Interview with Tilo Kraus to the Real Asset conference in Hamburg

March 2020 – We were able to summarize the successful event with Tilo Kraus, Head of Global Sales & Syndicate at Hamburg Commercial Bank, in four questions and answers:

Tilo Kraus, Head of Global Sales & Syndicate at Hamburg Commercial Bank
Tilo Kraus, Head of Global Sales & Syndicate at Hamburg Commercial Bank

The coronavirus is currently showing how vulnerable the interwoven global economy is. Everything is connected to everything else; there are no real safe havens anymore. What does this mean for investors who want one thing above all in their financial transactions - security and predictability?

Tilo Kraus:After years of rising asset prices, there is more focus on defensive asset classes. However, the classic “safe haven” investments offer zero or even negative returns, even with very long terms. Against this background, defensive real asset investments in the area of debt financing, such as renewable energies, but also the financing of digital infrastructure, are becoming increasingly important. They are generally much less susceptible to macroeconomic distortions.

Ships, renewable energies, real estate and even airplanes are opportunities for real asset investments with large investment sums. How do you currently assess the market opportunities of these four divisions?

Tilo Kraus:Real estate is always exciting, if only because of the depth of the market in the asset class and its many subsectors. However, due to the high level of interest, some submarkets now no longer offer very attractive risk-return profiles. The financing of renewable energies offers interesting opportunities – in our opinion, especially where financing structures can be based purely on market prices and not on politically based feed-in tariffs. And despite the industry’s range of fluctuation, we currently consider the financing of ships to be very attractive.

Ship financing markets have indeed had turbulent phases in the past. In this respect, it is surprising that you consider the financing of ships to be interesting for institutional investors. What are your thoughts on this?

Tilo Kraus:Shipping is generally a more volatile business. However, you have to admit that the capital supply in Europe has decreased significantly. We therefore see attractive opportunities for investments with regard to both financing structures and margins, either with long-term and valuable charters, i.e. rentals, or through financing at or below the steel value of the ship.

What trends do you see in the financing environment and what opportunities for participation do you see for institutional investors?

Tilo Kraus: In Europe, unlike in the US, a large part of financing requirements continues to be covered by banks. However, this structure is currently shifting towards institutional investors in some asset classes, such as larger infrastructure financing. Very large investors are also involved in direct investments. For medium-sized investors, for reasons of capacity among other things, we see a pooling of investments in funds or the use of credit know-how about working with banks.

Interview mit Tilo Kraus zur Real Asset Konferenz in Hamburg

März 2020 – Die gelungene Veranstaltung konnten wir mit Tilo Kraus, Bereichsleiter Global Sales & Syndicate bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank, in vier Fragen und Antworten zusammenfassen:

4 Fragen an Tilo Kraus, Bereichsleiter Global Sales & Syndicate bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank
Tilo Kraus, Bereichsleiter Global Sales & Syndicate bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Der Corona-Virus führt uns derzeit die Anfälligkeit der so stark verwobenen Weltwirtschaft vor Augen. Alles hängt mit allem zusammen; wirklich sichere Häfen gibt es nicht mehr. Was bedeutet das für Investoren, die bei ihren Geldgeschäften doch vor allem eines wünschen: Sicherheit und Planbarkeit?

Tilo Kraus: Nach Jahren steigender Asset-Preise rücken unserer Ansicht nach defensive Asset-Klassen immer stärker in den Fokus. Allerdings bieten die klassischen „Safe haven“-Anlagen keine oder gar eine negative Rendite, selbst bei sehr langer Laufzeit. Vor diesem Hintergrund gewinnen defensive Real-Asset-Anlagen im Fremdfinanzierungsbereich, wie beispielsweise Erneuerbare Energien, aber auch die Finanzierung digitaler Infrastruktur, an Bedeutung. Diese sind in der Regel deutlich weniger anfällig gegen gesamtwirtschaftliche Verwerfungen.

Schiffe, erneuerbare Energien, Immobilien oder wieder auch Flugzeuge sind Möglichkeiten für Real-Asset-Investments bei größeren Anlagesummen. Wie beurteilen Sie die Marktchancen dieser vier Sparten aktuell?

Tilo Kraus: Immobilien sind immer spannend, allein schon aufgrund der Markttiefe der Asset-Klasse und der vielen Subsektoren. Einige Teilmärkte bieten aufgrund des hohen Interesses allerdings nur noch wenig attraktive Risiko-Rendite-Profile. Die Finanzierung erneuerbarer Energien bietet interessante Opportunitäten; unserer Meinung nach insbesondere auch dort, wo die Finanzierungsstrukturen bereits rein auf Marktpreise und nicht auf politisch determinierte Einspeisevergütungen abstellen können. Und trotz der Schwankungsbreite der Branche halten wir die Finanzierung von Schiffen momentan für sehr attraktiv.

Schiffsfinanzierungsmärkte hatten in der Vergangenheit ja durchaus turbulente Phasen. Insofern überrascht es, dass Sie die Finanzierung von Schiffen für institutionelle Investoren als interessant erachten. Was sind hierzu Ihre Überlegungen?

Tilo Kraus: Die Schifffahrt ist generell ein volatileres Geschäft. Allerdings muss man sagen, dass sich das Kapitalangebot in Europa deutlich reduziert hat. Von daher sehen wir mit Blick auf die Finanzierungsstrukturen als auch mit Blick auf die Margen attraktive Möglichkeiten für Investitionen, entweder mit langlaufenden und werthaltigen Chartern, also Vermietungen, oder aber durch Finanzierungen am oder unterhalb des Stahlwerts des Schiffes.

Welche Tendenzen sehen Sie in der Finanzierungslandschaft und welche Möglichkeiten der Beteiligung sehen Sie für institutionelle Anleger?

Tilo Kraus: In Europa wird weiterhin ein Großteil des Finanzierungsbedarfs – anders als in den USA – über Banken gedeckt. Diese Struktur verschiebt sich derzeit aber in einigen Asset-Klassen hin zu institutionellen Anlegern, beispielsweise bei größeren Infrastrukturfinanzierungen. Sehr große Investoren engagieren sich hier auch mit Direktanlagen. Bei mittelgroßen Investoren registrieren wir unter anderem aus Kapazitätsgründen eher eine Bündelung von Investments in Fonds oder aber die Nutzung von Kredit-Know-how über die Zusammenarbeit mit einer Bank.