Lucrative niches

Germany's real estate market is hot, in some ways almost too hot to handle. While a stable economy, favorable financing conditions and a lack of investment alternatives are driving market prices, these same factors are also depressing yields. At the same time, there are very appealing business opportunities in lesser-known niches such as student housing, specialty shopping centers and logistics properties. These areas, however, require a deeper level of expertise than traditional real estate investments – both for developers and banking institutions.

When will the bubble burst? The purchase prices for apartments and buildings in Germany are on a steady rise. This has been the case since 2009, in diametrical opposition to interest rate development. After a decade of uninterrupted boom, there are more and more warnings coming from every corner. The German Central Bank points to these warnings at least once a year in its monthly reports. The analysts at the Empirica, part of the German Institute for Economic Research and the Cologne Institute of German Economics have recently taken up the same position.

Lucrative niches visual

Exaggerated prices, but not a bubble

Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients at Hamburg Commercial Bank, takes a more relaxed view of the situation. He also notes massive price exaggerations in some residential and commercial properties in Germany. But in his view, the problem is primarily in the major cities. Germany shows no signs of a nationwide real estate bubble like those created in the USA and Spain by building far beyond actual demand. Vacancies are, in fact, not at all a problem in Germany. He also notes, "An unhealthy level of credit financing has not yet been observed for either apartments or office properties. And that's exactly what would have to happen to create a real bubble," says Axmann.

“An unhealthy level of credit financing has not yet been observed for either apartments or office properties. And that's exactly what would have to happen to create a real bubble.”

Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients at Hamburg Commercial Bank

High level of stagnation among investments

New commercial real estate investments in Germany by institutional investors in billion Euros

High level of stagnation among investments. New commercial real estate investments in Germany by institutional investors in billion Euros


Source: bulwiengesa AG 2018

“This is the time for the real expert players to shine. It's not hard to invest in a boom. But generating adequate returns in an increasingly tight market requires skill and years of experience.”

Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients at Hamburg Commercial Bank

Nevertheless, as an experienced real estate expert, there are some challenging trends he can't ignore – particularly the declining returns. Two-figure interest rates have long been commonplace for investment properties. Project developers have to be very careful to avoid missteps in a landscape of declining returns and increasing risks.

For Peter Axmann, however, this situation is neither uncomfortable nor unfamiliar. "This is the time for the real expert players to shine. It's not hard to invest in a boom. But generating adequate returns in an increasingly tight market requires skill and years of experience," he says.

Student apartment with Baltic flair

One such investor with both experience and staying power is the TAS Group, a long-time client of Hamburg Commercial Bank. "Creating value with vision" is the motto of TAS, which was founded in Hamburg in 2003 by the father and son team Thomas A. Schwarz and Marcus Schwarz. TAS is active throughout Germany as an investor and project developer. Students are among those to see the benefits of the real estate company's projects. When the "Kiel Gaarden" mixed construction project on the banks of Kiel Fjord is completed in 2023, students will have around 100 subsidized apartments available to them.

Project developer market comes to a halt

Area volume in trading development of German A-cities 2008 to 2018 in million square meters

Area volume in trading development of German A-cities 2008 to 2018 in million square meters comes to a halt


Source: "Project development study 2018," bulwiengesa AG

It's not just niche construction projects that offer good returns.

Student housing, hotel projects, corporate headquarters: The German real estate market is still thriving in niches where bigger challenges make for bigger returns – in contrast to conventional areas of project development. This can be seen in the latest figures from the independent market analysts at bulwiengesa. "While last year saw an additional increase in real estate developments, current analysis clearly indicates that the market is stagnating," according to the agency's recent "2018 Project Developer Study." But as always, it is worth taking a look at the details of the study. It quickly becomes clear that there's no such thing as THE real estate market. Everything depends on the niches and the developer's niche expertise. The TAS Group, for example, has been focusing on the hotel market for some time now. And for good reason, as the statisticians at bulwiengesa confirm: According to their 2018 project development study, project volume in the hotel segment is growing for the third year in a row.

Peter Axmann also sees retail parks and logistics properties as probable top performers in the coming years. While inner city retailers are finding it increasingly difficult to attract shoppers, there is a boom among specialty shopping centers, which are often more easily accessible. Demand is high for such centers, and the land prices are comparatively more appealing. It should also come as no surprise that demand for logistics real estate is also on the rise. After all, somebody has to store, pack, ship and deliver all the goods that are being ordered online. For the current year, the German Federal Logistics Association is expecting domestic industry sales of 279 billion euros – this figure reached 253 billion euros only in 2015.

“We listen to our customers' concerns, understand their business plans and work with them to develop individual solutions, from traditional mortgage loans to complexly structured financing.”

Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients at Hamburg Commercial Bank

It's not just niche construction projects that offer good returns. An increasing number of Axmann's clients are looking at ways to handle further developments. "This includes such things as repair and modernization, as well as repurposing and re-leasing at higher prices," says Axmann. According to his observations, investors are currently particularly drawn to properties that promise a value-add.

Significant interest in niche segments

Types of use for which real estate professionals in Germany expect an increase in 2018/2019

Significant interest in niche segments: Types of use for which real estate professionals in Germany expect an increase in 2018/2019


Source: EXPO REAL, Trend indicator 2018, 1,380 exhibition visitors, inquiry in July 2018

Projects don't just need financing, they need advisers too

Being able to see how the ugly ducklings of the real estate world can be transformed into beautiful (and valuable) swans takes more than experience and foresight on the part of project developers. Lending banks also need a high level of real estate expertise and a good understanding of locations, market developments, and future trends.

Hamburg Commercial Bank is one of the most important real estate financiers in Germany. "We listen to our customers' concerns, understand their business plans and work with them to develop individual solutions, from traditional mortgage loans to complexly structured financing," says Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients. Naturally, this includes knowing the risks and keeping them under control. "We proceed with caution, particularly in an increasingly mature market – at the same time, we ensure a balanced mix in our loan portfolio."

Lukrative Nischen

Deutschlands Immobilienmarkt kocht, an manchen Stellen kocht er sogar fast über. Die stabile Konjunktur, günstige Finanzierungskonditionen und mangelnde Investmentalternativen treiben die Marktpreise, aber drücken zugleich auf die Renditen. In weniger beachteten Nischen wie Studentenapartments, Fachmarktzentren oder Logistikimmobilien winken dagegen noch bessere Geschäfte. Dafür verlangt es jedoch tieferen Sachverstand als bei klassischen Immobilienanlagen – auf Entwickler- und auf Bankenseite.

Wann platzt die Blase? Die Kaufpreise für Wohnungen und Häuser hierzulande steigen und steigen; seit 2009 ist das so, diametral entgegengesetzt zur Entwicklung der Zinsen. Nach einer Dekade ungebrochenen Booms wird die Front der Mahner und Warner indes nun größer: Die Deutschen Bundesbanker heben mindestens einmal jährlich in ihrem Monatsbericht den Finger. Die Wissenschaftler des Analysehauses Empirica, des Deutschen Instituts für Wirtschaftsforschung (DIW) in Berlin oder des Kölner Instituts der deutschen Wirschaft (IW) schlugen zuletzt in dieselbe Kerbe.

Lukrative Nischen Visual

Übertreibung ja, Blase nein

Peter Axmann, Leiter Immobilienkunden bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank, sieht die Situation gelassener. Zwar konstatiert auch er massive Übertreibungen bei manchen Wohn- und Gewerbeimmobilien hierzulande. Doch dieses Problem sei vor allem eines der Millionen- und Großstädte. Von einer landesweiten Immobilienblase wie einst in den USA oder Spanien, als komplett am Bedarf und der Nachfrage vorbei gebaut wurde, sei in Deutschland nichts zu erkennen. Leerstand gibt es hierzulande heute faktisch nicht. Und: „Weder bei Wohnungen noch bei Büroimmobilien lässt sich bis dato ein ungesundes Maß an Kreditfinanzierung feststellen. Aber genau das ist Voraussetzung für eine wirkliche Blase“, meint Axmann.

„Weder bei Wohnungen noch bei Büroimmobilien lässt sich bis dato ein ungesundes Maß an Kreditfinanzierung feststellen. Aber genau das ist Voraussetzung für eine wirkliche Blase.“

Peter Axmann, Leiter Immobilienkunden bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Hohe Stagnation bei Investitionen

Neue gewerbliche Immobilieninvestionen in Deutschland durch institutionelle Investoren in Milliarden Euro

High level of stagnation among investments. New commercial real estate investments in Germany by institutional investors in billion Euros


Quelle: bulwiengesa AG 2018

„Jetzt schlägt die Stunde der wahren Könner. Im Boom investieren können viele. Im enger werdenden Markt aber noch auskömmliche Renditen zu erwirtschaften, das erfordert Kompetenz und jahrelange Erfahrung.“

Peter Axmann, Leiter Immobilienkunden bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Gleichwohl verschließt auch der erfahrene Immobilienfachmann der Hamburg Commercial Bank nicht die Augen vor manch herausforderndem Trend: allen voran den sinkenden Renditen. Längst ist die Zwei vor dem Komma keine Seltenheit mehr bei Investitionsobjekten. Projektentwickler müssen zunehmend mit spitzem Bleistift kalkulieren, um bei sinkenden Renditen und steigenden Risiken keine Fehlschläge zu produzieren.

Für Peter Axmann ist das jedoch keine ungemütliche und schon gar keine ungewohnte Situation: „Jetzt schlägt die Stunde der wahren Könner. Im Boom investieren können viele. Im enger werdenden Markt aber noch auskömmliche Renditen zu erwirtschaften, das erfordert Kompetenz und jahrelange Erfahrung“, sagt er.

Studentenbude mit Ostsee-Flair

Zu solchen Investoren mit Ausdauer und Tradition zählt etwa die Unternehmensgruppe TAS, seit vielen Jahren Kunde der Hamburg Commercial Bank. „Mit Weitblick Werte schaffen“ lautet der Slogan des 2003 von Marcus und Vater Thomas A. Schwarz in Hamburg gegründeten Immobilienunternehmens. Im gesamten Bundesgebiet ist TAS als Investor und Projektentwickler aktiv. Auch Studenten profitieren von der Baufreude von TAS. Wenn 2023 das Mischbauprojekt „Kiel Gaarden“ direkt an der Kieler Förde fertiggestellt wird, kann der akademische Nachwuchs in der nördlichsten Landeshauptstadt rund 100 geförderte Studentenapartments beziehen.

Projektentwicklermarkt kommt ins Stocken

Flächenvolumen im Trading-Development deutscher A-Städte 2008 bis 2018 in Millionen Quadratmeter

Flächenvolumen im Trading-Development deutscher A-Städte 2008 bis 2018 in Millionen Quadratmeter kommt ins Stocken


Quelle: „Projektentwicklerstudie 2018“, bulwiengesa AG

Gute Rendite lässt sich überdies nicht nur mit Neubauprojekten in ausgewählten Nischen erreichen.

Studentenwohnungen, Hotelprojekt, Unternehmenszentrale: In den anspruchsvolleren, aber gerade deshalb auch meist renditeträchtigeren Nischen gedeiht der deutsche Immobilienmarkt noch – im Gegensatz zum herkömmlichen Projektentwicklungsgeschäft. Das zeigen etwa die jüngsten Zahlen der unabhängigen Marktanalysten von bulwiengesa. „War 2017 noch einmal ein Anstieg der Projektentwicklerflächen zu registrieren, so wird in der aktuellen Analyse deutlich: Der Markt stagniert“, hieß es jüngst es in der „Projektentwicklerstudie 2018“ der Frankfurter Marktauguren. Doch wie immer lohnt der Blick in die Details der Studie. Schnell wird dann klar: DEN Immobilienmarkt gibt es nicht. Es kommt auf die Nische und damit auch auf die Nischenkompetenz eines Entwicklers an. Die TAS Unternehmensgruppe beispielsweise setzt seit Längerem auf den Hotelmarkt. Und das aus guten Gründen, wie die Statistiker von bulwiengesa bestätigen: Laut ihrer „Projektentwicklerstudie 2018“ wächst das Projektvolumen im Hotelsegment bereits das dritte Jahr in Folge.

Auch Fachmarktzentren und Logistikimmobilien zählen nach der Einschätzung von Peter Axmann zu den Topperformern der nächsten Jahre. Während sich etwa die Einzelhändler in den Innenstädten immer schwerer tun, Besucher anzulocken und diese zum Geldausgeben zu animieren, boomen die verkehrstechnisch oft günstiger gelegenen Fachmarktzentren. Dort stimmt die Nachfrage, zugleich sind die Bodenpreise vergleichsweise fair. Der steigende Bedarf an Logistikimmobilien darf ebenfalls nicht überraschen: Allein ein Blick auf die Entwicklung des Onlinehandels ist Antwort genug – irgendwer muss all die bestellten Waren lagern, verpacken, versenden und ausliefern. Die Bundesvereinigung Logistik rechnet für das laufende Jahr mit einem inländischen Branchenumsatz von 279 Milliarden Euro; 2015 waren es erst 253 Milliarden Euro.

„Wir haben ein offenes Ohr für unsere Kunden, verstehen ihre Businesspläne und erarbeiten gemeinsam individuelle Lösungen – vom klassischen Hypothekendarlehen bis zur komplexen strukturierten Finanzierung.“

Peter Axmann, Leiter Immobilienkunden bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Gute Rendite lässt sich überdies nicht nur mit Neubauprojekten in ausgewählten Nischen erreichen. Bankexperte Axmann betreut eine steigende Zahl von Kunden, die sich derzeit mit dem Thema Weiterentwicklung befassen. „Dazu gehören etwa die Instandsetzung und Modernisierung, aber auch die Umwidmung mit anschließender Neuvermietung zu höheren Preisen“, sagt Axmann. Investoren greifen nach seiner Beobachtung derzeit besonders gern bei solchen Objekten zu, die einen „Value add“ versprechen.

Grosses Interesse an Nischensegmenten

Nutzungsarten, für die Immobilienprofis in Deutschland 2018/2019 einen Bedeutungszuwachs erwarten

Großes Interesse an Nischensegmenten: Nutzungsarten, für die Immobilienprofis in Deutschland 2018/2019 einen Bedeutungszuwachs erwarten


Quelle: EXPO REAL, Stimmungsbarometer 2018, 1.380 Messeteilnehmer, Erhebung im Juli 2018

Statt reiner Geldgeber sind Berater gefragt

Blick auf die Woodie-Baustelle von oben

In manch derzeit grauem Immobilienentlein einen später schönen (und wertvolleren) Schwan zu sehen und diesen dann entsprechend zu formen, das erfordert nicht nur Erfahrung und Weitblick aufseiten der Projektentwickler. Auch die geldgebende Bank muss hohen Immobiliensachverstand aufweisen und über eine fundierte eigene Meinung zu Lagen, Marktentwicklungen und Zukunftstrends verfügen.

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank zählt zu den bedeutendsten Immobilienfinanzierern in Deutschland. „Wir haben ein offenes Ohr für unsere Kunden, verstehen ihre Businesspläne und erarbeiten gemeinsam individuelle Lösungen – vom klassischen Hypothekendarlehen bis zur komplexen strukturierten Finanzierung“, sagt Axmann. Dazu gehört es selbstverständlich auch, die Risiken zu kennen und im Griff zu behalten. „Besonders in einem reifer werdenden Markt schauen wir nochmal genauer hin. Gleichzeitig achten wir im Kreditbestand auf einen ausgewogenen Mix.“