Coronavirus and the effects on rail transport

September 2020 – Not only cargo, but also passenger rail transport was hit hard by the lockdown in spring and the resulting major economic slump. The coronavirus crisis may have temporarily brought the traffic turnaround to a standstill, but in the long term the course remains set for "change" As an experienced specialist financier, Hamburg Commercial Bank remains loyal to the transport industry and sees numerous financing opportunities, both now and in future.

ICE entering the station

If the industry leader isn't feeling well, the situation must really be serious. "Deutsche Bahn Loses Billions in Coronavirus Crisis" – headlines like this were popping up in the German media a few weeks ago. Empty trains in Germany and difficulties with foreign business have driven Deutsche Bahn deep into the red. Newspapers reported that the state-owned company posted a loss of 3.7 billion euros for the period between January and June, naming supervisory board members as sources. In January and February, Deutsche Bahn reported record passenger numbers following a fare reduction.

"The rail market worldwide has been severely affected by the Covid-19 crisis," says Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure Project Finance at Hamburg Commercial Bank. However, she also says that the impact varies considerably from sector to sector. "Financing has been delayed, as recently was the case with VTG, and it has become more expensive as well. Cargo is much more dependent on economic cycles than passenger transport – and surprisingly it has in general been less severely affected by the crisis," says Klinger. Covid-19 has shown how quickly risk assessments can change. By contrast, passenger transport was hit hard – for instance Deutsche Bahn, which had to send out nearly empty trains in order to meet political pressure to maintain basic services.

"Rail travel has become established as a fast and convenient means of transport. We expect passenger numbers to return to pre-Covid-19 levels. International supply chains in the logistics industry have been disrupted. There are interruptions and losses in intra-European cargo transport, and at the same time goods are being redistributed from ship to rail."

Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure at the Hamburg Commercial Bank

Hamburg Commercial Bank remains loyal to the rail industry

But what happens now? Will the numerous private railways recover from the crisis? "I can say one thing for sure: HCOB will be sticking to its strategy as a specialist financier. We continue to be involved in the rail market as a reliable partner with a financing volume of more than one billion euros," assures Inka Klinger. Her view of the rail market's future is optimistic. "We expect a continued clear commitment to rail transport in Europe and a very high demand for new assets. Regional passenger transport is and will remain a subsidized business. Since regional public transport is an essential service, it will without doubt return to normal operation as quickly as possible once the measures are eased," says Jun Qian, Senior Vice President Infrastructure & Rail at Hamburg Commercial Bank. In particular, she places great hope in the economic stimulus packages provided by the European governments.

But will fear of infection keep passengers from using the railways to the same extent as before the crisis? Private passenger transport by car is booming, and many employees continue to work from home or will commute to work much less frequently than in the past, which is likely to reduce the number of daily rail commuters.

On the other hand, Inka Klinger notes, "Rail travel has become established as a fast and convenient means of transport. We expect passenger numbers to return to pre-Covid-19 levels. International supply chains in the logistics industry have been disrupted. There are interruptions and losses in intra-European cargo transport, and at the same time goods are being redistributed from ship to rail."

passing train

Lessors are the drivers of modernization

It is not currently possible to say with certainty what all of these developments will mean for cargo and passenger transport in the long term. "In any case, the operators are more severely affected than the rolling stock lessors, who have long-term leasing contracts. In some cases, rent cuts or rental holidays are being negotiated to cushion the existential effects of the crisis," says Qian.

Hamburg Commercial Bank supports companies that were already successful before the pandemic. "Private rolling stock lessors are the primary drivers of new construction investment in the European rail market. Over the next few years, we expect private financing in Europe of two to three billion euros per year for investments in locomotives, trains and wagons," says Klinger. At the same time, the European states are talking about plans for massive investments in the railway infrastructure: Germany has committed itself to a comprehensive 86 billion-euro investment program for modernization by 2030; Italy plans to invest 58 billion euros by 2023 alone. As Klinger says, "Rolling stock will remain a sought-after asset class for investors, banks and institutional investors in the coming years."

The Hamburg Commercial Bank team will continue to support promising transactions in the market with their experience and expertise in finding suitable solutions. HCOB has a broad network of investors in equity and debt capital, which it has built up over many years of cooperation with renowned infrastructure funds such as Arcus, AMP and JP Morgan.

Corona und die Folgen für den Bahnverkehr

September 2020 – Nicht allein der konjunkturabhängige Güterverkehr, auch der Personenverkehr auf der Schiene, wurde vom Lockdown im Frühjahr und dem massiven Konjunktureinbruch stark getroffen. Die Corona-Krise mag die Verkehrswende kurzzeitig ins Stocken gebracht haben, dauerhaft stehen die Weichen aber weiter auf „Change“. Als erfahrener Spezialfinanzierer hält die Hamburg Commercial Bank der Branche die Treue und sieht gerade jetzt und für die Zukunft zahlreiche Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten.

In den Bahnhof einfahrender ICE

Wenn schon der Branchenprimus hustet, muss die Lage wirklich ernst sein. „Deutsche Bahn fährt in Corona-Krise Milliardenverlust ein“ – so und ähnlich lauteten vor wenigen Wochen die Schlagzeilen in der deutschen Medienlandschaft. Leere Züge in Deutschland und Schwierigkeiten mit dem Auslandsgeschäft haben die Deutsche Bahn tief in die roten Zahlen getrieben. Von Januar bis Juni fuhr der Staatskonzern ein Minus von 3,7 Milliarden Euro ein, berichteten Zeitungen und nannten als Quelle Aufsichtsratskreise. Dabei hatte die Deutsche Bahn noch im Januar und Februar nach einer Fahrpreissenkung Passagier-Rekordzahlen vermeldet.

„Der Rail-Markt ist in der Covid-19-Krise weltweit stark betroffen“, sagt Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure Project Finance bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank. Die Auswirkungen zeigen sich in den verschiedenen Sektoren nach ihren Worten jedoch in deutlich unterschiedlicher Ausprägung. „Finanzierungen haben sich verzögert, wie jüngst bei VTG, und auch verteuert. Cargo ist deutlich konjunkturabhängiger als der Personenverkehr – und ist je nach Ausrichtung in dieser Krise erstaunlicherweise doch glimpflicher davongekommen“, sagt Klinger. Covid-19 habe gezeigt, wie schnell sich Risikobewertungen ändern. Den Personenverkehr – beispielhaft hier die Deutsche Bahn, die vor dem Hintergrund des politischen Drucks auch nahezu komplett leere Züge durchs Land schickte, um die Grundversorgung aufrechtzuerhalten – hat es hingegen hart getroffen.

„Die Schiene hat sich als schnelles und bequemes Verkehrsmittel etabliert. Wir gehen davon aus, dass sich die Personenverkehrszahlen auf dem gleichen Niveau wie vor Covid-19 einpendeln werden. Internationale Lieferketten in der Logistikbranche sind gestört. Unterbrechungen und Einbußen gibt es im Frachtverkehr innerhalb Europas, gleichzeitig werden Waren vom Schiff auf die Schiene umverteilt.“

Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Hamburg Commercial Bank hält der Bahnbranche die Treue

Doch wie geht es jetzt weiter? Werden sich gerade die zahlreichen Privatbahnen von der Krise erholen? „Um eines vorwegzunehmen: Die HCOB bleibt bei ihrer Strategie als Spezialfinanzierer. Wir engagieren uns weiterhin im Rail-Markt als verlässlicher Partner mit einem Finanzierungsvolumen von mehr als einer Milliarde Euro“, versichert Inka Klinger. Ihr Blick in die Zukunft der Schiene ist optimistisch. „Wir rechnen in Europa weiterhin mit einem klaren Bekenntnis zur Schiene und einer sehr hohen Nachfrage nach neuen Assets. Der regionale Personenverkehr ist und bleibt ein subventioniertes Geschäft. Da aber der regionale öffentliche Personenverkehr Systemrelevanz hat, ist es selbstverständlich, dass er nach Lockerungen der Maßnahmen möglichst schnell wieder zum normalen Betrieb zurückgeführt wird“, sagt auch Jun Qian, Senior Vice President Infrastructure & Rail der Hamburg Commercial Bank. Große Hoffnung setzt die Expertin dabei vor allem auf die Konjunkturpakete der europäischen Regierungen.

Doch werden die Passagiere – aus Angst vor Ansteckung – die Bahn überhaupt im gleichen Maße nutzen wie vor der Krise? Der Individualverkehr im Auto boomt, so manche Angestellte kehren gar nicht mehr oder zumindest viel seltener als früher aus dem Homeoffices ins Großraumbüro zurück, was die Zahl der täglichen Bahnpendler drücken dürfte.

Inka Klinger hält dagegen: „Die Schiene hat sich als schnelles und bequemes Verkehrsmittel etabliert. Wir gehen davon aus, dass sich die Personenverkehrszahlen auf dem gleichen Niveau wie vor Covid-19 einpendeln werden. Internationale Lieferketten in der Logistikbranche sind gestört. Unterbrechungen und Einbußen gibt es im Frachtverkehr innerhalb Europas, gleichzeitig werden Waren vom Schiff auf die Schiene umverteilt.“

Durchfahrender Personenzug

Leasinggeber sind die Treiber der Modernisierung

Was all diese Entwicklungen dauerhaft für den Güter- und Personenverkehr bedeuten, lässt sich heute noch nicht mit Gewissheit sagen. „Die Betreiber sind auf jeden Fall härter betroffen als die Leasinggeber, die Rolling Stock Lessors, die auf langfristige Leasingverträge reflektieren. Teilweise werden Mietkürzungen oder ,rental holidays‘ verhandelt, um existenzielle Auswirkungen der Krise abzufedern“, sagt Qian.

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank unterstützt die Unternehmen, die schon vor der Pandemie erfolgreich waren. „Vor allem Private Rolling Stock Lessors sind die Treiber der Neubauinvestitionen im europäischen Railmarkt. In den nächsten Jahren erwarten wir in Europa private Finanzierungen in Höhe von zwei bis drei Milliarden Euro pro Jahr für Investitionen in Lokomotiven, Züge und Waggons“, sagt Klinger. Gleichzeitig planen die europäischen Staaten nach ihren Worten massive Investitionen in die Bahninfrastruktur: Deutschland legt ein 86 Milliarden Euro umfassendes Investitionsprogramm zur Modernisierung bis 2030 fest; Italien plant 58 Milliarden Euro Investitionen allein bis zum Jahr 2023. Klinger: „Rolling Stock bleibt in den nächsten Jahren eine gesuchte Asset-Klasse für Investoren, Banken und institutionelle Investoren.“

Mit ihrer Erfahrung und der Expertise für geeignete Lösungen begleitet das Team der Hamburg Commercial Bank auch künftig vielversprechende Transaktionen auf dem Markt. Die Hamburger Bank verfügt über ein breites Investorennetzwerk auf der Eigenkapital- und Fremdkapitalseite, das sie in langjähriger Zusammenarbeit mit namhaften Infrastrukturfonds wie Arcus, AMP und JP Morgan aufgebaut hat.