“A digital window of opportunity is opening up for hospitals”

July 2020 – Three questions for Thomas Miller, health expert and Executive Director of Research at Hamburg Commercial Bank

Three questions for Thomas Miller, health expert and Executive Director of Research at Hamburg Commercial Bank
Thomas Miller, health expert and Executive Director of Research at Hamburg Commercial Bank

Mr. Miller, as a member of the jury, what are your takeaways from the UKSH Healthcare Hackathon?

Thomas Miller:Extremely positive things. The competition entries were of a very high standard, and what is almost even more important, they had very concrete connections to current challenges facing hospitals.

The topic of digitization in the healthcare sector is nothing new in this country. What is really different in 2020?

Thomas Miller:The simple answer is coronavirus. You’re right: the need for accelerated digitalization in the healthcare sector has been discussed in Germany for a long time, far too long and too hesitantly. The coronavirus has now revolutionized the debate practically overnight, and the topic is rapidly gaining momentum. Just think of the new possibilities of telemedicine: unthinkable a short time ago, and now widely used. A historic window of opportunity is currently opening up especially for hospitals that want and need to modernize. In the German government’s current economic stimulus package, three billion euros are being spent as subsidies through the “program to future-proof hospitals”. This is earmarked for upgrading digital infrastructure in hospitals and for telemedicine, high-tech medicine and robotics.

What do you see as the main focus of digitalization in the healthcare sector?

Thomas Miller:I see great opportunities in five fields in particular. First, the digitization and improved exchange of data in hospitals or between doctors and patients. Secondly, with the help of artificial intelligence, for example, decisions about treatment or medical procedures can be made more intelligently and in a more personalized way. That means, much more individualized forms of therapy instead of one kind of treatment for all. Thirdly, I see great potential in the improvement and automation of processes. Fourthly, we are only at the beginning in terms of patient monitoring and telemedicine; there is still a lot to do and a lot to gain. And fifthly, increased digitalization creates more opportunities to help patients help themselves.

„Das digitale Zeitfenster für Krankenhäuser öffnet sich gerade“

Juli 2020 – 3 Fragen an Thomas Miller, Gesundheitsexperte und Executive Director Research bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Thomas Miller, Gesundheitsexperte und Executive Director Research bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank
Thomas Miller, Gesundheitsexperte und Executive Director Research bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Herr Miller, was bleibt bei Ihnen als Jury-Mitglied vom Gesundheits-Hackathon des UKSH hängen?

Thomas Miller: Extrem viel Positives. Die Wettbewerbseinreichungen hatten ein sehr hohes Niveau – und was fast noch wichtiger ist – einen sehr konkreten Bezug zu aktuellen Herausforderungen von Krankenhäusern.

Das Thema Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen ist hierzulande nichts Neues. Was ist 2020 wirklich anders?

Thomas Miller:Kurze Antwort: das Corona-Virus. Sie haben Recht, über die Notwendigkeit der forcierten Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen wird in Deutschland schon lange, viel zu lange und zu zögerlich diskutiert. Das Corona-Virus hat nun praktisch über Nacht die Debatte revolutioniert, das Thema nimmt rasant Fahrt auf. Denken Sie nur an die neuen Möglichkeiten der Telemedizin: vor Kurzem noch undenkbar, jetzt vielfach im Einsatz. Gerade für Krankenhäuser, die modernisieren möchten und müssen, öffnet sich derzeit ein historisches Zeitfenster. Im aktuellen Konjunkturprogramm der Bundesregierung werden über das „Zukunftsprogramm Krankenhäuser“ drei Milliarden Euro als Fördergelder ausgegeben. Diese sollen für die Aufwertung der digitalen Infrastruktur in den Kliniken verwendet werden, für Tele- und Hightech-Medizin sowie Robotik.

Welche Schwerpunkte bei der Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen sehen Sie?

Thomas Miller:Vor allem auf fünf Feldern sehe ich große Chancen. Erstens bei der Digitalisierung von Daten und dem verbesserten Austausch von Daten im Krankenhaus oder zwischen Ärzten und Patienten. Zweitens können mithilfe etwa von Künstlicher Intelligenz Entscheidungen über Behandlungen oder medizinische Eingriffe intelligenter und noch personalisierter erfolgen – statt einer Behandlungsform für alle also sehr viel individuellere Therapieformen. Drittens sehe ich große Potenziale bei der Verbesserung und Automatisierung von Prozessen. Viertens stehen wir in Sachen Patienten-Monitoring und Telemedizin erst am Anfang – hier gibt es noch viel zu tun und zu gewinnen. Und fünftens bietet eine verstärkte Digitalisierung die Chance auf mehr Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe durch die Patienten selbst.