The new market for green

February 2019 – For a long time, companies wanted one thing only: reliable power that was as cheap as possible. In the age of climate change and sustainability, however, the origin of energy is now playing an ever more important role for industrial firms and their customers alike. In Scandinavia, in particular, there is a boom in so-called power purchase agreements, whereby individual consumers sign supply contracts with green energy producers, and these look likely to take off in Germany too over the next few years. Hamburg Commercial Bank is among the pioneers in this still fledgling market.

Fancy a Becks? Or would you prefer a Franziskaner, or perhaps a Budweiser? Consumers selecting a brand from the brewing corporation Anheuser-Busch InBev are spoilt for choice. The American company has been producing beer and more for thirsty drinkers around the globe for 165 years. The Anheuser-Busch managers thought that a product as natural as beer would sell even better if it was produced as environmentally friendly as possible – and in 2017, they signed a contract with the energy provider Iderdrola. The Spaniards now supply the brewing corporation based in Mexico with 220 megawatts of power from a new wind farm.

Cutting the carbon footprint

Anheuser-Busch is more than your typical individual example. Major US companies, in particular, and most significantly tech corporations like Google, Amazon, Microsoft and Facebook, with their enormous, power-guzzling data centers, are increasingly asking for green energy in order to document their carbon footprints. Whether it’s out of pure conviction or for marketing purposes, with sustainability simply a good marketing tool among B2B customers and end consumers, European companies and their customers are also asking themselves ever more frequently where the power for their production and products actually comes from.

What’s new in all this is that instead of buying the green power “anonymously” through the market – as has been possible thus far –, a growing number of companies are making use of “Power Purchase Agreements”, or PPAs. This term covers various forms of supply and purchase agreements – from direct contracts to forwarding contracts to virtual power purchase agreements – between an energy provider and an energy consumer. According to calculations by the Hamburg Commercial Bank, in 2017 PPAs amounting to a record volume of around 1.4 gigawatts were signed for new generation capacities. Wind farm projects are predominant here. By way of comparison: In 2013 the figure was just 0.2 gigawatts. The world’s biggest PPA deal thus far was signed in Sweden: The enormous wind turbines of the onshore “Markbygden ETT” wind farm with a rated power of 650 megawatts supply green electricity for aluminum producer Norsk Hydro for a period of 19 years.

How a power purchase agreement (PPA) works (simplified version)

How a power purchase agreement (PPA) works (simplified version)

Source: Hamburg Commercial Bank

Sweden leads the way in PPAs

The Scandinavian nations and Sweden, in particular, are pioneers in the area of PPAs. At the end of December 2017, PPA volumes in Sweden amounted to 1,442 megawatts, while in Norway the figure was 702 megawatts. The UK is also turning up the turbines with PPA volumes of 884 megawatts at the end of 2017, while the Netherlands – smaller in terms of area but with plenty of wind – still reached a volume of 648 megawatts on the cutoff date. By way of comparison: According to calculations by the Hamburg Commercial Bank, PPA volumes in Germany amounted to a meager ten megawatts at the end of 2017. In 2018, at least 56 MW were added in Germany.

PPAs remain largely unfamiliar to the Germans. This has a lot to do with the national subsidies policy, and the Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG) introduced in 2000. Yet this may well change. The spring of 2020 will see the 20th anniversary of the EEG, and the proportion of green energy sources in the country’s total energy consumption has now reached a good 40 percent. The lion’s share of this is thanks to wind power. What that also means though, is that there are ever fewer arguments for maintaining the high subsidies. Green power has de facto become competitive. Already in the past few years, the subsidies for newly created plants have been drastically reduced in order to control these additions better, but also to integrate renewables ever more effectively into the energy markets.

Green energy

Energy produced by wind farms in Germany in billions of kilowatt hours, 2013 to 2017

Country ranking by percentage of households with fibre-optic network service

Source: Bundesverband WindEnergie e.V.

Imminent end to subsidies for the original wind turbines

In around a year, even the generous subsidies for the original wind farms in Germany are to end. According to a study by the German Wind Energy Association from the year 2021, around 6,000 plants with a total output of around 4,000 megawatts will cease to receive EEG subsidies. A further 2,400 megawatts will become ineligible for subsidies by 2025. What is the future for these plants and their operating companies if they are to be profitable without any help from the state? In technological terms, many of the wind farms are still in good shape. In many solar parks too, the technical lifespan of the systems exceeds the subsidy term of 20 years.

Connecting the Earth to the moon

Civil engineers and craftsmen have already laid around 375,000 kilometres of fibre-optic networks for Deutsche Glasfaser.

It’s precisely here that the power purchase agreements come into play, as the bilateral contract gives the recipient the certainty of consistently receiving green power of certified origin. At the same time, environmentally minded industrial companies or IT providers with high energy requirements can secure energy prices at current levels for the long term. In the long term, prices on the wholesale market for electricity are likely to rise - one reason for this is likely to be the more expensive emission allowances in Europe. Thanks to a PPA, the green energy producers also have long-term planning certainty. “PPAs will undoubtedly become established in Germany”, says a confident Lars Quandel, who heads the Energy & Infrastructure division at Hamburg Commercial Bank.

From what Quandel says though, PPAs are not yet worthwhile for many new plants in Germany. For this to change, yields from tendering need to reduce from their current level of six to seven cents per kilowatt hour to the wholesale level of three to four cents per kilowatt hour. However, Quandel believes it will be no more than ten years before there is a major breakthrough of power purchase agreements among new plants: “The way has been paved. PPAs are an area that everyone is now exploring and indeed must explore.”

The crucial factor for success for the breakthrough of PPAs in Europe is the answer to the question: “Can a renewable energy project be profitable even without state support?” “Alongside achieving further efficiency gains in plant technology and in the operation of a wind or solar park, the development of energy prices is particularly crucial here”, says Quandel.

“The way has been paved. PPAs are an area that everyone is now exploring and indeed must explore.”

Lars Quandel, Head of Energy & Infrastructure Hamburg Commercial Bank

While operators of German solar and wind parks are only edging towards the entirely free market economy gradually, many other countries are way out in front here. In Scandinavia, the Netherlands, the UK, and increasingly also in southern European countries such as Portugal, the result is evident: a significantly higher number of PPAs. Particularly if, unlike in Germany, no state subsidy programs exist, a PPA is a useful tool for limiting the market price risks of a renewable energy project”, says Michael Kohn, Head of Project Finance at BayWa r.e renewable energy GmbH, based in Munich. “Our business relationship with Hamburg Commercial Bank goes back many years. We value the competence in international project financing but also, most significantly, the expertise of our financing partners in the area of renewable energies”, stresses Ralf Ketteler, Head of International Project Finance at Bremer Windparkspezialisten wpd europe GmbH.

On the up

Investments in new wind farms in Germany and development of output in megawatts since 2008

Investments in new wind farms in Germany and development of output in megawatts since 2008

Source: Bundesverband WindEnergie e.V.

As simple as PPA agreements may seem at first glance – a green energy producer signs a contract with a direct recipient –, they are, in fact, quite complicated in practice. Alongside the most common case, the “physical PPA”, whereby the energy is supplied directly from the producer to the recipient and the contract term generally corresponds to the project duration, there is also the option of “synthetic PPAs” in two versions. Here, the power is either supplied to the network, withdrawn at another point and processed via an intermediary, or alternatively, there is no supply of energy between the contracting parties. Rather, the green power is marketed or purchased on the wholesale market similarly to a derivative. It is all terribly complex and convoluted, especially since in both synthetic forms the contract term rarely corresponds to the period of financing.

This means a great deal of expertise is required on the part of the financing partners, who have to successfully balance out the stability of the cash flow, the debt ratio and the credit term of a PPA. In addition to the volume and price risk, direct PPA deals also entail the performance risk of the energy producer and the credit risk of the individual buyer. Assessing all this correctly and putting a price on it requires specialist knowledge. The experts at Hamburg Commercial Bank have already been dealing with the sometimes peculiar rules of play in this business and the correspondingly specific financing requirements for many years. “In power purchase agreements, we not only act as project financer, but also utilize our established market contacts to help operators of a wind farm or solar park with finding investors and, most importantly, direct buyers for their green energy”, explains Lars Quandel. This approach is well received by clients in Scandinavia or southern Europe – and soon in Germany too.

PPAs come in many forms

At 100 Mbit per second, the fibre-optic networks are far from their potential maximum performance. One of their chief benefits is scalability: there is virtually no technical limitation on their potential speed and number of connections. It is possible to increase capacity at any time. “This feature is one of the most important factors for the success of a long-term infrastructure for the country’s digitalisation. And it’s also what makes the asset class so interesting for institutional investors such as banks, insurance companies, and pension funds”, says HSH Nordbank expert Leiwesmeier. Jens Müller from Deutsche Glasfaser is certain: “The potential for fibre-optic networks is very high. There will definitely not be a lack of demand for the expansion”.

Der neue Markt für grünen Strom

Februar 2019 – Lange Zeit wollten Unternehmen nur eines: sicheren und möglichst günstigen Strom. Im Zeitalter von Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit spielt jetzt aber die Herkunft der Energie für Industriefirmen wie für deren Kunden eine immer entscheidendere Rolle. Besonders in Skandinavien boomen daher sogenannte Power Purchase Agreements, bei denen einzelne Abnehmer Lieferverträge mit grünen Stromproduzenten schließen. Auch in Deutschland werden sich diese Abkommen in den nächsten Jahren durchsetzen. Die Hamburg Commercial Bank gehört zu den Pionieren auf diesem noch jungen Markt.

Ein „Becks“ gefällig, ein „Franziskaner“ oder doch lieber ein „Budweiser“? Verbraucher, die zu den Marken des Braumultis Anheuser-Busch InBev greifen, haben die große Auswahl. Seit 165 Jahren produziert das US-Unternehmen Bier und mehr für durstige Kehlen rund um den Erdball. Ein so natürliches Produkt wie Bier verkauft sich noch besser, wenn es auch möglichst umweltschonend produziert wird, dachten sich die Anheuser-Busch-Manager – und schlossen 2017 einen Vertrag mit dem Energieversorger Iderdrola. Die Spanier versorgen den Braumulti in Mexiko jetzt mit 220 Megawatt Leistung aus einem neuen Windpark.

Der Fußabdruck soll grüner werden

Anheuser-Busch ist mehr als das typische Einzelbeispiel. Besonders große US-Unternehmen und allen voran Tech-Multis wie Google, Amazon, Microsoft oder Facebook mit ihren gewaltigen, energiehungrigen Rechenzentren fragen vermehrt grünen Strom nach, um ihren „grünen Fußabdruck“ zu dokumentieren. Sei es aus purer Überzeugung, sei es aus Marketinggründen, weil sich Nachhaltigkeit bei B2B-Kunden und Endverbrauchern einfach besser vermarkten lässt. Auch europäische Unternehmen und deren Kunden stellen sich immer häufiger die Frage, woher der Strom für die Produktion und die Produkte eigentlich stammt.

Das Neue dabei: Statt den grünen Strom – wie bisher bereits möglich – „anonym“ über den Markt zu kaufen, setzt eine steigende Zahl von Unternehmen auf „Power Purchase Agreements“, kurz PPA. Dahinter stecken verschiedene Formen von Liefer- und Abnahmeverträgen – von direkten Verträgen über Durchleitungsverträge bis hin zu virtuellen Stromabnahmenverträgen – zwischen einem Stromanbieter und einem Stromabnehmer. 2017 wurden nach Berechnungen der Hamburg Commercial Bank PPA im Rekordvolumen von etwa 1,4 Gigawatt für neue Erzeugungskapazitäten abgeschlossen. Windparkprojekte dominieren dabei. Zum Vergleich: 2013 waren es erst 0,2 Gigawatt. Der bis dato weltgrößte PPA-Deal wurde in Schweden geschlossen: Die gigantischen Windmühlen des Onshore-Parks „Markbygden ETT“ mit einer Nennleistung von 650 Megawatt liefern 19 Jahre lang grünen Strom für den Aluminiumhersteller Norsk Hydro.

So funktioniert ein Power Purchase Agreement (PPA)(vereinfachte Darstellung)

So funktioniert ein Power Purchase Agreement (PPA)(vereinfachte Darstellung)

Quelle: Hamburg Commercial Bank

Schweden ist PPA-Vorreiter

Die skandinavischen Staaten und allen voran Schweden sind Vorreiter beim Thema PPA. Ende Dezember 2017 betrug das PPA-Volumen in Schweden 1.442 Megawatt, in Norwegen 702 Megawatt. Auch Großbritannien dreht das große Windrad mit 884 Megawatt PPA-Volumen Ende 2017 – und die flächenmäßig kleinen, aber windreichen Niederlande kommen immerhin noch auf 648 Megawatt zum Stichtag. Zum Vergleich: In Deutschland betrug das PPA-Volumen nach Berechnungen der Hamburg Commercial Bank Ende 2017 erst magere zehn Megawatt. In 2018 kamen in Deutschland dann immerhin weitere 56 MW hinzu.

In Deutschland sind PPAs noch weitgehend Neuland. Das hat sehr viel mit der nationalen Förderpolitik zu tun und dem im Jahr 2000 eingeführten „Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz“ (EEG). Doch das könnte sich ändern. Im Frühjahr 2020 jährt sich der Start des EEG zum 20. Mal. Der Anteil aus grünen Quellen am gesamten Stromverbrauch in Deutschland rangiert inzwischen bei gut 40 Prozent. Vor allem die Windkraft hat massiven Anteil daran. Das heißt aber auch: Argumente für eine anhaltend hohe Subvention gibt es damit immer weniger. Der grüne Strom ist faktisch wettbewerbsfähig geworden. Bereits in den vergangenen Jahren wurden die Subventionen für neu entstandene Anlagen drastisch gekürzt , um den Zubau besser zu steuern, aber auch um die Erneuerbaren immer stärker in die Strommärkte zu integrieren.

Grüner Strom

Durch Windkraftanlagen erzeugter Strom in Deutschland in Milliarden Kilowattstunden 2013 bis 2017

 Durch Windkraftanlagen erzeugter Strom in Deutschland in Milliarden Kilowattstunden 2013 bis 2017

Quelle: Bundesverband WindEnergie e.V.

Baldiges Förderaus für die Windräder der ersten Stunde

In rund einem Jahr läuft nun auch die üppige Förderung für die Windkraftanlagen der ersten Stunde in Deutschland aus. Nach einer Studie des Bundesverbandes WindEnergie erhalten ab dem Jahr 2021 rund 6.000 Anlagen mit einer Gesamtleistung von etwa 4.000 Megawatt keine EEG-Zuschüsse mehr. Bis 2025 kommen jährlich weitere 2.400 Megawatt hinzu, die aus der Förderung herauslaufen. Wie geht es für diese Anlagen und ihre Betreiberunternehmen weiter, wenn sie ohne jede Hilfe vom Staat weiterwirtschaften sollen und müssen? Technisch sind viele der Windparks noch in guter Verfassung. Auch bei vielen Solarparks übersteigt die technische Nutzungsdauer den Förderzeitraum von 20 Jahren.

Genau hier kommen die Power Purchase Agreements ins Spiel: Der bilaterale Vertrag gibt dem Abnehmer die Gewissheit, auf grünen Strom mit Herkunftsnachweis zu setzen. Zugleich können sich grün denkende Industrieunternehmen oder IT-Anbieter mit großem Strombedarf so langfristig Strompreise auf heutigem Niveau sichern. Denn langfristig zeigen die Preise am Großhandelsmarkt für Strom nach oben – ein Grund dafür dürften die teurer werdenden Emissionszertifikate in Europa werden. Auch die Ökostromerzeuger erhalten dank eines PPA langfristige Planungssicherheit. „Die PPA werden sich in Deutschland etablieren“, ist sich Lars Quandel sicher. Er leitet den Bereich Energie & Infrastruktur bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank.

Für viele Neuanlagen in Deutschland lohnen sich PPAs nach Quandels Worten dagegen noch nicht. Dafür müssten die Erlöse aus den Ausschreibungen von aktuell sechs bis sieben Cent je Kilowattstunde erst auf das Großhandelsniveau von drei bis vier Cent pro Kilowattstunde gesunken sein. Spätestens in zehn Jahren rechnet Quandel allerdings mit dem großen Durchbruch für Power Purchase Agreements bei Neuanlagen: „Das Feld wird jetzt bestellt. PPA sind ein Thema, mit dem sich jeder im Moment auseinandersetzt und auseinandersetzen muss.“

Der entscheidende Erfolgsfaktor für den Durchbruch von PPA in Europa ist die Antwort auf die Frage: „Rechnet sich ein Erneuerbare-Energien-Projekt auch ohne staatliche Förderung?“ „Neben der Erzielung weiterer Effizienzgewinne bei der Anlagentechnologie und beim Betrieb eines Wind- oder Solarparks ist hier auch die Entwicklung der Strompreise von besonderer Bedeutung“, sagt Quandel.

„Das Feld wird jetzt bestellt. PPA sind ein Thema, mit dem sich jeder im Moment auseinandersetzt und auseinandersetzen muss.“

Lars Quandel, Leiter Energie & Infrastruktur Hamburg Commercial Bank

Während sich die Betreiber deutscher Solar- und Windparks erst schrittweise der komplett freien Marktwirtschaft nähern, sind viele ausländische Staaten hier schon entscheidend weiter. Die Folge ist in Skandinavien, den Niederlanden, Großbritannien, aber zunehmend auch in südeuropäischen Ländern wie Portugal zu sehen: eine signifikant höhere PPA-Quote. „PPA sind für uns alles andere als Neuland. Gerade wenn es, anders als in Deutschland kein staatliches Förderprogramm gibt, ist ein PPA ein geeignetes Instrument, um die Marktpreisrisiken eines Erneuerbare-Energien-Projekts zu begrenzen“, sagt Michael Kohn, Head of Project Finance bei der BayWa r.e. renewable energy GmbH mit Sitz in München. „Mit der Hamburg Commercial Bank verbindet uns bereits eine mehrjährige Geschäftsbeziehung. Wir schätzen neben der Kompetenz bei der internationalen Projektfinanzierung vor allem das Know-how unserer Finanzierungspartner im Bereich der Erneuerbaren Energien“, unterstreicht Ralf Ketteler, Head of International Project Finance beim Bremer Windparkspezialisten wpd europe GmbH.

Weiter im Aufwind

Investitionen in neue Windkraftanlagen in Deutschland und Entwicklung der Leistung in Megawatt seit 2008

 Investitionen in neue Windkraftanlagen in Deutschland und Entwicklung der Leistung in Megawatt seit 2008

Quelle: Bundesverband WindEnergie e.V.

Wenn im Frühjahr 2020 die ersten alten Windkraftanlagen in Deutschland keine garantierten Einspeisevergütungen mehr erhalten, gibt es auch für Unternehmen hierzulande die Möglichkeit, größere Mengen an alternativem Strom mit klarem Herkunftsnachweis zu kaufen. Was in europäischen Nachbarstaaten seit Langem gang und gäbe ist, wird dann auch in Deutschland machbar sein. Erste Großunternehmen wie Mercedes-Benz arbeiten Berichten zufolge bereits konkret an PPA-Deals. Potenzielle PPA-Partner für Ökostromanbieter etablieren sich am Horizont auch mit den Betreibern neuer Power-to-X-Anlagen: Dahinter stecken Unternehmen, die mithilfe innovativer Verfahren alternative Kraft- und Brennstoffe erzeugen. Um etwa treibhausgasneutrale E-Fuels herzustellen, die Diesel oder Benzin im Auto überflüssig machen, ist viel regenerativer Strom erforderlich.

PPA bietet viele Spielarten

So einfach PPA-Abkommen auf den ersten Blick erscheinen mögen – ein Ökostromerzeuger schließt einen Vertrag mit einem Direktabnehmer –, so kompliziert sind diese in der Praxis. Neben dem häufigsten Fall, dem „physischen PPA“, bei dem der Strom direkt vom Erzeuger an den Abnehmer geliefert wird und die Vertragsdauer üblicherweise der Projektnutzungsdauer entspricht, gibt es die Möglichkeit von „synthetischen PPAs“ in zwei Ausprägungen. Hier wird der Strom entweder ins Netz geliefert, an anderer Stelle entnommen und über einen Intermediär abgewickelt. Oder es findet gar keine Energielieferung zwischen den Vertragsparteien statt. Vielmehr wird der grüne Strom vergleichbar mit einem Derivat über den Großhandelsmarkt vermarktet beziehungsweise bezogen. Das ist arg komplex und verschachtelt, zumal in beiden synthetischen Spielarten die Vertragslaufzeit selten der Finanzierungslaufzeit entspricht.

Das erfordert viel Know-how aufseiten der Finanzierungspartner, die langfristig erfolgreich zwischen der Stabilität des Cashflows, der Fremdkapitalquote und der Kreditlaufzeit eines PPA austarieren müssen. Zum Mengen- und Preisrisiko kommen bei direkten PPA-Deals auch noch das Leistungsrisiko beim Stromerzeuger sowie das Bonitätsrisiko des einzigen Abnehmers hinzu. All das richtig einzuschätzen und zu bepreisen, erfordert Spezialistenwissen. Die Experten der Hamburg Commercial Bank beschäftigen sich bereits seit vielen Jahren im In- und Ausland mit den teils besonderen Spielregeln in diesem Geschäft und den entsprechend maßgeschneiderten Finanzierungsbedürfnissen. „Bei Power Purchase Agreements agieren wir nicht nur als Projektfinanzierer. Wir helfen mit unseren etablierten Marktkontakten den Betreibern eines Wind- oder Solarparks auch dabei, Investoren und vor allem direkte Abnehmer für ihren grünen Strom zu finden“, erklärt Lars Quandel. Das kommt in Skandinavien oder Südeuropa bestens an bei den Kunden ¬– und demnächst auch in Deutschland.

Branchenstudie „Corporate PPA - Going Green“

Die Branchestudie beleuchtet, was hinter Corporate PPA steckt und betrachtet PPA aus Sicht des Finanzierers von EE-Projekten. Sie haben Interesse an der vollständigen Studie "Corporate PPA - Going Green"? Senden Sie einfach eine E-Mail mit dem Betreff „Corporate PPA“ an inka.klinger@hcob-bank.com und Sie erhalten die vollständige Studie.