Girls’ & Boys’ Day 2021: The early bird catches the worm

April 2021 – The world of finance and banking is open to all. This was the key message at the digital Girls’ and Boys’ Day 2021 hosted by the Hamburg Commercial Bank. The successful event also showed how big the local pool of talent is.

Girls and Boys Day Icon

This can be no coincidence. The “Girls’ and Boys’ Day 2021” at Hamburg Commercial Bank took place on April 22, the same day as “Earth Day”, the global day of sustainability. Not only is the financial business becoming increasingly green – and HCOB with it, such as by setting a good example in applying strict sustainability criteria to its lending practices – alongside this, the future of the planet and, in particular the banking business, is increasingly resting in female hands. The careers of women, and the promotion of female talent, have been subjects particularly close to HCOB’s heart for many years. With numerous support programs and initiatives, focusing in particular on combining family and career, Hamburg Commercial Bank has been a staunch advocate for its female employees.

Observations by HR experts at the bank unfortunately reveal that too few young women are interested in one of the numerous career options in the banking business – or they let themselves be deterred from the outset by perceived preconceptions about the male-dominated sector. It is precisely these preconceptions and mental obstacles that the Hamburg Commercial Bank would like to clear up with its “Girls’ and Boys’ Day”. The goal: To get both boys and girls interested in potentially embarking on a future career at the Hamburg Commercial Bank.

Twenty two school kids, lots of questions and a successful event

“The early bird catches the worm,” as the saying goes: The 22 school kids who, due to pandemic restrictions, were only able to get a taste of the bank virtually, were between 12 and 18 years old. The virtual nature of the event did not detract from its lively atmosphere: After a short round of introductions, the young guests watched a film which took them on a virtual tour around the bank. This allowed them to get to know the colorful, modern campus at HCOB, the conference halls over the roofs of Hamburg with a view over the Inner Alster, and the Management Board area with a roof terrace offering a view to Hamburg’s City Hall. In further short recordings, young experts introduced their areas of work in the Hamburg Commercial Bank.

The children and adolescents were also very interested in the short information session. This is where they found out about, for example, what money actually is, what a bank does all day, and how exactly real estate financing works. The children enthusiastically bombarded the bank experts in the chat with their questions throughout the morning. One child wanted to know: “What is a day at work in the bank like?” Another wanted to get to the bottom of the origin of the bank’s logo: “Where does the logo come from and why did you use these colors in particular?” When the time came to test their knowledge in a fun quiz, the kids were very keen and showed they had learned a lot.

Whether banker, lawyer or computer scientist, the children found out all about different roles in the bank, and which talents the Hamburg Commercial Bank will be looking for in the future. It’s a definite possibility that one or more have already discovered their dream career on this brief morning on Thursday, April 22, 2021.

Girls‘ & Boys‘ Day 2021: Früh übt sich

April 2021 – Die Welt der Finanzen und der Banken steht allen offen. Diese Botschaft stand im Mittelpunkt des digitalen Girls‘ & Boys‘ Day 2021 der Hamburg Commercial Bank. Die gelungene Veranstaltung zeigte zugleich, wie groß der Pool neuer Talente hierzulande ist.

Girls and Boys Day Logo

Das kann kein Zufall sein. Exakt am „Earth Day“, dem weltweiten Tag der Nachhaltigkeit am 22. April, fand auch der „Girls‘ & Boys‘ Day 2021“ der Hamburg Commercial Bank statt. Nicht nur, dass das Finanzgeschäft immer grüner wird und die HCOB dabei etwa mit strengen Nachhaltigkeitskriterien bei der Kreditvergabe mit gutem Beispiel vorangeht. Die Zukunft des Planeten und speziell des Bankgeschäfts ruht zunehmend auch in weiblicher Hand. Der HCOB liegen die Karrieren von Frauen und die Förderung weiblicher Talente seit Jahren besonders am Herzen. Mit zahlreichen Förderprogrammen und Initiativen besonders zur Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf unterstützt die Hamburg Commercial ihre weiblichen Beschäftigten intensiv.

Leider interessieren sich nach Beobachtungen der HR-Expert:innen der Bank immer noch zu wenige junge Frauen für eine der zahlreichen Karrieremöglichkeiten im Bankgeschäft – oder lassen sich von vermeintlichen Vorurteilen über die männerdominierte Branche im Vorfeld davon abschrecken. Genau mit diesen Vorurteilen und Blockaden im Kopf will der „Girls‘ & Boys‘ Day“ der Hamburg Commercial Bank aufräumen. Sein Ziel: Jungen und Mädchen gleichermaßen für einen möglichen späteren Einstieg bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank zu interessieren.

22 Schüler:innen, viele Fragen und ein gelungenes Event

„Früh übt sich, lautet dabei das Motto“: Die 22 Schüler:innen, die aus Pandemiegründen leider nur virtuell in die Bank reinschnuppern konnten, waren zwischen zwölf und 18 Jahren alt. Die Virtualität des Events tat seiner Lebendigkeit keinen Abbruch: Nach einer kurzen Willkommensrunde sahen die jungen Gäste einen Film, der sie auf einen virtuellen Rundgang durch die Bank mitnahm. Auf diese Weise lernten sie den bunten, modernen Campus der HCOB kennen, die Konferenzsäle über den Dächern Hamburgs mit Blick über die Binnenalster oder auch den Vorstandsbereich mit Dachterrasse mit Blick zum Hamburger Rathaus. In weiteren kurzen Einspielfilmen stellten junge Expert:innen ihre Arbeitsbereiche in der Hamburg Commercial Bank vor.

Auch an den kleinen Wissensrunden hatten die Kinder und Jugendlichen reges Interesse. Dort erfuhren sie beispielsweise, was eigentlich Geld ist. Was eine Bank so den ganzen Tag treibt. Und wie genau eine Immobilienfinanzierung abläuft. Begeistert löcherten die Kinder die anwesenden Bankexpert:innen im Chatkanal den Vormittag über mit ihren Fragen. Eine Schülerin wollte wissen: „Wie sieht der Berufsalltag in der Bank aus?“, ein anderer Schüler wollte dem Ursprung des Logos der Bank auf den Grund gehen: „Woher kommt das Logo, und warum habt Ihr genau diese Farben verwendet?“ Umgekehrt zeigten sich die Schüler:innen beim spielerischen Quiz sehr aufgeweckt und informiert.

Ob Bankkaufleute, Juristen oder Informatiker:innen: Die Kids erfuhren, wer alles bei einer Bank arbeitet. Und welche Talente die Hamburg Commercial Bank in Zukunft sucht. Gut möglich, dass an diesem kurzweiligen Vormittag am 22. April 2021 bereits die eine oder der andere ihren oder seinen Traumberuf entdeckt hat.