Game, set and match, “Hamburg” – HCOB supported twelve days of top-class tennis

July 2021 – For the second time, Hamburg Commercial Bank has supported the ATP and WTA tennis tournament at the Am Rothenbaum tennis center. Some 21,000 spectators attended the Hamburg European Open. The men’s doubles delivered a German title winner.

Tsitsipas is sitting on a tennis bench

Credit: Alexander Scheuber / Hamburg European Open

Hamburg. Sometimes it takes two tries to achieve success. At least that’s how the Spaniard Pablo Carreno Busta might have thought during his first serve against the Serb player Filip Krajinovic, finishing the match 6:2, 6:4 after an hour and 22 minutes and securing the ATP tournament victory at the Hamburg European Open (HEO).
The final also marked the conclusion of twelve intense days of ATP and WTA tennis in Hamburg in 2021.

The clay-court classic at the Am Rothenbaum tennis center took place from June 7 to 18, supported for the second time by Hamburg Commercial Bank (HCOB). HCOB branding was to seen gracing the center court, match court M1 and the players’ benches.

For the first time in 19 years the HEO also again included a women’s tournament, part of the WTA tour „Tournament director Sandra Reichel has set new benchmarks with the Hamburg European Open, and the fact that this year, after almost two decades, the ladies are also once again playing in Hamburg is just great,” says Stefan Ermisch, CEO of HCOB.

Pablo Carreno Busta

Credit: Alexander Scheuber / Hamburg European Open

Tournament director Sandra Reichel also expressed her delight at the sponsorship by HCOB. „With this partnership, Hamburg Commercial Bank once again underlines its social commitment in its home region“.

Spaniard Pablo Carreno Busta took the men’s singles title in front of 3,500 spectators. For the player who is currently eleventh in the world rankings, this is the biggest title of his career . “When I came to Hamburg for the first time two years ago„ I immediately felt a special relationship with this tournament.”

The men’s doubles saw Frankfurt-born Tim Putze, with his New Zealand partner Michael Venus, prevail against the German/Romanian duo of Kevin Krawietz and Horia Tecau.

Andrea Petkovic

Credit: Alexander Scheuber / Hamburg European Open

Overall victory in the women’s doubles went to Yasmine Paolini from Italy and Jil Teichmann from Switzerland, against Astra Sharma from Australia and her partner Rosalie van der Hoek from the Netherlands.
Tournament ambassador and Germany hope Andrea Petkovic just missed out on victory in the final of the women’s singles against Romanian Elena-Gabriela Ruse.

Strict hygiene arrangements made it possible for around 21,000 spectators to attend the tennis tournament over several days at the Am Rothenbaum tennis center. They provided plenty of atmosphere, both on match court M1 and on the HCOB center court, as confirmed by title winner Pablo Carreno Busta. “My team and I felt very welcome at the tennis center and on this wonderful center court.”

The Hamburg European Open will be held from July 16 to 24 in 2022.

Elena-Gabriela Ruse

Credit: Alexander Scheuber / Hamburg European Open

Spiel, Satz und Sieg „Hamburg“ – HCOB unterstützte zwölf Tage Spitzentennis

Juli 2021 – Zum zweiten Mal unterstützte die Hamburg Commercial Bank das ATP- und WTA-Tennisturnier am Rothenbaum. Zu den Hamburg European Open kamen rund 21.000 Zuschauer:innen. Einen deutschen Titelgewinner gibt es im Herrendoppel.

Tsitsipas sitzt auf der Tennisbank

Credit: Alexander Scheuber / Hamburg European Open

Hamburg. Manchmal braucht es eben zwei Anläufe, um erfolgreich zu sein. So zumindest könnte es sich der Spanier Pablo Carreno Busta gedacht haben, als er am vergangenen Sonntag nach einer Stunde und 22 Minuten seinen ersten Matchball gegen den Serben Filip Krajinovic zum 6:2 und 6:4 Endstand nutzte und sich den ATP-Turniersieg der Hamburg European Open (HEO) sicherte.
Das Finale war gleichzeitig der Abschluss von zwölf intensiven ATP- und WTA-Tennistagen 2021 in Hamburg.

Vom 7. bis 18. Juli fand der Sandplatzklassiker am Rothenbaum statt, zum zweiten Mal unterstützt von der privaten Geschäftsbank Hamburg Commercial Bank (HCOB). Dabei zierte das HCOB-Branding den Center-Court, den Matchcourt M1 sowie die Spielerbänke.

Erstmals nach 19 Jahren gab es bei den HEO auch wieder ein Damenturnier der WTA-Tour. „Mit den Hamburg European Open hat Turnierdirektorin Sandra Reichel neue Maßstäbe gesetzt und dass in diesem Jahr – nach knapp zwei Jahrzehnten – auch die Damen wieder in der Hansestadt aufschlagen, ist wirklich klasse“, sagt Stefan Ermisch, CEO der HCOB.

Pablo Carreno Busta

Credit: Alexander Scheuber / Hamburg European Open

Die Freude über das Sponsoring der HCOB merkte man auch Turnierdirektoring Sandra Reichel an. „Mit dieser Partnerschaft unterstreicht die Geschäftsbank erneut ihr gesellschaftliches Engagement in ihrer Heimatregion“.

Im Herreneinzel sicherte sich der Spanier Pablo Carreno Busta den Turniersieg vor 3.500 Zuschauer:innen. Für den Weltranglisten elften ist es der bisher größte Titel seiner Karriere. „Als ich vor zwei Jahren das erste Mal hierher nach Hamburg kam, fühlte ich gleich eine besondere Beziehung zu diesem Turnier“.

Im Herrendoppel siegte der Frankfurter Tim Putze mit seinem neuseeländischen Partner Michael Venus gegen das deutsch-rumänische Duo Kevin Krawietz und Horia Tecau.

Andrea Petkovic

Credit: Alexander Scheuber / Hamburg European Open

Den Gesamtsieg im Damendoppel holten sich die Italienerin Yasmine Paolini und die Schweizerin Jil Teichmann gegen Astra Sharma aus Australien und ihre Partnerin Rosalie van der Hoek aus den Niederlanden.
Turnierbotschafterin und Deutschlandhoffnung Andrea Petkovic verpasste den Sieg im Finale des Dameneinzels nur knapp gegen die Rumänin Elena-Gabriela Ruse.

Ein strenges Hygienekonzept ermöglichte rund 21.000 Zuschauer*innen den Besuch beim mehrtägigen Tennisturnier am Rothenbaum, die für gebührende Stimmung sorgten – sowohl auf dem Matchcourt M1 sowie auf HCOB-Center-Court, wie Titelgewinner Pablo Carreno Busta berichtet. „Mein Team und ich haben uns auf der Anlage und diesem wunderbaren Center Court sehr wohl gefühlt“.

2022 finden die Hamburg European Open vom 16. bis 24. Juli statt.

Elena-Gabriela Ruse

Credit: Alexander Scheuber / Hamburg European Open