Fiber-optic expansion: Coronavirus as a driver of digitalization

September 2021 The pandemic has had a profound impact on our work and lives. At the same time, however, the coronavirus has shown us how important the accelerated expansion of fast data lines is for the future of the European economy. Hopes are pinned primarily on fiber-optic technology. It is the subject of the FTTH Conference 2021 – the world’s largest fiber-optics event.

pink fiber optic cable

“Full fiber for a digital and sustainable Europe” is the motto of the two-day conference, which is being held virtually again this year. However, this is unlikely to impair the participation and intense debate between the speakers and visitors. There is a lot to talk about. There is certainly a lot of pride in what has been achieved. Without the existing fast networks, the European economy would not have come through the pandemic so well, and millions of people forced overnight to work from home would not have been able to work at all.

At the same time, however, the pandemic also shows that there is still a lot to be done in terms of broadband expansion and data speed. This is confirmed, for example, by “The Future of Work: Analyzing Global Broadband Trends”, a study conducted by the Fiber Council Global Alliance (FCGA) in July of this year. The FCGA brings together the six regional FTTH Councils from North America, Latin America, the Middle East and North Africa, Africa, Asia-Pacific, and Europe. The FTTH Council Europe is organizing this major conference in September.

computer on fiber optic cable

Study: One in two complains about sluggish data speeds

Key findings of the study: For 52 percent of the the study participants, the bandwidth (or lack of bandwidth) of their own Internet connection at home was the main obstacle when working from home. This applies to both downloading and uploading data. In the private sector alone, the FTTH Council Europe estimates that a fiber-optic connection can speed up downloads or uploads by a factor of ten compared to a conventional ADSL connection.

According to the study, the desire to work from home occasionally or even permanently even after the pandemic has passed has increased noticeably. Were it not for the technical hurdles, that is. This also applies especially to other applications such as telemedicine, which have been expanding rapidly since the spring of 2020 and are only being held back by the lack of information highways.

Workers on a street with Fiber-optic technology

FTTH Conference 2021: HCOB in the thick of things at the meeting of experts

The virtual FTTH Conference 2021 is all about these hurdles and how to overcome them with the help of fiber to the home. Vincent Garnier, Director General of the FTTH Council Europe, is looking forward to 20 workshops with experts, twelve conference sessions and keynote speeches, around 2,500 visitors from 1,000 companies, and more than 150 fiber-optic experts at C level from industry, the service sector and the banking world.

Hamburg Commercial Bank has played an active role at the fair for years. On the second day of the event, Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure at HCOB, will moderate a high-level panel on “What drives the current FTTH investment surge?”

HCOB was one of the first banks to finance fiber-optic projects in Europe and specializes in supporting companies on their growth path in this sector. The bank was investing in fiber-optic expansion long before the coronavirus. “This is now paying off. Our expertise is valued throughout Europe,” explains Inka Klinger One of Hamburg Commercial Bank’s latest accomplishments in the fiber-optic market occurred in the Iberian Peninsula in early summer 2021: On behalf of its long-standing client dstelecom, the bank structured the expansion financing that will enable Portugal’s leading private open-access fiber network operator to provide a total of one million connections.

Inka Klinger

Global Head Infrastructure Project Finance

Phone: +49 40 3333-11343
Fax: +49 40 3333-611343
Contact

Glasfaserausbau: Corona als Treiber der Digitalisierung

September 2021 – Die Pandemie hat das Arbeiten und Leben nachhaltig verändert. Zugleich aber hat Corona gezeigt, wie essenziell ein forcierter Ausbau schneller Datenleitungen für die Zukunft der europäischen Wirtschaft ist. Vor allem auf der Glasfasertechnologie ruhen dabei die Hoffnungen. Sie ist Thema der „FTTH Conference 2021“ – dem weltgrößten Event zum Thema Glasfaser.

Rosa Glasfaserkabel

„Full fibre for a digital and sustainable Europe“ lautet das Motto der zweitägigen Konferenz, die dieses Jahr erneut virtuell stattfindet. Das dürfte der Teilnahme und der Diskussionsfreude der Sprecher:innen und Besucher:innen aber keinen Abbruch tun. Es gibt eine Menge zu bereden. Dabei schwingt sicher viel Stolz auf das Erreichte mit. Ohne die vorhandenen schnellen Netze wäre die europäische Wirtschaft bislang nicht so gut durch die Corona-Zeit gekommen, ein Arbeiten von Millionen an Über-Nacht-Heimarbeiter:innen erst gar nicht möglich gewesen.

Zugleich aber zeigt die Pandemie auch: Es gibt noch eine Menge zu tun in Sachen Breitbandausbau und Datengeschwindigkeit. Das belegt etwa die Studie „The Future of Work: Analyzing Global Broadband Trends“, eine Studie der Fibre-To-The-Home Council Global Alliance (FCGA) aus dem Juli dieses Jahres. In der FCGA haben sich die sechs regionalen FTTH Councils aus Nordamerika, Lateinamerika, dem Mittleren Osten und Nordafrika, aus Afrika, Asien-Pazifik und Europa zusammengetan. Das FTTH Council Europe organisiert die große Konferenz im September.

PC an Glasfaser

Studie: Jede und jeder Zweite klagt über schleppende Datengeschwindigkeit

Zentrale Ergebnisse der Studie: Für 52 Prozent der Befragten in der Studie war die Breite (oder eben: fehlende Breite) des eigenen Internetanschlusses daheim das Haupthindernis im Homeoffice. Das betrifft sowohl das Down- als auch das Upload von Daten. Allein im privaten Bereich ermöglicht ein Glasfaseranschluss ein um den Faktor zehn erhöhtes Download oder Upload im Vergleich zum herkömmlichen ADSL-Anschluss, rechnet das FTTH Council Europe vor.

Der Wunsch, auch nach Ausklingen der Pandemie gelegentlich oder sogar dauerhaft von Zuhause aus zu arbeiten, ist laut der Untersuchung spürbar gestiegen. Wären da nicht die technischen Hürden. Das gilt auch und gerade für weitere Anwendungen wie die Telemedizin, die sich seit Frühjahr 2020 auf der Überholspur befinden und einzig durch fehlende Datenautobahnen ausgebremst werden.

Arbeiter beim Verlegen von Glasfaserkabel

FTTH Conference 2021: HCOB beim Expert:innen-Treffen mittendrin

Um genau diese Hürden beziehungsweise deren Überspringen mithilfe der im Englischen Fibre-to-the-Home genannten Glasfaser geht es auf der virtuellen FTTH Conference 2021. Vincent Garnier, Generaldirektor des Ausrichters FTTH Council Europe, freut sich über 20 Workshops mit Expert:innen, zwölf Konferenz-Sessions und Keynote-Reden, rund 2.500 Besucher:innen von 1.000 Unternehmen sowie mehr als 150 Glasfaser-Expert:innen auf „C-Level“ aus Industrie, Dienstleistung oder der Bankenwelt.

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank ist seit Jahren auf der Messe aktiv. Am zweiten Veranstaltungstag moderiert Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure bei der HCOB, ein hochrangig besetztes Panel zum Thema „What drives the current FTTH Investment surge?“

Die HCOB ist einer der ersten Finanzierer von Glasfaserprojekten in Europa und darauf spezialisiert, Unternehmen auf ihrem Wachstumspfad in diesem Sektor zu unterstützen. Schon lange vor Corona hat die Bank auf den Glasfaserausbau gesetzt. „Das zahlt sich jetzt aus. Unsere Expertise wird europaweit geschätzt", erklärt Inka Klinger. Einer der jüngsten Coups der Hamburg Commercial Bank auf dem Glasfasermarkt fand im Frühsommer 2021 auf der Iberischen Halbinsel statt: Im Auftrag ihres langjährigen Kunden dstelecom strukturierte die Bank die Ausbaufinanzierung, die es Portugals führendem privaten Open-Access-Glasfasernetzbetreiber ermöglichen wird, insgesamt eine Million Anschlüsse bereitzustellen.

Inka Klinger

Global Head Infrastructure Project Finance

Telefon: 040 3333-11343
Fax: 040 3333-611343
Zum Kontaktformular