Real investment alternatives in uncertain times

February 2020 – “Where should I put my capital?” – Many family offices and large and institutional investors are currently asking themselves this question. Nervousness on the stock markets is increasing, and safe havens can only be found in exchange for negative interest rates. As such, investors are focusing more and more on real asset investments – from wind farms to new types of ships. A recent conference in Hamburg, co-organized by Hamburg Commercial Bank, was concerned with precisely these opportunities for equity and debt capital.

The evening event before the actual investment conference got right to the point. “Strategy, Leadership, Uncertainty” was the topic of the lecture by Professor Burkhard Schwenker, Chairman of Roland Berger’s Advisory Council. Whether it’s trade wars, political instability, economic downturn or, above all, the consequences of the corona pandemic, economic decision-making, whether as the manager of a company or a major investor, is not easy in these turbulent times.

Dr. Cyrus de la Rubia, Chief Economist at Hamburg Commercial Bank, was only able to provide a bit of conditional short-term optimism at the opening day of the Real Asset Investments conference at E.R. Capital Holding on Hamburg’s Außenalster. His conclusion was that globalization, which for many years was a guarantor for the growing together and strengthening of the entire global economy, is currently proving to be its Achilles’ heel in the era of the coronavirus. If production in the Far East largely comes to a standstill, this will have consequences not only for China, but also for the rest of the world. Just how dependent the global economy and thus also the German economy is on a prospering Chinese economy is shown by these figures from de la Rubia: China alone has been responsible for 30 to 40 percent of global economic growth in recent years. In 2019, China’s contribution to global economic growth was a whopping 39.2 percent. Dependency on the Chinese market, whether as a sales or production location, is currently much higher than at the time of the SARS virus in 2002/2003. German automotive and mechanical engineering companies in particular and their suppliers are currently feeling this massively.

Rapid recovery is not unlikely

Conversely – and this is the good news – according to Hamburg Commercial Bank’s Chief Economist, this also means: “World trade will recover when the situation in China normalizes once again. Before corona, there were initial signs of a revival in the global economy. This could be taken up if the situation in China quickly normalizes again.” Indeed, the latest news from China is that the number of infections there, where the pandemic originated, is significantly decreasing. This is grounds for cautious optimism in the medium term.

Investors were already changing their behavior before the outbreak of the coronavirus. Together with Dr. Anton Buchhart, Head of Capital Investments at Barmenia Versicherungsgruppe, and Tilo Kraus, Head of Global Sales and Syndicate at Hamburg Commercial Bank, Thomas Rucker, Managing Partner of Rücker Consulting, discussed investment opportunities in the area of debt capital in real assets. “After years of rising asset prices, there is more focus on defensive asset classes. Defensive real asset investments are becoming increasingly important. They are generally much less susceptible to macroeconomic distortions,” said Tilo Kraus (see interview).

Coronavirus depresses the global economy

Coronavirus depresses the global economy | Percentage change in gross domestic product

Percentage change in gross domestic product | Sources: HCOB Economica, Macrobond, IMF

Shipping has always been an important indicator of the state of the global economy and globalization. Against the backdrop of current challenges, the thesis that Christoph Geck-Schlich, Managing Partner of the Blue Star Group, presented to the participants of the Real Asset Investment Conference was surprising: “Ships are currently experiencing a revival as an asset class.” In its own words, the Blue Star Group makes strategic investments in the maritime economy and logistics. It offers co-investors innovative investment opportunities and holistic asset and portfolio management. Investments in ships in Germany often have to contend with a bad reputation after some failures around the years of the financial crisis, but according to Geck-Schlich, internationally, attitudes have long since changed and the desire to invest has returned – on the part of both project developers and investors. Modern ships are indispensable for functioning international trade, and after the corona pandemic at the latest, they will be more necessary than ever before.

Shipping versus real estate

Shipping versus real estate: Comparison of long-term price development since 1977

Sources: Blue Star Group, Bulwiengesa, Clarksons Research

Shipping is going green

However, the key word is “modern.” New types of goods, but above all innovative, even more environmentally friendly propulsion technologies will revolutionize the shipping industry in the coming years and decades – and thus offer investment opportunities for the construction of new ships. According to calculations by the Blue Star Group, the German fleet’s share of global shipping is currently five percent; for container ships, it is as much as 16 percent. Container ships in particular are the pacemakers of globalization. Their decks carry stacks of ISO-certified containers with higher-quality semi-finished and finished products from smartphones and fashionable sneakers to office chairs.

Four out of five goods are already traded by sea, with this figure set to increase in future. And in spite of all the criticism leveled at old tankers, according to Geck-Schlich, the share of shipping in global carbon dioxide emissions, which are largely responsible for climate change, is only two to three percent. But that’s no reason to sit back and relax. Sustainably oriented investors, but also political regulators, are increasing pressure to introduce more energy-efficient engines and alternative propulsion systems for ships. Dr. Jan-Henrik Hübner, Global Head of Shipping Advisory at the consultancy DNV GL, presented the numerous alternatives to classic diesel in his lecture: from liquid gas to power-to-X technologies, in which synthetic, climate-neutral fuels are produced on the basis of renewable energies such as wind energy and photovoltaics.

Wind power was also the topic of the lecture by Christian Banzer, Managing Director and Member of the Executive Board at Prime Capital AG. After the drastic reduction in feed-in tariffs and citizens’ increasing resistance to new and larger wind turbines, onshore expansion in the former wind energy pioneer of Germany has virtually come to a standstill.

Shipping: berth of a container ship in the port

Power purchase agreements on the rise

In contrast, according to Banzer, the demand for power purchase agreements is increasing: “The interest of large corporations in these long-term purchase agreements is continuously increasing.” Large international companies such as Amazon, Google and Unilever, but also German multinationals such as Daimler-Benz and Deutsche Bahn are guaranteed to secure green electricity from existing wind or solar parks with the help of PPAs – in the long term and reliably. As simple as the construct seems, the funding channels behind it are complicated. Hamburg Commercial Bank’s renewable energy experts are specialists in PPAs.

Reale Anlagealternativen in unsicheren Zeiten

März 2020 – „Wohin mit dem Kapital?“ – Diese Frage stellen sich derzeit viele Family Offices, Großinvestoren oder institutionelle Anleger. Die Nervosität an den Börsen steigt, sichere Häfen gibt es allenfalls nur noch gegen Negativzinsen. Real Asset Investments – vom Windpark bis hin zu Schiffen neuen Typs – rücken deshalb immer stärker in den Fokus der Investoren. Um genau diese Opportunitäten für Eigen- und Fremdkapital ging es jüngst bei einer Konferenz in Hamburg, die von der Hamburg Commercial Bank mitorganisiert wurde.

Schon die Vorabendveranstaltung vor der eigentlichen Investmentkonferenz brachte es auf den Punkt. „Strategie, Führung Ungewissheit“ lautete das Thema des Vortrags von Professor Burkhard Schwenker, Chairman des Advisory Council von Roland Berger. Ob Handelskriege, politische Instabilität, Konjunktureinbruch oder aktuell vor allem die Folgen der Corona-Pandemie: Wirtschaftliche Entscheidungen zu treffen, ob als Unternehmensführer oder Großanleger, fällt in diesen bewegten Tagen nicht leicht.

Auch Dr. Cyrus de la Rubia, Chefvolkswirt der Hamburg Commercial Bank, konnte am Folgetag in seinem Eröffnungsvortrag der Konferenz „Real Asset Investments“ im Hause der E.R. Capital Holding an der Hamburger Außenalster nur bedingt für kurzfristigen Optimismus sorgen. Sein Fazit: Die Globalisierung, die lange Jahre Garant für das Zusammenwachsen und Erstarken der gesamten Weltwirtschaft war, erweist sich aktuell, in Zeiten des Corona-Virus, als deren Achillesferse. Wenn die Produktion in Fernost weitgehend zum Erliegen kommt, hat das nicht nur Folgen für China, sondern auch für den Rest der Welt. Wie abhängig die globale und damit auch die deutsche Wirtschaft von einer prosperierenden chinesischen Ökonomie ist, zeigen allein diese Zahlen von de la Rubia: Stetig sorgte allein China in den vergangenen Jahren für 30 bis 40 Prozent des weltweiten Wirtschaftswachstums. 2019 betrug Chinas Beitrag zum weltweiten Konjunkturplus satte 39,2 Prozent. Die Abhängigkeit vom chinesischen Markt – ob als Absatz- oder Produktionsstätte – ist heute ungleich höher als zu Zeiten des SARS-Virus 2002/2003. Vor allem deutsche Auto- und Maschinenbauer sowie deren Zulieferer bekommen das derzeit massiv zu spüren.

Rasche Erholung nicht unwahrscheinlich

Im Umkehrschluss – und das ist die gute Botschaft – heißt das laut dem Chefvolkswirt der Hamburg Commercial Bank aber auch: „Der Welthandel wird sich wieder erholen, wenn sich die Situation in China wieder normalisiert. Vor Corona gab es in der Weltwirtschaft bereits erste Anzeichen einer Belebung. Daran könnte angeknüpft werden, wenn sich die Lage in China rasch wieder normalisiert.“ Tatsächlich berechtigen die jüngsten Nachrichten aus China, nach denen dort im Ursprungland der Corona-Pandemie die Zahl der Neuinfektionen deutlich zurückgeht, zu mittelfristig vorsichtigem Optimismus.

Bereits vor dem Ausbruch des Corona-Virus haben Investoren ihr Anlageverhalten verändert. Gemeinsam mit Dr. Anton Buchhart, Hauptabteilungsleiter Kapitalanlagen bei der Barmenia Versicherungsgruppe, und Tilo Kraus, Bereichsleiter Global Sales und Syndicate der Hamburg Commerical Bank, diskutierte Thomas Rücker, geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von Rücker Consulting, über Anlagemöglichkeiten im Fremdkapitalbereich bei realen Assets. „Nach Jahren steigender Asset-Preise rücken defensive Asset-Klassen immer stärker in den Fokus. Defensive Real-Asset-Anlagen gewinnen an Bedeutung. Diese sind in der Regel deutlich weniger anfällig gegen gesamtwirtschaftliche Verwerfungen“, meinte Tilo Kraus (siehe Interview).

Corona-Virus drückt die Weltwirtschaft

Corona-Virus drückt die Weltwirtschaft: Veränderung des Bruttoinlandsprodukts in Prozent

Veränderung des Bruttoinlandsprodukts in Prozent | Quellen: HCOB Economica, Macrobond, IWF

Ein wichtiger Gradmesser für den Zustand der Weltwirtschaft sowie der Globalisierung ist seit jeher die Schifffahrt. Vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen Herausforderungen ist daher zumindest die These überraschend, mit der Christoph Geck-Schlich, Managing Partner der Blue Star Group, vor die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Real-Asset-Investment-Konferenz trat: „Die Asset-Klasse Schiff erlebt derzeit ein Revival.“ Die Blue Star Group investiert nach eigenen Worten strategisch in maritime Wirtschaft und Logistik. Sie bietet Coinvestoren innovative Investmentmöglichkeiten und ganzheitliches Asset- und Portfoliomanagement. Während Investments in Schiffe hierzulande, nach manchen Fehlschlägen rund um die Jahre der Finanzkrise, häufig gegen einen schlechten Leumund ankämpfen müssen, hat sich nach Geck-Schlichs Worten der Wind international längst wieder gedreht und sei die Investitionslust zurückgekehrt – auf Projektierer- und Anlegerseite. Moderne Schiffe seien für einen funktionierenden Welthandel unverzichtbar und spätestens nach Ende der Corona-Pandemie auch wieder nötiger als zuvor.

Schifffahrt versus Immobilien

Schifffahrt versus Immobilien: Langfristige Preisentwicklung im Vergleich seit 1977

Langfristige Preisentwicklung im Vergleich seit 1977 | Quellen: Blue Star Group, Bulwiengesa, Clarksons Research

Die Schifffahrt wird grün

Die Betonung liegt dabei jedoch auf „modern“. Neue Warenarten, aber vor allem innovative, noch umweltschonendere Antriebstechnologien werden die Schiffsbranche in den kommenden Jahren und Jahrzehnten revolutionieren – und damit Investitionschancen beim Bau neuer Schiffe bieten. Aktuell liegt der Anteil der deutschen Flotte an der weltweiten Schifffahrt nach Berechnungen der Blue Star Group bei fünf Prozent; bei den Containerschiffen sind es sogar 16 Prozent. Besonders die Containerschiffe sind der Schrittmacher der Globalisierung – auf ihren Decks stapeln sich die ISO-zertifizierten Container mit höherwertigen Halbfertig- und Fertigprodukten – vom Smartphone über den modischen Sneaker bis hin zum Bürostuhl.

Vier von fünf Gütern werden bereits heute über den Seeweg gehandelt, Tendenz: weiter steigend. Und bei aller Kritik an manch altem Tanker: Der Anteil der Schifffahrt an den weltweiten Kohlendioxidemissionen, die maßgeblich für den Klimawandel gemacht werden, liegt nach Angaben von Geck-Schlich nur bei zwei bis drei Prozent. Doch das darf kein Grund sein, sich beruhigt zurückzulehnen. Nachhaltig orientierte Investoren, aber auch die politischen Regulatoren verschärfen den Druck, sparsamere Motoren und alternative Antriebe auch bei Schiffen einzuführen. Dr. Jan-Henrik Hübner, Global Head of Shipping Advisory beim Beratungsunternehmen DNV GL, stellte in seinem Vortrag die zahlreichen Alternativen zum klassischen Diesel vor: von Flüssiggas bis hin zu Power-to-X-Technologien, bei denen synthetische, klimaneutrale Kraftstoffe auf Basis erneuerbarer Energien wie Windkraft oder Photovoltaik hergestellt werden.

Die Windkraft war auch Thema des Vortrags von Christian Banzer, Managing Director und Member of the Executive Board bei der Prime Capital AG. Nach dem drastischen Absenken der Einspeisevergütungen und dem zunehmenden Bürgerwiderstand gegen neue und größere Windräder ist der Onshore-Zubau im einstigen Windpionierland Deutschland faktisch weitgehend zum Erliegen gekommen.

Schifffahrt: Anlegeplatz eines Containerschiffes im Hafen

Power-Purchase-Agreements stark im Kommen

Dagegen steigt nach Banzers Worten die Nachfrage nach „Power-Purchase-Agreements“: „Das Interesse von Großkonzernen an diesen langfristigen Abnahmeverträgen steigt kontinuierlich an.“ Internationale Großunternehmen wie Amazon, Google, Unilever, aber auch deutsche Multis wie Daimler-Benz oder die Deutsche Bahn sichern sich mithilfe von PPAs garantiert grünen Strom aus bestehenden Wind- oder Solarparks – langfristig und verlässlich. So simpel das Konstrukt scheint, so kompliziert sind die Finanzierungswege dahinter. Die Erneuerbare-Energien-Experten der Hamburg Commercial Bank sind Spezialisten im Bereich PPA.