"Too few wind energy projects approved"

September 2019 – "Climate policy total failure", "zero number", "despondent patchwork" - formulations of this kind, which express the sharp criticism of the climate package of the Federal Government from business, politics and associations, could be continued in endless loops. How does Hamburg Commercial Bank, which has been supporting and financing renewable energy projects for more than 25 years, assess the catalogue of measures that will enable Germany to achieve its climate targets in 2030? Nils Driemeyer, Global Head of Renewable Energy of Hamburg Commercial Bank, comments.

Nils Driemeyer, Global Head of Renewable Energy of Hamburg Commercial Bank
Nils Driemeyer, Global Head of Renewable Energy of Hamburg Commercial Bank

How do you rate the package?

Nils Driemeyer: Short and sweet: Good Approaches, but too short. The introduction of CO2 pricing for conventional fuels is an important and correct step towards a cause-based pricing of CO2 emissions and a relative increase in the price of fossil fuels. This is not, however, to be adopted in its adopted form. It will be sufficient to switch to renewable energies in all sectors and provide the necessary impetus for the necessary construction of new wind and solar parks. The other CO2 reduction measures are also heading in the right direction, but are not very stringent. Thus the climate package is primarily based on incentives rather than on targeted control. This means that achievement of the climate targets cannot be guaranteed ex ante. This will require additional concrete CO2 savings paths for all sectors and a tight after-tax system.

Where do you think it's stuck?

Nils Driemeyer: Increasing the share of renewables to 65% is an important goal in Germany. However, this goal is currently in danger as too few wind farm projects are approved and built. In addition to the availability of land, a solution must also be found for public acceptance. A simple increase of the minimum distance to new wind farms is not suitable. It is unacceptable that investors and banks sometimes have to wait years for a final approval. Here the legislator is particularly called upon to ensure clarity.

What do you like about the cornerstone paper?

Nils Driemeyer: Those who currently store the electricity in their wind farm that they cannot feed into the grid will be penalized because both the electricity produced and the electricity fed into the grid from the storage facility will be subject to charges. This is now being changed and will lead to wind and solar parks becoming more base load capable. However, only if the feed-in priority for new renewable energy projects is also abolished in parallel, as this is the only way to provide a real incentive to store surplus renewable energy quantities exists.

Can Hamburg Commercial Bank benefit from the climate package?

Nils Driemeyer: The German government's climate package addresses the right issues, but in our view it does not go far enough. In order to really achieve a market-oriented expansion of renewable energies, topics such as CO2pricing must be thought through more consistently to the end. The renewable energy sector has outgrown its infancy and can stand on its own two feet without the support of the state. Financing of larger wind and solar parks without subsidies is possible throughout Germany with a modified regulatory framework. We like to show you how!

"Es werden zu wenig Windenergie-Projekte genehmigt"

September 2019 – „Klimapolitischer Totalausfall“, „Nullnummer“, „mutloses Flickwerk“ – Formulierungen dieser Art, die die scharfe Kritik aus Wirtschaft, Politik und Verbänden am Klimapaket der Bundesregierung ausdrücken, ließen sich in Endlosschleife fortsetzen. Wie beurteilt die Hamburg Commercial Bank, die seit mehr als 25 Jahren Projekte der Erneuerbaren Energien begleitet und finanziert, den Maßnahmenkatalog, durch den Deutschlands Klimaziele 2030 erreicht werden? Nils Driemeyer, Global Head of Renewable Energy der Hamburg Commercial Bank, nimmt Stellung.

5 Fragen an Nils Driemeyer, Global Head of Renewable Energy der Hamburg Commercial Bank
Nils Driemeyer, Global Head of Renewable Energy der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Wie beurteilen Sie das Paket?

Nils Driemeyer: Kurz und knapp: Gute Ansätze, aber zu kurz gesprungen. Die Einführung einer CO2-Bepreisung von konventionellen Kraftstoffen ist ein wichtiger und richtiger Schritt hin zu einer verursachungsgerechten Bepreisung von CO2 Emission und zu einer relativen Verteuerung fossiler Energieträger. Diese wird in der beschlossenen Form jedoch nicht genügen, um in allen Sektoren auf Erneuerbare Energien umzuschwenken und die nötigen Impulse für den erforderlichen Bau neuer Wind- und Solarparks zu geben. Auch die anderen Maßnahmen zur CO2-Reduktion gehen zwar in die richtige Richtung, sind aber wenig stringent. So setzt das Klimapaket vorwiegend auf Anreize, statt gezielt zu steuern. Ein Erreichen der Klimaziele ist damit ex ante nicht zu gewährleisten. Hierfür braucht es zusätzlich konkrete CO2-Einsparpfade für alle Sektoren und ein enges Nachsteuern.

Wo hakt es aus Ihrer Sicht noch?

Nils Driemeyer: Der Ausbau des Anteils der EE auf 65% ist ein wichtiges Ziel in Deutschland. Allerdings ist dieses Ziel aktuell in Gefahr, da zu wenig Windpark-Projekte genehmigt und gebaut werden. Neben der Flächenverfügbarkeit muss insbesondere eine Lösung für die Bürgerakzeptanz gefunden werden. Eine simple Erhöhung des Mindestabstands zu neuen Windparks taugt da nicht. Es kann nicht sein, dass Investoren und Banken mitunter jahrelang auf eine bestandskräftige Genehmigung warten müssen. Hier ist der Gesetzgeber in einem besonderen Maße gefragt, für Klarheit zu sorgen.

Was gefällt Ihnen am Eckpunkte-Papier?

Nils Driemeyer: Wer aktuell in seinem Windpark den Strom speichert, den er nicht ins Netz einspeisen kann, wird bestraft, da sowohl der produzierte Strom als auch der dann vom Speicher eingespeiste Strom mit Umlagen belegt ist. Dies wird nun geändert und wird dazu führen, dass Wind- und Solarparks stärker grundlastfähig werden. Allerdings nur dann, wenn parallel hierzu auch der Einspeisevorrang für neue EE-Projekte wegfällt, da nur so ein echter Anreiz zum Speichern überschüssiger EE-Strommengen besteht.

Kann die Hamburg Commercial Bank vom Klimapaket profitieren?

Nils Driemeyer: Das Klimapaket der Bundesregierung trifft die richtigen Themen, ist aber aus unserer Sicht nicht weitreichend genug. Um wirklich einen marktorientierten Ausbau der Erneuerbaren Energien zu erreichen, müssten die Themen wie die CO2-Bepreisung konsequenter zu Ende gedacht werden. Die Branche der Erneuerbaren Energien ist den Kinderschuhen entwachsen und kann auch ohne Unterstützung durch den Staat auf eigenen Beinen stehen. Eine Finanzierung von größeren Wind- und Solarparks ohne Förderung ist bei einem modifizierten Regulierungsrahmen perspektivisch in ganz Deutschland möglich. Wir zeigen gerne wie!