlich ganz schnell gehen.“

Schwacher Onlineumsatzanteil von Lebensmitteln

Sind wir nun an diesem Punkt? Ist das Corona-Virus ein Game-Changer im deutschen Lebensmittelmarkt, der zu einer nachhaltig höheren Quote bei der Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln aus dem Internet führen wird? Lieferdienstanbieter wie REWE, Bringmeister und Co. sind derzeit meist auf Tage, wenn nicht Wochen hinaus ausgebucht. Und in der Corona-Krise funktioniert der Versandhandel mit Konsumgütern per Paketversand störungsfrei und ist zudem kontaktarm. Gero Furchheim, Präsident des Bundesverbands E-Commerce und Versandhandel Deutschland, konstatiert daher: „Die Chancen des E-Commerce für die Versorgung der Kunden und die Geschäftsmodelle des Einzelhandels werden neu erlebt.“ Nach Berechnungen des E-Commerce-Verbands mit Sitz in Berlin stieg der Internetumsatz mit Lebensmitteln im ersten Quartal 2020 auf 361 Millionen Euro und damit um 28,1 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahresquartal. Das Umsatzplus entfiel dabei großteils auf den März – den Monat des Beginns verschärfter Kontaktsperren in Deutschland.

Lebensmittel digital abgeschlagen

Onlineanteil Food und Nonfood am Einzelhandel in Prozent (Quelle: „HDE Online-Monitor 2019“)

Onlineanteil Food und Nonfood am Einzelhandel in Prozent (Quelle: „HDE Online-Monitor 2019“)

Doch trotz dieses hohen Wachstums dürfen die Relationen dabei nicht aus den Augen verloren werden, mahnt Volker Brokelmann, Handelsexperte im Researchteam der Hamburg Commercial Bank. Die Basis für die aktuell hohen Zuwächse liegt extrem niedrig: Seit Jahren rangiert der Anteil der online bestellten Lebensmittel am gesamten Lebensmitteleinzelhandelsumsatz in Deutschland bei kaum mehr als einem Prozent. Brokelmann ist überzeugt: „Daran dürfte die gegenwärtige Corona-Pandemie nachhaltig wenig ändern – auch wenn manch Verbraucher aus Angst vor einer Ansteckung im Supermarkt oder wegen Lieferengpässen in einigen Sortimentsteilen derzeit auf eine Onlinebestellung mit persönlicher Belieferung oder Paketversand auszuweichen versucht.“ Aktuelle Umfragen wie die von (M)Science unter 1.000 Menschen ab 18 Jahren im Auftrag der Medienagentur Wavemaker rütteln daran nicht grundsätzlich. Danach wollen immerhin zehn Prozent der Befragten auch nach der Krise weiter Lebensmittel im Web bestellen.

2019 konstatierten die Experten der Hamburg Commercial Bank in ihrer Branchenstudie „Lebensmitteleinzelhandel online: Frische macht den Unterschied – kann der Handel liefern?“ dem Onlinelebensmittelhandel vorrangig nur in Nischen größere Marktanteile .

„Vielen Verbraucherumfragen zufolge gibt es zwar eine steigende grundsätzliche Bereitschaft zum Onlinelebensmitteleinkauf, es bestehen aber zugleich auch gewichtige Vorbehalte dagegen. Der Verbraucher will vor allem Frischeprodukte wie Obst, Gemüse und Fleisch vor dem Kauf selbst prüfen und auswählen. Er möchte die Warenauswahl am Obst- und Gemüsestand oder der Fleischbedientheke persönlich begutachten. Das kann kein Onlineshop bieten. Für Frischeprodukte ist der stationäre Handel noch immer die optimale Vertriebsform“, sagt Brokelmann.

Ein weiteres nachhaltiges Hemmnis stellt der Versandweg dar. So sind mehrstündige Zustellfenster, Lieferunsicherheiten und Versandkosten für den Verbraucher kaum akzeptabel, wenn man dieselben Waren im Supermarkt oder beim Discounter in der Nähe jederzeit schnell und einfach bekommt. Mit anderen Worten: Der stationäre Lebensmitteleinzelhandel wird auch nach der Corona-Krise der unangefochtene Platzhirsch bleiben.

„Die Lieferdienste sind und bleiben ein Innenstadtphänomen in großen Ballungszentren wie Berlin, Hamburg, München oder Köln, wo die Wege kurz sind und die Kundendichte hoch ist.“

Volker Brokelmann, Handelsexperte im Researchteam der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Während Hunderttausende Unternehmen anderer Branchen derzeit Kurzarbeit angemeldet haben, suchen die Lebensmitteleinzelhändler sogar händeringend neues Personal und leisten zugleich an ihre Beschäftigten ob des hohen Arbeitspensums Sonderzahlungen.

Frische macht weiter den Unterschied und bleibt der zentrale Wettbewerbsvorteil stationärer Händler. Der Onlinelebensmittelhandel kann – das belegen die vergangenen Wochen – zwar im Rahmen der bestehenden Kapazitäten liefern. Aber will er es über die bisherigen Maße hinaus überhaupt? Experte Brokelmann hat Zweifel: „Limitierende Faktoren sind nicht nur die zurückhaltenden Verbraucher, sondern auch die Anbieter selbst. Investitionen in eine flächendeckende Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln aus dem Internet rechnen sich einfach nicht. Nur wenige Kunden sind bei der hohen Versorgungsdichte des stationären Lebensmitteleinzelhandels bereit, dafür adäquat zusätzlich zu zahlen.“ Und er sieht ein klares Stadt-Land-Gefälle: „Die Lieferdienste sind und bleiben ein Innenstadtphänomen in großen Ballungszentren wie Berlin, Hamburg, München oder Köln, wo die Wege kurz sind und die Kundendichte hoch ist.“

Ein Sack frischer Orangen

Wesentlich größere Einzugsgebiete würden die personalkostenintensiven Logistikprozesse unverhältnismäßig in die Höhen treiben. Und das würden die Verbraucher wiederum nicht bezahlen, sondern stattdessen weiter einfach in den Supermarkt um die Ecke gehen. Größeres Onlineabsatzpotenzial sieht Brokelmann in den nächsten Jahren daher vorwiegend bei Feinkostartikeln, höherpreisigen Markenartikeln, Spezialitäten und anderen Nischenprodukten aus dem Trockensegment, Wein und Spirituosen sowie Heimtierfutter und Non-Food-Artikeln, wie etwa Drogerieprodukten.

Auch mancher Hersteller versucht die Gunst der Corona-Stunde zu nutzen um seine Produkte – von Whiskey bis hin zu hochwertiger Schokolade – jetzt verstärkt direkt an die Endverbraucher zu verkaufen. Entsteht hier, vorbei am stationären wie digitalen Lebensmittelhandel, etwa ein neuer, direkter Vertriebsweg? Experte Brokelmann ist skeptisch: „Im Einzelfall mag das einigen Marken- und Nischenproduktherstellern gelingen. Viele sind hier aber ohnehin schon aktiv oder gar direkt als Onlineshops gestartet. Eine Vertikalisierung der Geschäftsmodelle der Lebensmittelproduzenten auf breiter Front sehe ich nicht. Verbraucher wollen schließlich nicht in vielen einzelnen Shops einkaufen, sondern möglichst in einem stationären oder digitalen Shop die große Auswahl haben.“