Business succession: How the baton is passed in medium-sized firms

November 2020 – In the time period from 2018 to 2022, there were, or will be, around 150,000 Germany companies facing succession. It is becoming less and less common for the new boss to come from the same family. This makes the financing of this existential transaction particularly challenging.

“Like father, like son (or daughter)” has not been the case in German medium-sized firms for a long time now. Family-internal succession is the model of choice for barely half the medium-sized firms in Germany. In addition, more and more company heads remain childless – or their offspring simply have no interest in the directorial position, or they are not suitable enough.

It is commendable when children and parents equally accept that their own offspring are not the optimum line-up for succession. Ultimately, it is not so much about keeping the family honor but rather about passing on a good future to a successful, established company and the jobs and employees dependent on it. Especially in financially-challenging times, this principle applies: first the company, then the family.

An increasing number of suitable candidates for the new directorial position are also being found outside the family – both inside and outside the company. According to the IfM (Center for Small and Medium Sized Business Research) in Bonn, in 29 percent of the cases, investors from outside take the helm through a management buy-in (MBI). And in 18 percent of the cases, the successors are already working in the company beforehand, and then mostly take it over as part of a management buy-out (MBO). Mostly they are employees from first- or second-level management who have been trained for years, and who know the company inside and out with all its strengths, but weaknesses too. They usually enjoy more trust with the old boss and workforce than external buyers. However, since they know the company in detail, they can also dictate the selling price more strongly. Hence, it is not possible for the outgoing director to extract the maximum. But that shouldn’t be the objective anyway, because it is necessary to balance the company’s future and sales revenue. Nobody handing over a company would be happy to maximize his assets, but in return leave his life’s work to its own fate with financial difficulties.

Office with working persons

High demand for capital and guidance for the succession

Company-internal successors usually have to fall back on more borrowed capital for financing and available funds. Thorough preparation and good advice is necessary for this. “Outsiders who take over, who still are found in almost one in three succession plans, also usually have a major need for capital and appropriate guidance,” says Thomas Jakob knowingly. He is Head of Corporate Banking & Advisory at the Hamburg Commercial Bank and one of the hosts at the leading trade fair dealing with company transactions, succession and financing: “Structured Finance”. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, this year it is taking place from November 23 to 26 as a virtual event for the first time. In its own words, the trade fair that has been taking place since 2005 has the highest CFO density in Germany.

According to an IfM study, the matter of succession will be tackled by around 150,000 German medium-sized firms in the time period from 2018 to 2022. “If you take the number jobs into consideration – around 2.4 million – the yearly investment activity, and also the innovative strength and hence the future orientation of these companies, it quickly becomes clear that in addition to the strategic importance to the individual enterprisers and the individual companies, this is topic of the greatest economic significance for Germany as a whole,” says expert Jakob.

Two persons working in a carpentry

It’s all about passing on the work of a lifetime

Succession variants that lend themselves to a successful handover are manifold: In addition to the family-internal solution, the MBI and MBO, foundation solutions or collective ownerships are also possible. “What's more, time and time again questions emerge about protecting the existing shareholders and a stable structure for continuation in new hands. Emotional aspects, such as passing on the work of a lifetime, often make the topic difficult as well, so that it is easy to postpone, and profession outside expertise is called for,” reports Jakob from his longstanding consulting practice.

From a buyer's perspective, the financing of the takeover plays an important role. It is necessary to keep the financing stable at an operating level or to restructure it. “Suitable acquisition financing should be in harmony with the strategic orientation of the company, not overwhelm the buyer, and enable enough flexibility for a fair selling price for the existing shareholders,” says Jakob.

However, numbers aren’t everything, especially for locally-situated, medium-sized firms with a long tradition. “The best purchase price and the best financing structure will not come into play if the shareholders’ interests in jobs, regional responsibility or also any other long-term orientation of a company are not taken into consideration beyond the sale,” says Jakob.

In his own words, the following are needed above all for the important topic of business succession: sufficient time, expert advisors and enterprisers who address this strategic new course at an early stage. The Association of German Chambers of Industry and Commerce (DIHK) recommends, for example, starting the specific planning and search for a successor at the latest three years before the handover.

Family-internal succession still dominates

Chosen succession solutions in German medium-sized firms in percent

Chosen succession solutions in German medium-sized firms in percent (Source: IfM Bonn, 2020)

10 tips for succession planning

Start early, work on it time and time again – that’s how a successful generation change works.

1. Address the topic of succession at an early stage

Senior directors should start planning the succession by their mid-fifties at the latest – and to discuss this with potential successors.

2. Separate the shareholder and company side

The succession of the owner is at least as important as that of the operational management. And both initially have nothing to do with each other.

3. Think about tax and inheritance law

Siblings often have to be paid out or company shares transferred within their lifetimes in order to save taxes.

4. Imagine the company without the family

Directors should ask themselves the question: What business decisions would you make differently if there were no family? This mental exercise helps with the succession.

5. Imagine the family without the company

This also applies the other way round: What would it be like in the family if there were no company? Would decisions be made differently? How?

6. Choose the successor according to ability

The next self-test: What professional skills does the successor have to contribute? It sometimes turns out that nobody in the family can provide this.

7. Let the successor go his own way

Even the children of enterprisers should be able to gain some initial experience outside the influence of their parents. And, also be allowed to then contribute this experience.

8. Don’t leave the successor alone

At the same time, senior directors should not overburden the successor, and stand by him with advice and assistance on request.

9. Be open to alternatives to a family solution

Enterprisers should always consider the sale or succession by an employed managing director. That is how they optimally prepare the internal solution.

10. Get external advice

The generation change is one of the biggest challenges for a family business. An external coach, the tax consultant and banking advisor can help.

Unternehmensnachfolge: So gelingt der Stabwechsel im Mittelstand

November 2020 – Im Zeitraum 2018 bis 2022 stand oder steht bei rund 150.000 deutschen Unternehmen die Nachfolge ins Haus. Immer seltener kommen die neue Chefin oder der neue Chef aus der eigenen Familie. Das stellt besondere Anforderungen an die Finanzierung dieser existenziellen Transaktion.

„Wie der Vater so der Sohn (oder die Tochter)“ ist im deutschen Mittelstand längst nicht mehr ausgemacht. Die familieninterne Nachfolge ist gerade noch bei rund der Hälfte der mittelständischen Unternehmen in Deutschland das Modell der Wahl. Auch mehr und mehr Firmenchefs bleiben kinderlos – oder der Nachwuchs hat schlicht keine Lust auf den Chefposten beziehungsweise ist nicht geeignet genug.

Es ist eine anerkennenswerte Leistung, wenn Kinder und Eltern gleichermaßen akzeptieren, dass der eigene Nachwuchs nicht die optimale Besetzung für die Nachfolge darstellt. Schließlich geht es weniger darum, die Familienehre zu erhalten, sondern darum, ein erfolgreiches, etabliertes Unternehmen und die daran hängenden Arbeitsplätze und Beschäftigten in eine gute Zukunft zu überführen. Besonders in wirtschaftlich fordernden Zeiten wie diesen gilt der Grundsatz: erst die Firma, dann die Familie.

Geeignete Kandidaten für den neuen Chefposten finden sich in zunehmender Zahl auch außerhalb der Familie – innerhalb und außerhalb des Unternehmens. Laut dem Institut für Mittelstandsforschung (IfM) in Bonn übernehmen in 29 Prozent der Fälle Investoren von außerhalb das Ruder per Management-Buy-in (MBI). Und in 18 Prozent der Fälle arbeiteten die Nachfolger bereits vorher im Unternehmen und übernehmen dieses dann meist im Rahmen eines Management-Buy-outs (MBO). Meist sind es jahrelang eingearbeitete Mitarbeiter aus der ersten oder zweiten Führungsebene, die das Unternehmen mit seinen Stärken, aber auch Schwächen aus dem Effeff kennen. Sie genießen bei Altchef und Belegschaft in der Regel mehr Vertrauen als externe Käufer. Da sie allerdings die Firma en detail kennen, können sie auch den Verkaufspreis stärker diktieren – das Maximum lässt sich so für den gehenden Chef nicht herausholen. Das sollte aber ohnehin nicht das Ziel sein, da es Firmenzukunft und Verkaufserlös auszupendeln gilt. Kein Übergeber wird glücklich, wenn er sein Vermögen maximiert, aber dafür sein Lebenswerk Firma mit bilanzieller Schieflage seinem Schicksal überlässt.

Arbeitende Menschen im Büro

Hoher Kapital- und Beratungsbedarf bei der Nachfolge

Firmeninterne Nachfolger müssen bei der Finanzierung in der Regel auf mehr Fremdkapital und durchaus vorhandene Fördermittel zurückgreifen. Dazu bedarf es einer gründlichen Vorbereitung und guten Beratung. „Auch Übernehmer von außen, die immerhin bei fast jeder dritten Nachfolgeregelung zum Zuge kommen, haben meist hohen Kapital- und entsprechenden Beratungsbedarf“, weiß Thomas Jakob. Er ist Head of Corporate Banking & Advisory bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank und einer der Gastgeber auf der Leitmesse rund um Unternehmenstransaktionen, Nachfolge und Finanzierung: der „Structured Finance”. Diese findet aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie vom 23. bis 26. November dieses Jahres erstmals als virtuelles Event statt. Die seit 2005 stattfindende Messe ist nach eigenen Angaben das Event mit der höchsten CFO-Dichte in Deutschland.

Laut einer IfM-Studie stellt sich im Zeitraum 2018 bis 2022 bei etwa 150.000 deutschen Mittelständlern die Nachfolgefrage. „Berücksichtigt man die Anzahl an Arbeitsplätzen – rund 2,4 Millionen –, die jährliche Investitionstätigkeit, aber auch die Innovationskraft und damit die Zukunftsorientierung dieser Firmen, wird schnell klar, dass es neben der strategischen Bedeutung für den einzelnen Unternehmer und das einzelne Unternehmen um ein Thema von größter volkswirtschaftlicher Bedeutung für den gesamten Standort Deutschland geht“, sagt Experte Jakob.

Zwei Menschen arbeiten in einer Tischlerei

Es geht um die Weitergabe eines Lebenswerks

Die Nachfolgevarianten, die sich für eine erfolgreiche Übergabe bieten, sind vielfältig: Möglich sind neben der familieninternen Lösung, dem MBI und MBO auch Stiftungslösungen oder Miteigentümerschaften. „Hinzu kommen immer wieder die Fragen nach der Absicherung des Altgesellschafters und einer stabilen Struktur für die Fortführung in neuen Händen. Emotionale Aspekte, wie die Weitergabe des Lebenswerks, machen das Thema oft zusätzlich schwierig, so dass es gern aufgeschoben wird und professionelle Expertise von außen gefragt ist“, berichtet Jakob aus seiner jahrelangen Beratungspraxis.

Aus Käufersicht spielt die Finanzierung der Übernahme eine wesentliche Rolle. Es gilt, die Finanzierung auf operativer Ebene stabil zu halten oder neu zu gestalten. „Eine passende Akquisitionsfinanzierung sollte im Einklang mit der strategischen Ausrichtung des Unternehmens stehen, den Käufer nicht überfordern und genügend Spielraum für einen fairen Verkaufspreis für den Altgesellschafter ermöglichen“, sagt Jakob.

Doch gerade für lokal verortete Mittelständler mit langer Tradition sind Zahlen nicht alles. „Der beste Kaufpreis und die beste Finanzierungsstruktur werden nicht zum Zug kommen, wenn Gesellschafterinteressen für Arbeitsplätze, regionale Verantwortung oder auch die weitere langfristige Ausrichtung eines Unternehmens über den Verkauf hinaus nicht berücksichtigt werden“, sagt Jakob.

Für das wichtige Thema der Unternehmensnachfolge braucht es nach seinen Worten vor allem eines: ausreichend Zeit, fachkundige Berater und Unternehmer, die frühzeitig diese strategische Weichenstellung angehen. Der Deutsche Industrie- und Handelskammertag (DIHK) empfiehlt beispielsweise, spätestens drei Jahre vor der Übergabe mit den konkreten Planungen und der Nachfolgersuche zu beginnen.

Noch überwiegt die familieninterne Nachfolge

Grafik zur gewählten Nachfolgelösung im deutschen Mittelstand in Prozent

Gewählte Nachfolgelösungen im deutschen Mittelstand in Prozent (Quelle: IfM Bonn, 2020)

10 Tipps für die Nachfolgeplanung

Früh anfangen, immer wieder daran arbeiten – so gelingt der Generationswechsel.

1. Sprechen Sie das Thema Nachfolge frühzeitig an

Seniorchefs sollten spätestens mit Mitte 50 beginnen, die Nachfolge zu planen – und sie mit potenziellen Nachfolgern zu diskutieren.

2. Trennen Sie Gesellschafter- und Unternehmensseite

Mindestens genauso wichtig wie die Nachfolge der operativen Führung ist die der Eigentümer. Und beides hat zunächst nichts miteinander zu tun.

3. Denken Sie an Steuer- und Erbrecht

Oft müssen Geschwisterkinder ausbezahlt oder Firmenanteile noch zu Lebzeiten übertragen werden, um Steuern zu sparen.

4. Stellen Sie sich die Firma ohne Familie vor

Chefs sollten sich fragen: Welche unternehmerischen Entscheidungen würden Sie anders treffen, gebe es die Familie nicht? Das Gedankenspiel hilft bei der Nachfolge.

5. Stellen Sie sich die Familie ohne Firma vor

Umgekehrt gilt ganz genauso: Wie sähe es in der Familie aus, gäbe es die Firma nicht? Würden Entscheidungen anders getroffen? Wie?

6. Wählen Sie den Nachfolger nach Können aus

Der nächste Selbsttest: Welche fachlichen Kompetenzen muss der Nachfolger mitbringen? Manchmal zeigt sich dann, dass das in der Familie niemand mitbringt.

7. Lassen Sie den Nachfolger seinen eigenen Weg gehen

Auch die Kinder von Unternehmern sollten erste Erfahrungen außerhalb des Einflusses der Eltern sammeln können. Und diese Erfahrungen dann auch einbringen dürfen.

8. Lassen Sie den Nachfolger nicht alleine

Gleichzeitig sollten Seniorchefs den Nachfolger nicht überfordern und ihm oder ihr auf Wunsch mit Rat und Tat zur Seite stehen.

9. Öffnen Sie sich für Alternativen zur Familienlösung

Unternehmer sollten immer den Verkauf oder die Nachfolge durch einen angestellten Geschäftsführer in Betracht ziehen. So bereiten sie auch die interne Lösung optimal vor.

10. Holen Sie sich Rat von außen

Der Generationswechsel ist eine der größten Herausforderungen für ein Familienunternehmen. Ein externer Coach, der Steuer- und Bankberater können helfen.