9th German Diversity Day – HCOB shows its colors

May 2021 – Hamburg Commercial Bank understands work to be one thing above all: A question of diversity. On the “9th German Diversity Day” on May 18, the bank will naturally show its colors and commit to even more diversity in the workplace. Because diversity stands for equal opportunity and human rights as well as for economic success.

Diversity Day

It’s going to be a colorful May 18, especially on the internet. With the hashtags #GDD21, #FlagForDiversity and #DiversityUnites: It’s time to “show colors for diversity”. The "German Diversity Day" is taking place for the ninth time. The association “Charta der Vielfalt” (Diversity Charter) organizes this initiative. Hamburg Commercial Bank joined the Diversity Charter in 2020. With this voluntary commitment, HCOB pledges to ensure an unprejudiced working environment and equal opportunities for all. In doing so, she is in great and excellent company: almost 4,000 companies, institutions, academic and social organizations from Germany have now signed the charter.

"The topic of diversity is slowly getting the attention it deserves," Katrin Waechter is convinced. She has been Diversity Manager at HCOB since the beginning of this year - and, in her own words, is happy that "Hamburg Commercial Bank has been paying attention to this issue for some time now and has set itself the goal of getting even better in terms of diversity."

arms build a star

Diversity becomes a success factor for companies

The aim of the "Diversity Charter," whose patron is German Chancellor Angela Merkel, is to create a working environment in which all employees are valued and promoted equally, irrespective of nationality, ethnic and social origin, religion or ideology, mental and physical abilities, age, and sexual orientation and identity. It is about respect for the uniqueness of other people. The "Diversity Charter" is thus a commitment to living together without prejudice, for equal rights and represents a commitment to an open society. At the same time, successful diversity management offers a number of advantages and opportunities: A diverse environment promotes the adaptability of organizations to external circumstances and thus increases the chances of economic success.

This is confirmed by the results of the latest "Diversity Trends" study, for which the creators of the Diversity Charter surveyed 580 executives and HR managers throughout Germany on the subject of diversity management at the end of last year:

  • Two thirds of all companies in Germany see concrete advantages for themselves in diversity management. This includes, in particular, their appeal to existing and new employees, the openness of their organization and its ability to learn as well as the promotion of innovation and creativity.
  • 63 percent of companies expect diversity management to become even more relevant in future.
  • While only about a third of companies in Germany implement diversity management, companies like Hamburg Commercial Bank stand out for having signed the “Diversity Charter” and represent almost a third of employees in Germany. Of these, more than 80 percent are currently implementing diversity projects.

people hug each other

Equal opportunity means more than “women and men”

“The world is diverse. Companies and banks cannot hang onto traditional roles in society,” Waechter says. According to her, equal opportunity has long involved more than men and women. Giving women the same career opportunities and the same chances at all hierarchical levels in a bank, for example, is one thing. The other, the diversity manager continues, is the other facets of diversity: equal opportunities for people with different mental and physical abilities, for people with a migration background, different sexual orientations, different social roots or religious affiliations.

Working at Hamburg Commercial Bank is not a question of routine, but rather of diversity. And if that means being as colorful as on May 18 – all the better!

9. Deutscher Diversity-Tag –HCOB zeigt Flagge

Mai 2021 – Arbeit ist im Selbstverständnis der Hamburg Commercial Bank vor allem eines: eine Frage der Vielfalt. Selbstverständlich zeigt die Bank daher am „9. Deutschen Diversity-Tag“ am 18. Mai Flagge und bekennt sich zu noch mehr Vielfalt in der Arbeitswelt. Denn Diversität steht heute für Gleichberechtigung und Menschenrechte, aber auch für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg.

Diversity Day

Am 18. Mai wird es bunt, vor allem im Internet. Dann heißt es mit Hashtags wie #DDT2021, #FlaggefürVielfalt und #Vielfaltverbindet: „Flagge zeigen für Vielfalt“. Zum bereits neunten Mal findet der „Deutsche Diversity-Tag“ statt. Organisatorin ist der eingetragene Verein „Charta der Vielfalt“. 2020 hat sich die Hamburg Commercial Bank der „Charta der Vielfalt“ angeschlossen. Mit der Selbstverpflichtung bekennt sich die HCOB zu einem vorurteilsfreien Arbeitsumfeld und zu Chancengleichheit. Damit befindet sie sich in großer und bester Gesellschaft: Fast 4.000 Unternehmen, Institutionen, akademische und soziale Einrichtungen aus Deutschland haben die Charta inzwischen unterzeichnet.

„Das Thema Diversität erhält langsam die Aufmerksamkeit, die es verdient“, ist Katrin Waechter überzeugt. Sie ist seit Anfang dieses Jahres Diversity-Managerin bei der HCOB – und nach eigenen Worten glücklich darüber „dass die Hamburg Commercial Bank bereits seit längerer Zeit auf dieses Thema achtet und es sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, in Sachen Diversity immer noch ein Stück besser zu werden“.

Hände Bilden einen Stern

Diversität wird für Unternehmen zum Erfolgsfaktor

Das Ziel der „Charta der Vielfalt“, deren Schirmherrin Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel ist, lautet: ein Arbeitsumfeld zu schaffen, in dem alle Beschäftigten die gleiche Wertschätzung und Förderung erfahren, und zwar unabhängig von Nationalität, ethnischer und sozialer Herkunft, Religion oder Weltanschauung, geistigen und körperlichen Fähigkeiten, Alter sowie sexueller Orientierung und Identität. Es geht um den Respekt vor der Einzigartigkeit anderer Menschen. Die „Charta der Vielfalt“ ist damit ein Bekenntnis zu einem Zusammenleben ohne Vorurteile, für Gleichberechtigung und stellt ein Bekenntnis zu einer offenen Gesellschaft dar. Gleichzeitig bietet erfolgreiches Diversity-Management etliche Vorteile und Chancen: Ein vielfältiges Umfeld fördert die Anpassungsfähigkeit von Organisationen an äußere Umstände und erhöht so die Chancen auf den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg.

Das belegen die Ergebnisse der jüngsten Studie „Diversity Trends“, für die die Macher:innen der „Charta der Vielfalt“ Ende vergangenen Jahres deutschlandweit 580 Führungskräfte und Personalmanager:innen zum Thema Diversity-Management befragt haben:

  • Zwei Drittel aller Unternehmen in Deutschland verbinden mit Diversity-Management konkrete Vorteile für sich. Dazu zählen insbesondere die Attraktivität für bestehende und neue Beschäftigte, die Offenheit und Lernfähigkeit der Organisation sowie die Förderung von Innovation und Kreativität.
  • 63 Prozent der Unternehmen erwarten, dass Diversity-Management zukünftig noch stärker an Relevanz gewinnt.
  • Während bei den durchschnittlichen Unternehmen in Deutschland nur gut ein Drittel überhaupt Diversity-Maßnahmen umsetzt, stechen die Unternehmen heraus, die wie die Hamburg Commercial Bank die „Charta der Vielfalt“ unterzeichnet haben, und die für ein knappes Drittel aller Beschäftigten in Deutschland stehen. Hier setzen aktuell mehr als 80 Prozent weitere Diversity-Projekte um.

Menschen umarmen sich

Chancengleichheit bedeutet mehr als „Frauen und Männer“

„Die Welt ist divers, da können Unternehmen und Banken nicht an überholten Rollenbildern festhalten“, meint Waechter. Und beim Thema Chancengleichheit geht es nach ihren Worten längst nicht mehr allein um Frauen und Männer. Frauen dieselbe berufliche Teilhabe und dieselben Chancen auf allen Hierarchiestufen etwa einer Bank einzuräumen, sei das eine. Das andere, so die Diversity-Managerin weiter, seien die anderen Facetten des Themas Diversity: Chancengleichheit für Menschen mit unterschiedlichen geistigen und körperlichen Fähigkeiten, für Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund, unterschiedlichen sexuellen Orientierungen, verschiedenen sozialen Wurzeln oder religiösen Zugehörigkeiten.

Arbeit ist bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank keine Frage von Routine. Sondern eine von Vielfalt. Und wenn das dann so bunt wird wie am 18. Mai – umso besser!