Investments in infrastructure: huge backlock

October 2021 – The coronavirus pandemic has shown that even in the developed countries of Europe, there is a huge investment backlog, especially where digital infrastructure is concerned. This pressing topic will be given a suitable stage at this year's "Infrastructure Investor – Global Summit 2021" in Berlin in mid-October. Hamburg Commercial Bank will play a central role.

Train

Smart infrastructure is the answer to several of the biggest challenges of our time: climate change, urbanization, demographic development and the scarcity of resources. In this context, technology is tasked with making life easier, safer, more pleasant and more sustainable. "Digitization facilitates the meaningful interconnection of previously separate areas such as power grids, buildings, factories and mobility. This makes optimal use of renewable energies, for example, and enables entirely new business models, such as the monetization of energy storage for grid stabilization," says Inka Klinger. She is Head of Project Finance at Hamburg Commercial Bank. From October 18 to 21, project finance experts from Hamburg Commercial Bank will attend the summit of the global infrastructure community in Berlin: the "Infrastructure Investor – Global Summit 2021".

Infrastructure

HCOB: First mover and innovator in infrastructure

For four days, everything in the German capital will revolve around the topic of global and, above all, digital infrastructure. The social aspect of the issue and sustainability will also be discussed in detail in the international high-level forums and panel discussions.

The need to catch up, especially in digital infrastructure, is immense. This applies both to the private as well as the public sector. German municipalities alone have accumulated an investment backlog of around 150 billion euros over the past few years. To clear this chronic underinvestment, Germany needs a public investment offensive: an additional 457 billion euros, or thereabouts, need be invested in Germany's public infrastructure over the next ten years. This is the result of a study conducted in June 2021 by the Deutsche Institut für Urbanistik (German Institute of Urban Studies, Difu) and the Macroeconomic Policy Institute of the Hans Böckler Foundation on behalf of the Friedrich Ebert Foundation, which is close to the SPD.

This means that financiers and implementation expertise are urgently needed. This is where the Hamburg Commercial Bank comes in. It sees itself as a first mover and innovator in the field of infrastructure investments, as Klinger puts it.

Infrastructure financing by asset class and region

HCOB: a leader in financing the expansion of fiber optic networks

Hamburg Commercial Bank has been involved in infrastructure projects since 1994. It is one of the top 15 financiers of infrastructure projects in Europe.
In mid-2021, for instance, it completed one of the most important infrastructure transactions in fiber-optic expansion on the Iberian Peninsula. On behalf of its long-standing client dstelecom, the bank structured the expansion financing that will enable Portugal's leading private open-access fiber network operator to provide a total of one million connections.

"Our top position in the market is an incentive for us to offer our customers the best solutions. This also means that we are constantly developing ourselves and are aware of the trends in the industry and help shape them," says Klinger, adding: "By means of numerous transactions, we are successfully involved in the expansion of broadband networks in Germany and in the development of data centers. Our experts are familiar with the megatrends for digital infrastructure and all aspects of power and energy, such as district energy, storage and waste-to-energy. Together with our customers, they are developing projects that will move thing forward."

Using optical fiber is more energy-efficient than using copper or VDSL. Fiber optic networks enable efficient expansion of the digital infrastructure in Europe. Transactions like the recent one in Portugal fit perfectly into the loan book of Hamburg Commercial Bank, which acts in accordance with established ESG criteria and screens all financing for sustainability and environmental compatibility.

Investitionen in Infrastruktur: großer Nachholbedarf

Oktober 2021 – Die Corona-Pandemie hat vor Augen geführt, dass auch in den entwickelten Ländern Europas großer Nachholbedarf vor allem bei der digitalen Infrastruktur herrscht. Auf dem „Infrastructure Investor - Global Summit 2021“ Mitte Oktober in Berlin bekommt dieses vordringliche Thema die passende Bühne. Die Hamburg Commercial Bank ist mittendrin.

Bahn

Eine intelligente Infrastruktur ist die Antwort auf gleich mehrere der größten Herausforderungen unserer Zeit: den Klimawandel, die Urbanisierung, die demografische Entwicklung und die Ressourcenknappheit. Die Technik hat dabei den Auftrag, das Leben einfacher, sicherer, angenehmer und nachhaltiger zu machen. „Die Digitalisierung ermöglicht es, bisher getrennte Bereiche wie Stromnetze, Gebäude, Fabriken und Mobilität sinnvoll miteinander zu vernetzen. So werden zum Beispiel erneuerbare Energien optimal genutzt und ganz neue Geschäftsmodelle, wie die Monetarisierung von Energiespeicherung zur Netzstabilisierung, ermöglicht“, sagt Inka Klinger. Sie ist Head of Project Finance der Hamburg Commercial Bank. Vom 18. bis 21. Oktober nehmen Expert:innen für Projektfinanzierung der Hamburg Commercial Bank am Gipfeltreffen der weltweiten Infrastruktur-Community in Berlin teil: dem „Infrastructur Investor – Global Summit 2021“.

Infrastruktur

HCOB: „First Mover und Innovator“ in Sachen Infrastruktur

Vier Tage lang dreht sich in der deutschen Hauptstadt alles um den Themenkomplex globale und vor allem digitale Infrastruktur. Auch die soziale Komponente des Themas und die Nachhaltigkeit werden in den international hochrangig besetzten Foren und Podiumsdiskussionen ausführlich diskutiert.

Der Nachholbedarf besonders bei der digitalen Infrastruktur ist immens. Das gilt für die Privatwirtschaft, aber auch die öffentliche Hand. Allein die deutschen Kommunen haben über die vergangenen Jahre einen Investitionsrückstand von rund 150 Milliarden Euro aufgebaut. Um diesen Investitionsstau aufzulösen, braucht Deutschland eine öffentliche Investitionsoffensive: Rund 457 Milliarden Euro müssten innerhalb der nächsten zehn Jahre zusätzlich in die öffentliche Infrastruktur Deutschlands investiert werden. Das ist das Ergebnis einer Studie vom Juni 2021 des Deutschen Instituts für Urbanistik (Difu) und des Instituts für Makroökonomie und Konjunkturforschung der Hans-Böckler-Stiftung im Auftrag der SPD-nahen Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung.

Finanzierer wie Umsetzungs-Know-how sind damit gefragt. Und hier kommt die Hamburg Commercial Bank ins Spiel. Sie versteht sich als „First Mover und Innovator“ auf dem Gebiet der Infrastrukturinvestments, wie es Inka Klinger formuliert.

Infrastrukturfinanzierungen nach Asset-Klassen und Regionen

HCOB: führend bei der Finanzierung des Ausbaus von Glasfasernetzen

Bereits seit 1994 engagiert sich die Hamburg Commercial Bank in Projekten der Infrastruktur. Sie gehört europaweit zu den Top 15 Finanzierern bei Infrastrukturprojekten.
Mitte 2021 hat sie beispielsweise eine der wichtigsten Infrastruktur-Transaktionen im Glasfaserausbau auf der iberischen Halbinsel abgeschlossen. Im Auftrag ihres langjährigen Kunden dstelecom strukturierte die Bank die Ausbaufinanzierung, die es Portugals führendem privaten Open-Access-Glasfasernetzbetreiber ermöglichen wird, insgesamt eine Million Anschlüsse bereitzustellen.

„Unsere Topposition am Markt ist für uns Ansporn, unseren Kundinnen und Kunden die besten Lösungen zu bieten. Dazu gehört auch, dass wir uns stetig weiterentwickeln und die Trends der Branche kennen und mitgestalten“, sagt Inka Klinger. Und ergänzt: „Wir engagieren uns mit zahlreichen Transaktionen erfolgreich am Ausbau der Breitbandnetze in Deutschland sowie bei der Entwicklung von Datencentern. Unsere Expertinnen und Experten kennen die Megatrends für digitale Infrastruktur sowie rund um Power und Energy, wie etwa District Energy, Storage oder auch Waste-to-Energy. Sie gestalten mit unseren Kundinnen und Kunden Projekte, die die Zukunft voranbringen.“

Der Einsatz von Glasfaser ist energiesparender als die Verwendung von Kupfer oder VDSL. Glasfasernetze ermöglichen einen effizienten Ausbau der digitalen Infrastruktur in Europa. Transaktionen wie jüngst in Portugal passen bestens in das Kreditbuch der Hamburg Commercial Bank, die ihr Handeln an etablierten ESG-Kriterien ausrichtet und sämtliche Finanzierungen auf Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltverträglich prüft.