Bitcoin and banks: Competition? Collaboration!

April 2021 – Cryptocurrencies and especially Bitcoin are currently soaring. What does this mean for the future of the financial system and in particular the role of banks? HCOB's Chief Economist Dr. Cyrus de la Rubia has now responded in detail in the finance-scene podcast "Bitcoin, Fiat und Rock’n Roll".

Image Bitcoin

"Is it money, or is it a passing phenomenon?" asked Cyrus de la Rubia at the start of 2021, somewhat heretically, in his regular guest commentary for manager-magazin.de. His immediate answer: "no, this is not a passing phenomenon." Even if some currencies may disappear from the market again, de la Rubia is sure that cryptocurrencies are here to stay. "Bitcoin, or more specifically the technology it has brought into being, has a disruptive potential to a high degree," he says.

Bitcoin has also already arrived in the "real economy". Electric car pioneer Elon Musk announced at the beginning of 2021 that he would invest billions in cryptocurrency. And car company Tesla in the future will also accept customer payments in digital coinage for newly delivered vehicles. A few days ago, Coinbase, a trading platform for digital currencies, ventured onto the floor of the New York Stock Exchange – and it is already more valuable than the US technology exchange Nasdaq and the London Stock Exchange combined.

perfomance of a stock

Digital currencies offer many advantages

The advantages of digital currency are obvious: Bitcoin can be transferred directly from one user to another. Unlike existing payment systems, there is no intermediary such as a bank. "Far more revolutionary now, however, is the idea behind the Ethereum blockchain: Instead of the Bitcoin-Blockchain being specialized on payments Ethereum is a so called general purpose Blockchain, where all kinds of data can be stored, including digital contracts and assets, so-called Smart Contracts," says the Chief Economist at HCOB. Financial services from the old world – loans, payment transactions, stock exchange trading and identity management – are carried over to the new blockchain world. The promise is that the processes will become largely automated, more error-resistant and less labor-intensive. "Despite the abundance of projects, what is still missing is the catalyst to give the sector the impetus to get out of the niche. The planned digital euro could be such a catalyst," says de la Rubia.

De la Rubia has been working with Bitcoin since 2013. "Initially amazed to confused, then increasingly interested and impressed," says de la Rubia. He is one of the few who knows both worlds very well: that of traditional finance and that of digital currencies. Until now these two sectors have talked more about each other than with each other. For Cyrus de la Rubia it is different – and, due to his extensive knowledge of both worlds, he also has reassuring messages for all involved. "Bitcoin will become established in the long run – and could even take on an important role in international payments, for example. However, I do not believe that Bitcoin poses a threat for the business model of banks." Rather, the Chief Economist sees a great opportunity for banks to create an interface between the traditional finance and business world and the world of cryptocurrencies. One example being, that banks crypto-assets from their customers in secure custody.

In the "Bitcoin, Fiat und Rock’n Roll" podcast, de la Rubia speaks about this and more with digital money experts, Alexander Bechtel and Jonas Gross. And also on the subject of the enormously high energy consumption of cryptocurrencies. According to the "Cambridge Bitcoin Electricity Consumption Index" from the University of Cambridge, the Bitcoin system now consumes more electricity per year than all of Sweden. In mid-April 2021, that amounted to around 0.6 percent of global electricity consumption.

Alongside the energy consumption of Bitcoin, the episode also discusses blockchain technology in general and what role banks could play in the crypto-ecosystem. Is the blockchain a danger or an opportunity for banks? What potential does this technology have for the banking landscape?

stock prices

Dr. Cyrus de la Rubia

Economics

Phone: +49 40 3333-15260
Contact

Bitcoin und Banken: Konkurrenz? Kollaboration!

April 2021 – Kryptowährungen und allen voran Bitcoin erleben derzeit einen rasanten Aufschwung. Was bedeutet das für die Zukunft des Finanzsystems und vor allem die Rolle der Banken? HCOB-Chefvolkswirt Dr. Cyrus de la Rubia hat darauf jetzt im Finanzszene-Podcast „Bitcoin, Fiat und Rock’n Roll“ ausführlich geantwortet.

Bitcoin Logo auf einem Handy Display

„Ist das Geld, oder kann das weg?“ fragte Cyrus de la Rubia Anfang 2021 etwas ketzerisch in seinem regelmäßigen Gastkommentar auf manager-magazin.de. Die Antwort liefert er gleich hinterher: „nein, das kann nicht weg“. Auch wenn einzelne Währungen vielleicht wieder vom virtuellen Markt verschwinden werden, ist sich de la Rubia sicher: Die Kryptowährungen sind gekommen, um zu bleiben. „Bitcoin oder genauer gesagt die durch ihn ins Leben gerufene Technologie hat in einem hohen Maße disruptives Potenzial“, sagt er.

Längst ist der Bitcoin auch in der „realen Wirtschaft“ angekommen. E-Auto-Pionier Elon Musk kündigte Anfang 2021 an, einen Milliardenbetrag in Kryptowährung anzulegen. Und Autobauer Tesla will in Zukunft Kundenzahlungen für neu ausgelieferte Fahrzeuge auch in digitaler Münze akzeptieren. Vor wenigen Tagen dann wagte sich mit Coinbase eine Handelsplattform für digitale Währungen selbst auf das Parkett der New Yorker Börse – und ist bereits heute wertvoller als die US-Technologiebörse Nasdaq und die London Stock Exchange zusammen.

Diagramm eines Aktienverlaufs

Digitalwährungen bieten zahlreiche Vorteile

Die Vorteile der Digitalwährung liegen auf der Hand: Bitcoin kann direkt von einem Nutzer zum anderen übertragen werden. Es gibt also anders als im derzeitigen Zahlungssystem keinen Intermediär, wie etwa eine Bank. „Deutlich revolutionärer ist heute aber eher die Idee hinter der Ethereum-Blockchain: Statt der auf Zahlungen spezialisierten Bitcoin-Blockchain ist Ethereum eine so genannte general purpose Blockchain, auf der alle Arten von Daten gespeichert werden können, also auch digitale Verträge. Mit Hilfe dieser Smart Contracts können autonom laufende Geschäftsmodelle geschaffen werden“, sagt der Chefökonom der HCOB. Finanzdienstleistungen aus der alten Welt – Darlehen, Zahlungsverkehr, Börsenhandel und Identitätsmanagement – werden in die neue Blockchain-Welt übertragen. Das Versprechen ist, dass die Prozesse dadurch weitestgehend automatisiert, fehlerresistenter und weniger personalintensiv werden. „Trotz der Fülle an Projekten fehlt indes noch der Katalysator, der dem Sektor den Schub verleiht, um aus der Nische herauszukommen. Der geplante digitale Euro könnte ein derartiger Katalysator sein“, meint de la Rubia.

Seit 2013 beschäftigt sich de la Rubia mit dem Bitcoin. „Anfangs verwundert bis verwirrt, dann immer interessierter und beeindruckter“, so de la Rubia. Als einer der wenigen kennt er sich in beiden Welten erstklassig aus: der der klassischen Finanzen und der Digitalwährungen. Bis dato reden diese beiden Fraktionen mehr übereinander als miteinander. Bei Cyrus de la Rubia ist das anders – und er hat aufgrund seiner tiefen Kenntnis beider Welten auch beruhigende Botschaften für alle Beteiligten: „Der Bitcoin wird sich auf Dauer etablieren – und könnte etwa gerade bei internationalen Zahlungen noch eine wichtige Rolle einnehmen. Ich glaube aber nicht, dass Bitcoin für das Geschäftsmodell der Banken eine Bedrohung darstellt.“ Vielmehr sieht der Chefökonom für Banken eine große Chance darin, die Schnittstelle zwischen der traditionellen Finanz- und Geschäftswelt und der Welt der Kryptowährungen herzustellen. Ein Beispiel wäre, dass Banken ihren Kunden die Verwahrung von Kryptoassets anbieten.

Über diese und weitere Punkte spricht de la Rubia im Podcast „Bitcoin, Fiat und Rock’n Roll“ mit den Experten für digitales Geld Alexander Bechtel und Jonas Gross. Und auch über das Thema des immens hohen Energieverbrauchs von Kryptowährungen. Laut dem „Cambridge Bitcoin Electricity Consumption Index“ der Universität Cambridge verbraucht das Bitcoin-System inzwischen pro Jahr mehr Strom als ganz Schweden. Mitte April 2021 waren das rund 0,60 Prozent des weltweiten Stromverbrauchs.

Neben dem Energieverbrauch von Bitcoin geht es in der Episode auch um die Blockchain-Technologie im Allgemeinen und darum, welche Rolle Banken im Krypto-Ökosystem spielen könnten. Ist die Blockchain für Banken eine Gefahr oder Chance? Welches Potential hat diese Technologie für die Bankenlandschaft?

Aktienkurse werden auf einem Handy angezeigt

Dr. Cyrus de la Rubia

Economics

Telefon: 040 3333-15260
Zum Kontaktformular