Hamburg Commercial Bank switches to BdB’s voluntary Deposit Protection Fund

November 2021 – Hamburg Commercial Bank (HCOB) will become a member of the voluntary Deposit Protection Fund of the Association of German Banks (BdB) on 1 January 2022. The BdB Management Board’s decision on admission was announced today. Membership in the Institutional Protection Scheme of the German Savings Banks Finance Group (Sparkassen- Finanzgruppe, SFG) will cease as planned at the end of this year.

image

Stefan Ermisch, CEO of Hamburg Commercial Bank, is delighted with the bank's big step: "Hamburg Commercial Bank has met all of the BdB's high requirements for inclusion in the voluntary Deposit Protection Fund, and in some cases even exceeded them. On behalf of myself and my colleagues on the Management Board, I would like to thank all our dedicated employees who have made this success story possible, as well as our owners and the members of the Supervisory Board for their strong support throughout the transformation.” Hamburg Commercial Bank’s achievement here is unprecedented in the German banking industry: switching from the Institutional Protection Scheme of the German Savings Banks Finance Group to the Deposit Protection Fund of the Association of German Banks (BdB). "By doing so, Hamburg Commercial Bank has succeeded in its pioneering work, which is unique in the German banking landscape," says Stefan Ermisch. He expressly thanked the representatives of the Association of German Banks and the German Savings Banks Finance Group for their close and focused cooperation over the past years.

Forecast for the current fiscal year raised again

Stefan Ermisch: "The switch to the BdB's Deposit Protection Fund also marks the end of HCOB's three-year, far-reaching transformation into a solidly positioned, private commercial bank. Today, we are active in the German banking market as a well-capitalized and sustainably profitable specialty financier. The Bank’s operating margins continue on an encouraging trajectory. HCOB has again raised its forecast for the 2021 financial year and now anticipates earnings after taxes of well over EUR 300 million, which is substantially higher than the previously communicated target.

The transition of HCOB's membership from the Institutional Protection Scheme of the SFG to the BdB's voluntary Deposit Protection Fund was initiated at the end of 2018, in the course of the sale of the former Landesbank to a group of private investors, with a target date of 1 January 2022. Hamburg Commercial Bank will also switch to the statutory Compensation Scheme of German Private Banks (Entschädigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken GmbH, EdB) at the beginning of 2022. The additional voluntary membership in the Deposit Protection Fund of the BdB offers a higher level of protection than the statutory compensation scheme.

HCOB wechselt in Einlagensicherungsfonds der privaten Banken

November 2021 – Die Hamburg Commercial Bank wird zum 1. Januar 2022 Mitglied im freiwilligen Einlagensicherungsfonds des Bundesverbands deutscher Banken e. V. (BdB). Die Entscheidung des BdB-Vorstands über die Aufnahme wurde heute bekanntgeben. Die Mitgliedschaft im Sicherungssystem der Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe (SFG) endet plangemäß zum Jahresende.

Symbole

Stefan Ermisch, CEO der Hamburg Commercial Bank, freut sich über den großen Schritt der Bank: „Die Hamburg Commercial Bank hat die hohen Anforderungen des BdB für die Aufnahme in den freiwilligen Einlagensicherungsfonds allesamt erreicht und in Teilen sogar übererfüllt. Dafür danke ich, auch im Namen meiner Vorstandskollegen, all unseren engagierten Mitarbeitenden, die diese Erfolgsgeschichte ermöglicht haben, sowie unseren Eigentümern und den Mitgliedern des Aufsichtsrats, für die starke Unterstützung während der gesamten Transformation.“ Der Hamburg Commercial Bank hat damit etwas erreicht, was in der deutschen Bankbranche bis dato ohne Vorbild ist: der Wechsel vom Sicherungssystem der SFG in den Einlagensicherungsfonds des BdB. „Damit ist der Hamburg Commercial Bank eine in der deutschen Bankenlandschaft einmalige Pionierarbeit gelungen“, sagt Stefan Ermisch. Ausdrücklich bedankt er sich bei den Vertretern des Bundesverbands deutscher Banken sowie der Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe für die enge und zielgerichtete Zusammenarbeit in den vergangenen Jahren.

Prognose für das laufende Geschäftsjahr erneut angehoben

Stefan Ermisch: „Mit dem Wechsel in den Einlagensicherungsfonds des BdB endet zugleich die dreijährige, tiefgreifende Transformation der Hamburg Commercial Bank zu einer solide aufgestellten privaten Geschäftsbank. Wir sind heute als kapitalstarker und nachhaltig profitabler Spezialfinanzierer am deutschen Bankenmarkt aktiv.“ Die operativen Margen der Bank entwickelten sich weiterhin erfreulich. Für das Geschäftsjahr 2021 hat die HCOB ihre Prognose erneut angehoben und rechnet nun mit einem Ergebnis nach Steuern von deutlich mehr als 300 Millionen Euro und damit spürbar über der bisher kommunizierten Zielgröße.

Der Übergang der Mitgliedschaft der HCOB, vom Sicherungssystem der SFG zum freiwilligen Einlagensicherungsfonds des BdB, wurde Ende 2018 mit dem Zieltermin 1. Januar 2022 im Zuge des Verkaufs der ehemaligen Landesbank an eine Gruppe privater Investoren gestartet. Ebenfalls zum Jahresstart 2022 wird die HCOB in die gesetzliche Entschädigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken GmbH übergehen. Die zusätzliche freiwillige Mitgliedschaft im Einlagensicherungsfonds des BdB bietet einen über die gesetzliche Entschädigungseinrichtung hinausgehenden erhöhten Schutzumfang.