Clever payment transactions with virtual accounts

May 2020 – Companies with many customers or tenants process thousands of deposits and debits every day – an enormous administrative effort. So-called virtual accounts can help: They enable efficient management of payment transactions, reduce complexity – and simultaneously minimize the number of incorrect entries.

man works on the laptop, source text is visible on the screens

TAG Immobilien AG, for example, works with virtual accounts for its residential units. And this is how it works: Each tenant transfer their rent to “his” individual virtual account and even electricity or water suppliers draw their money directly from this account. That way, the payments are booked swiftly and easily, errors are avoided and the entire accounting system is optimized.

The listed MDax company managed more than 85,000 residential units at the end of 2019 financial year. TAG Immobilien AG´s main locations are in the greater Hamburg and Berlin Areas, in the Salzgitter and the Thuringia / Saxony regions as well North Rhine-Westphalia. Since the beginning of the year TAG has also been operating in neighbouring Poland. For the tenants of the housing company the situation is clear: They pay their rents – whether by standing order or indidual transfers - at the beginning of the months. But what does the whole thing look like on the residents side?

TAG Immobilien AG spent a long time searching for a solution to manage the masses of incoming and outgoing payments with at the same time rapidly growing portfolio of residential units. The company, like many others, found a solution in the “virtual accounts”. “A virtual account is an account that can be used normally with an IBAN and BIC, but is not open in the banking system,” says Stefanie Buhtz, Head of Department in Cash Management Sales segment at Hamburg Commercial Bank. TAG Immobilien currently holds just under 20,000 of these accounts at Hamburg Commercial Bank.

In a few years the company intends to have exceeded the sound barrier of 100,000 residential units in the portfolio. Although this economic development is very pleasing for the company, the tasks arising from this for the company’s back-office administrative staff are equally challenging. Assuming full occupancy, 100,000 units also entails 100,000 individual rental payments. Month after month. Furthermore, bills have be paid to electricity suppliers, water suppliers or waste disposal companies for the individual residential blocks. These are also handled by TAG Immobilien on behalf of the individual tenants and entire buildings.

This is how a virtual account works

This is how a virtual account works (graphic representation)

Time and cost savings

“The bureaucratic effort for such a large number of contracts and payment transactions, with monthly incoming payments by tenants and outgoing payments to water and electricity suppliers is immense,” says Ulrike Bondkirch. The authorized signatory [Prokurist] manages the Financing and Payment Transactions department at TAG Immobilien. It is not so long ago that all tenants transferred their rent to one account. With roughly 85,000 residential units this would be almost unthinkable today “The effort for this was enormous – and would simply no longer be conceivable today,” says Ulrike Bondkirch. A huge team of accountants - even if supported by modern technology – would have to spend days to check whether all tenants paid the right amount of rent on time or whether the intended purpose and IBAN are correct.

For the tenants of TAG Immobilien, the use of virtual accounts changes nothing: Each of them transfers the rent to an individual virtual account. This makes it very easy to see whether the rent has been paid on time and in the correct amount. Bundles of virtual accounts are each assigned to the same real account, however. This means that the transactions taking place in the virtual accounts are also credited to or debited from the real account immediatly. The payments are automatically assigned in financial accounting through the electronic bank statement notifications.

Hamburg Commercial Bank´s clients benefit exclusively from the virtual accounts: The automatic assignment of payments optimizes the accounting by making entries quicker and easier. “Virtual accounts mean an enormous gain in time for our company thus a significant cost saving,” Ulrike Bondkirch confirms.

“There is a one-to-one relationship and 100% assignment,” says Stefanie Buhtz, identifying the main advantage of virtual accounts. Incorrect entries or lengthy searching for missing puzzle pieces in a transfer or direct debit are de facto a thing of the past. The same applies both to payments made by tenants and to debits, for example from public utilities or other suppliers.

“There is a one-to-one relationship and 100% assignment.”

Stefanie Buhtz, Head of Department in Cash Management Sales segment at Hamburg Commercial Bank

Attractive solution also for booming healthcare industry

The countless advantages of virtual accounts also convinced management of PrivatCard AG in Dusseldorf years ago. The special service provider manages parts of the payment transactions for local pharmacies and especially for pharmacies of large hospitals, including receivables management for end customers. “Pharmacies face particular challenges when it comes to supplying patients with drugs, especially in the case of outpatient care. Here solutions are needed that ensure smooth processes and appropriate communication with clients,” says Markus Feck, Legal Counsel of PrivatCard AG. The special service provider on behalf of clinics prepares and sends transparent bills, including copies of prescriptions, duplicate bills and transfer forms, ensuring the prompt settlement of unpaid amounts. “Furthermore, we answer all questions that end customers have about invoice bill competently and promptly” says Anke Kühne, Head of Customer Service.

From expensive anti-cancer drugs to costly aids for the sick – the demand for products, above all from hospital pharmacies, is enormous. The payment transactions in these cases are equally numerous. “There are easily hundreds of thousands each year,” Anke Kühne estimates. If every client were to pay to the same account, the effort would be immense. That is exactly why the Dusseldorf company has been relying on virtual accounts at Hamburg Commercial Bank for years – so that the incoming payments of clients can be clearly assigned to specific pharmacies – and the payment processes is kept as digital and lean as possible. Ultimately, all virtual accounts flow back to a collective account.

“In addition to the efficiency, lower costs and saved time, virtual accounts have another major advantage,” says Torsten Rösner, Sales Manager Cash Management at Hamburg Commercial Bank: “The funds of different customers are guaranteed not to be mixed up. In this case, every pharmacy can be certain that they will also receive their money.”

Cleverer Zahlungsverkehr mit virtuellen Konten

Mai 2020 – Unternehmen mit vielen Kunden oder Mietern verarbeiten täglich Tausende von Einzahlungen und Abbuchungen – ein enormer administrativer Aufwand. Abhilfe können da sogenannte virtuelle Konten schaffen: sie ermöglichen eine effiziente Steuerung von Zahlungsvorgängen, reduzieren Komplexität und Fehlbuchungen.

Tablet

Die TAG Immobilien AG arbeitet beispielsweise mit virtuellen Konten für ihre Wohneinheiten. Und das funktioniert so: Jeder Mieter überweist auf „sein“ individuelles virtuelles Konto und auch Strom- oder Wasserversorger ziehen hiervon direkt ihr Geld ein. So werden sämtliche Zahlungen einfach und schnell gebucht, Fehler vermieden und das gesamte Rechnungswesen optimiert.

Das börsennotierte MDax-Unternehmen verwaltete zum Ende des Geschäftsjahres 2019 mehr als 85.000 Wohneinheiten. Die Hauptstandorte der TAG Immobilien AG befinden sich dabei in den Großräumen Hamburg und Berlin, in den Regionen Salzgitter und Thürigen/ Sachsen sowie Nordrhein-Westfalen. Seit Beginn des Jahres ist TAG auch im Nachbarland Polen tätig. Für die Mieter des Wohnungsunternehmens ist die Sache klar: Sie zahlen – ob per Dauerauftrag oder Einzelüberweisung – zum Monatsbeginn ihre Mieten. Doch wie sieht das Ganze auf der Seite des Empfängers aus?

Lange Zeit suchte die TAG Immobilien AG nach einer Lösung, um die massenhaften Ein- und Ausgänge bei gleichzeitig rasant steigendem Wohnungsbestand zu managen. Eine Lösung fand das Unternehmen in den „virtuellen Konten“. „Als virtuelles Konto bezeichnet man ein Konto, das regulär durch IBAN und BIC angesprochen werden kann, jedoch im Banksystem nicht eröffnet ist“, sagt Stefanie Buhtz, Abteilungsdirektorin im Bereich Cash Management Sales bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank. TAG Immobilien hält davon heute knapp 20.000 bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank.

In wenigen Jahren will das Unternehmen die Schallmauer von 100.000 Wohneinheiten im Bestand nach oben durchbrechen. So erfreulich diese Perspektive ist, so herausfordernd werden zugleich die Aufgaben, die daraus entstehen: 100.000 Wohnungen bedeuten bei Vollvermietung auch 100.000 einzelne Mietzahlungen. Und das Monat für Monat. Hinzu kommen die Abrechnungen für die einzelnen Wohnblöcke mit den Stromlieferanten, Wasserversorgern und Entsorgungsunternehmen. Auch diese werden, stellvertretend für die einzelnen Mieter und ganze Gebäude, von der TAG Immobilien abgewickelt.

So funktioniert ein virtuelles Konto

So funktioniert ein virtuelles Konto (grafische Darstellung)

Zeitgewinn und Kostenersparnis

„Der bürokratische Aufwand bei einer solchen Vielzahl von Verträgen und Zahlungsvorgängen, mit monatlichen Einzahlungen durch die Mieter und wiederum abfließenden Zahlungen an Wasser- oder Stromlieferanten ist immens“, sagt Ulrike Bondkirch. Die Prokuristin leitet die Abteilung Finanzierungen und Zahlungsverkehr bei TAG Immobilien. Es ist noch nicht so lange her, dass alle Mieter auf nur ein Konto überwiesen haben. Das wäre heutzutage, bei rund 85.000 Wohneinheiten im Bestand, nahezu undenkbar. „Der Aufwand damals war riesig und wäre heute schlicht nicht mehr darstellbar“, sagt Ulrike Bondkirch. Enorm viele Mitarbeiter hätten - selbst unterstützt durch moderne Technik – tagelang damit zu tun, zu prüfen, ob alle Mieter in passender Höhe und fristgerecht bezahlt haben oder ob Verwendungszweck und IBAN richtig sind.

Für die Mieter der TAG Immobilien AG ändert der Einsatz virtueller Konten nichts: Jeder von ihnen überweist die Miete auf „sein“ individuelles Konto. Damit ist ganz klar ersichtlich, ob die Miete pünktlich und in der richtigen Höhe gezahlt wurde. Bündel von virtuellen Konten sind jedoch jeweils ein- und demselben realem Konto zugeordnet. Damit werden auch die Umsätze, die auf den virtuellen Konten erfolgen, unverzüglich dem realen Konto gutgeschrieben beziehungsweise von dort abgezogen. Eine automatische Zuordnung der Zahlungen in der Finanzbuchhaltung findet über die elektronischen Kontoauszugsinformationen statt.

Den Kunden der Hamburg Commercial Bank bringen die virtuellen Konten ausschließlich Vorteile: Durch die automatische Zuordnung von Zahlungen wird das Rechnungswesen optimiert, Buchungen und Zuordnungen erfolgen automatisiert, einfach und schnell. „Virtuelle Konten bedeuten für unser Haus einen enormen Zeitgewinn und damit eine deutliche Kostenersparnis“, bestätigt Ulrike Bondkirch.

„Es gibt eine Eins-zu Eins-Beziehung und eine 100-prozentige Zuordnung“, nennt Stefanie Buhtz den zentralen Vorteil virtueller Konten. Fehlbuchungen oder Suchen nach Beträgen gehören damit der Vergangenheit an. Das gilt sowohl für Einzahlungen der Mieter, als auch für Abbuchungen, etwa von Stadtwerken oder anderen Versorgern.

„Es gibt eine Eins-zu Eins-Beziehung und eine 100-prozentige Zuordnung.“

Stefanie Buhtz, Abteilungsdirektorin im Bereich Cash Management Sales bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank.

Attraktive Lösung auch für Unternehmen der Gesundheitswirtschaft

Die zahllosen Vorteile virtueller Konten haben bereits vor Jahren auch die Macher der PrivatCard AG in Düsseldorf überzeugt. Der Spezialdienstleister managt für Apotheken vor Ort und in großen Krankenhäusern Teile des Zahlungsverkehrs sowie das Forderungsmanagement gegenüber Endkunden. „Gerade bei der ambulanten Versorgung von Patienten mit Arzneimitteln sind Apotheken besonders gefordert. Hier sind Lösungen gefragt, die reibungslose Abläufe und eine angemessene Kommunikation mit ihren Kunden gewährleisten“, sagt Markus Feck, Justitiar der PrivatCard AG. Das Unternehmen erstellt und versendet im Auftrag der Kliniken transparente Rechnungen inklusive Rezeptkopien, Rechnungsduplikaten und Überweisungsvordrucken für eine zügige Begleichung der offenen Beträge. „Darüber hinaus beantworten wir sämtliche Nachfragen der Endkunden zur Rechnung kompetent und zeitnah“, sagt die Leiterin Kundenservice Anke Kühne.

Vom teuren Krebsmedikament bis hin zu kostspieligen Hilfsmitteln für Kranke – die Nachfrage nach den Produkten vor allem aus den Klinikapotheken ist enorm. Entsprechend hoch ist die Anzahl der Zahlungsvorgänge. „Das geht locker in die Hunderttausende jedes Jahr“, sagt die Leiterin des Kundenservice Anke Kühne. Würde jeder Kunde auf nur ein Konto zahlen, wäre der Aufwand immens. Genau deshalb setzt das Unternehmen seit Jahren auf virtuelle Konten bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank – damit werden die Einzahlungen der Kunden direkt den bestimmten Apotheken zugeordnet und der Zahlungsprozess wird möglichst digital und schlank gehalten. Letztlich fließen alle Umsätze der virtuellen Konten wieder auf ein Gesamtkonto.

„Neben der Effizienz, den geringeren Kosten und der eingesparten Zeit gibt es noch einen weiteren großen Vorteil virtueller Konten“, sagt Torsten Rösner, Sales Manager Cash Management bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank: „Die Gelder verschiedener Kunden werden garantiert richtig zugeordnet. So kann in diesem Fall jede Apotheke sicher sein, dass sie genau ihr Geld auch erhält.“