IBOR Reform

office building

September 2021 – This is considered one of the greatest changes to financial markets since the euro was introduced almost 20 years ago. Find out here what the reform is all about, how Hamburg Commercial Bank is preparing for this great change, and what this means specifically for bank clients.

Background

At the end of this year, we will say goodbye to familiar names such as USD-LIBOR and other what are known as IBOR reference interest rates. IBOR is the abbreviation for interbank offered rates – the interest rates that banks use to lend money to each other on the interbank market. They also serve as reference values for a wide variety of financial products that are tied to interest rates – from variable loans and bonds to mortgages to interest-rate derivatives.

IBOR tenors range from overnight to twelve months. These reference interest rates also exist in many different currencies. The very important role that IBORs still play can be seen by looking at the market volume of all the securities that involve IBORs. It amounts to around 400 trillion US dollars. The largest portion by far is represented by the reference rates USD-LIBOR. Other reference interest rates that are currently important are the British GBP-LIBOR, the Swiss CHF-LIBOR, the European EONIA and the Japanese JPY-LIBOR.

chart on a screen

IBORs have been subject to intense scrutiny - a lack of transparency in calculating IBORs has made them susceptible to manipulation and undermined trust in the interbank market.

The reform of the IBORs was initiated by the G20 because of this lack of transparency and the LIBOR scandal in 2011. The G20 consists of multiple parallel initiatives from supranational committees (G20, FSB), central banks and representatives of the banking sector. The goal of the reform is to develop and establish transparent, resilient reference interest rates to ensure that market actors can trust the reference interest rates. The end of the IBORs in the European Union was incorporated into law by the EU Benchmarks Regulation (EU-BMR) that has been in force since 2018. They are to be replaced by risk-free reference interest rates (RFRs).

The IBOR reform is bringing fundamental changes for markets and market participants as well as for Hamburg Commercial Bank, its market partners and its clients.

IBOR Reform
Ibor Reform 02
IBOR timeline

Changes to interest-rate calculation methods

The fundamental difference between the current IBORs and the new RFRs is that IBORs are forward rates. They are determined for various durations by panel banks based on expert estimations regarding the future interest rate performance of the interbank market.

However, the new RFRs are daily interest rates. They are determined based on real overnight transactions. This is why interest payments will no longer be fixed at the beginning, but will be fixed retrospectively at the end of an interest period. New calculation methods have been developed to be able to use RFRs for interest periods longer than one day as well.

ECB

What will be changing with risk-free rates?

Changes IBOR

IBOR transition

Comprehensive adjustments to the underlying infrastructure are necessary to change financial products that are tied to interest rates over to RFRs. This includes adjusting processes, methods and models to account for the different methodology of RFRs. It is also important to change existing IBOR-based contracts to RFRs.

Information for HCOB clients

Client Information

IBORs are being successively replaced by risk-free reference interest rates (RFRs) a decade after the LIBOR scandal and after years of intensive preparation.

The most important RFRs worldwide – SOFR, SONIA, €STR, SARON and TONA – are now available. The EURIBOR has also been reformed according to the requirements of the EU-BMR. Regardless of this, some portfolios of financial products that are tied to interest rates are still being quoted using the old IBORs. At the same time, IBOR-based transactions are still being made. The financial markets are currently in a transition phase where both the old IBORs and the new RFRs are being traded. Nevertheless, quotations of IBORs are being successively discontinued. GBP-/CHF-/JPY-/EUR-LIBORs will be discontinued as of the end of 2021. In the meanwhile, an extended period until the end of June 2023 applies to the main durations of O/N USD-LIBORs – 1-month, 3-month, 6-month and 12-month durations.

IBOR Reform

IBOR Reform

Client Information on IBOR reform

IBOR working group at HCOB is very well prepared

Hamburg Commercial Bank is well-positioned to enable a smooth transition for its clients. The IBOR experts at HCOB are actively involved in interbank IBOR working groups on changing to the new RFRs and is keeping an eye on relevant market developments. This enables us to efficiently deal with the challenges of transition and to flexibly react to current developments.

In compliance with recommendations from IBOR working groups, HCOB will gradually transition from LIBORs to RFRs for its existing portfolio – presumably by the end of 2020 for non-US dollar products and by the end of June 2023 for US dollar products. Any required contractual changes will be closely coordinated with the affected clients.

FAQ

What are IBORs?

IBORs (interbank offered rates) are the average interest rates that banks use to loan money to each other. The durations of the underlying loans range from overnight to up to twelve months. IBORs function as reference interest rates for financial products such as derivatives, variable loans or bonds that are tied to interest rates. They are very important to financial markets. Worldwide, IBOR-based financial products have a value of around 400 trillion US dollars. IBORs are available in various currencies. The most important IBORs are USD-LIBOR, EURIBOR, GBP-LIBOR, CHF-LIBOR, EUR-LIBOR, EONIA and TIBOR/JPY-LIBOR.

What is the IBOR reform?

The IBOR reform refers to changing reference rates from IBORs to risk-free rates (RFR) or alternative reference rates (ARR).

What is the status of the IBOR reform?

We are in a transition phase where both the old IBORs and the new RFRs are being traded. The most important RFRs worldwide (SOFR, SONIA, €STR, SARON and TONA) have been introduced. The EURIBOR has also been reformed according to the requirements of the EU-BMR. At the same time, portfolios of financial products tied to interest rates are being partially quoted using the old IBORs. There is also some new business that is based on old IBORs. Nevertheless, quotations of IBORs are being successively discontinued. By the middle of 2023, we expect to have discontinued quoting any IBORs. This is why IBOR working groups are recommending changing new and existing business to RFRs in a timely manner.

What will happen with the EURIBOR?

The EURIBOR was reformed, and its new calculation methodology is partially based on real transactions. It meets the requirements of the EU-BMR and can be used. It has not been clarified yet whether the EURIBOR will remain permanently.

Contact:

Hamburg Commercial Bank will keep you up-to-date about the further development of the IBOR reform.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us anytime at benchmark-reform@hcob-bank.com .

More information:

You can also find detailed information about the IBOR reform on the websites of the national IBOR working groups and industry organizations:

IBOR-Reform

Bürogebäude

September 2021 – Sie gilt als eine der größten Veränderungen im Finanzmarkt seit der Einführung des Euro vor knapp 20 Jahren. Erfahren Sie hier, was hinter der Reform steckt, wie sich die Hamburg Commercial Bank auf den großen Wandel vorbereitet und was das konkret für die Kund:innen der Bank bedeutet.

Hintergrund

Ende dieses Jahres heißt es: Abschied nehmen. Von vertrauten Größen wie dem EONIA und weiteren sogenannten IBOR-Referenzzinssätzen. IBOR ist das Kürzel für „Interbank Offered Rate“ – also jenen Zinsen, zu denen sich Banken auf dem Interbankenmarkt untereinander Geld leihen. Sie dienen zugleich als Referenzwerte für eine Vielzahl zinsgebundener Finanzprodukte – von variablen Krediten und Anleihen über Hypotheken bis hin zu börsengehandelten Derivaten.

Die Laufzeiten der IBORs reichen von Übernacht (overnight) bis hin zu zwölf Monaten. Die Referenzzinssätze gibt es zudem in vielen verschiedenen Währungen. Welch große Rolle die IBORs aktuell noch spielen, zeigt ein Blick auf das Marktvolumen aller Titel, die sich auf sie beziehen: Es beläuft sich auf rund 400 Billionen US-Dollar. Davon entfällt der mit Abstand größte Anteil auf die Referenzrate USD-LIBOR. Weitere wichtige Referenzzinssätze sind der britische GBP-LIBOR, der Schweizer CHF-LIBOR, der europäische EURIBOR bzw. EONIA und der japanische JPY-LIBOR.

Grafik am Computer

IBORs stehen in der Kritik. Die mangelnde Transparenz der panel-basierten Berechnung hat IBORs anfällig gemacht für Manipulationen und das Vertrauen im Interbankenmarkt beeinträchtigt.

Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde – anlässlich des LIBOR-Skandals in 2011 – die Reform der IBORs durch die G20 angestoßen. Sie besteht aus mehreren gleichgerichteten Initiativen von supranationalen Gremien (G20, FSB), Zentralbanken und Vertretern des Bankensektors. Ziel der Reform ist, transparente sowie resiliente Referenzzinssätze zu entwickeln und zu etablieren, um das Vertrauen der Marktakteure in die Referenzzinsätze sicherzustellen. Mit der seit 2018 gültigen EU-Benchmark-Verordnung (EU-BMR), wurde das Ende der IBORs in der Europäischen Union gesetzlich verankert. Sie sollen ersetzt werden durch Risiko-Freie Referenzzinssätze (RFRs).

Die IBOR-Reform bringt grundlegende Veränderungen für Märkte und Marktteilnehmer mit sich – und damit auch für die Hamburg Commercial Bank, ihre Marktpartner und ihre Kund:innen.

IBOR Reform
Ibor Reform 02
IBOR Zeitstrahl

Methodische Veränderungen der Zinsberechnung

´Der fundamentale Unterschied zwischen den bisherigen IBORs und den neuen RFRs: IBORs sind Terminzinssätze. Sie werden durch Panel-Banken auf Basis von Expertenschätzungen bezüglich der zukünftigen Zinsentwicklung des Interbankenmarkts für verschiedene Laufzeiten bestimmt.

Die neuen RFRs dagegen sind Tageszinssätze. Sie werden auf Basis realer Overnight-Transaktionen bestimmt. Zinszahlungen werden daher nicht mehr zu Beginn, sondern erst rückwirkend am Ende einer Zinsperiode fixiert. Um RFRs auch für Zeitperioden von länger als einem Tag verwenden zu können, wurden neue Berechnungsmethoden entwickelt.

EZB

Was verändert sich mit Risk-Free-Rates?

Veränderung Risk Free Rates

IBOR-Transition

Die Umstellung zinsgebundener Finanzprodukte auf RFRs erfordert umfassende Anpassungen der zugrunde liegenden Infrastruktur. Unter anderem müssen Prozesse, Methoden und Modelle angepasst werden, um der veränderten Methodik der RFRs Rechnung zu tragen. Daneben gilt es, die bestehenden IBOR-basierten Kontrakte auf RFRs umzustellen.

Informationen für HCOB-Kunden

Kunden Informationen

Eine Dekade nach dem LIBOR-Skandal und nach Jahren intensiver Vorbereitungen werden IBORs sukzessive durch risikofreie Referenzzinssätze (RFRs) ersetzt.

Die global wichtigsten RFRs – SOFR, SONIA, €STR, SARON und TONA – sind inzwischen verfügbar. Zudem wurde der EURIBOR gemäß den Anforderungen der EU-BMR reformiert. Dessen ungeachtet quotieren Bestände zinsgebundener Finanzprodukte zum Teil noch auf den alten IBORs. Gleichzeitig werden nach wie vor IBOR-basierte Geschäfte abgeschlossen. Mithin befinden sich Finanzmärkte gegenwärtig in einer Übergangsphase, in der sowohl die alten IBORs als auch die neuen RFRs gehandelt werden. Gleichwohl laufen die Quotierungen der IBORs sukzessive aus. GBP-/CHF-/JPY-/EUR-LIBORs werden per Ende 2021 eingestellt. Derweil gilt für den Hauptlaufzeiten des USD-LIBORs – O/N, 1-Monat, 3-Monate, 6-Monate und 12-Monate – eine verlängerte Frist bis Ende Juni 2023.

IBOR-Reform

Die IBORs werden sukzessive bis Mitte 2023 abgelöst durch RFRs

IBOR Reform

HCOB ist gut auf die neuen RFRs vorbereitet

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank ist gut vorbereitet, ihren Kund:innen einen reibungslosen Übergang zu ermöglichen. In bankübergreifenden IBOR-Arbeitsgruppen arbeiten die IBOR-Expert:innen der HCOB aktiv an der Umstellung auf die neuen RFRs und hat relevante Marktentwicklungen im Blick. Dadurch können wir effizient mit Herausforderungen der Umstellung umgehen und flexibel auf aktuelle Entwicklungen reagieren.

In Übereinstimmung mit Empfehlungen einschlägiger IBOR-Arbeitsgruppen wird HCOB das Bestandsgeschäft rechtzeitig vor dem Wegfall der Quotierungen Schritt für Schritt von LIBORs auf RFRs überführen. Dabei gegebenenfalls erforderliche Vertragsänderungen werden eng mit den betroffenen Kund:innen abgestimmt.

FAQ

Was sind IBORs?

Was sind IBORs?

IBORs (Interbank Offered Rates) sind durchschnittliche Zinssätze, zu denen Banken sich untereinander Geld leihen. Die Laufzeiten der zugrunde liegenden Kredite reichen von Übernacht bis zu zwölf Monaten. IBORs fungieren als Referenzzinssätze für zinsgebundene Finanzprodukte, zum Beispiel Derivate, variable Kredite oder Anleihen. Als solche sind sie für den Finanzmarkt von zentraler Bedeutung. Weltweit haben IBOR-basierte Finanzprodukte einen Wert von rund 400 Billionen US-Dollar. IBORs sind für verschiedene Währungen verfügbar. Zu den wichtigsten IBORs gehören USD-LIBOR, EURIBOR, GBP-LIBOR, CHF-LIBOR, EUR-LIBOR, EONIA und TIBOR/JPY-LIBOR.

Was ist die IBOR-Reform?

Die IBOR-Reform bezeichnet die Umstellung der Referenzraten von IBORs auf Risk Free Rates (RFR) beziehungsweise Alternative Reference Rates (ARR).

Was ist der Stand der IBOR-Reform?

Wir befinden uns in einer Übergangsphase, in der sowohl die alten IBORs als auch die neuen RFRs gehandelt werden. Die global wichtigsten RFRs (SOFR, SONIA, €STR, SARON und TONA) sind eingeführt worden. Zudem wurde der EURIBOR gemäß den Anforderungen der EU-BMR reformiert. Gleichzeitig quotieren Bestände zinsgebundener Finanzprodukte zum Teil auf den alten IBORs. Darüber hinaus gibt es partiell Neugeschäft auf Basis alter IBORs. Gleichwohl laufen die Quotierungen der IBORs sukzessive aus. Bis Mitte 2023 wird die Einstellung der Quotierungen sämtlicher IBORs erwartet. Daher empfehlen IBOR-Arbeitsgruppen, zeitnah Neu- und Bestandsgeschäft auf RFRs umzustellen.

Was passiert mit dem EURIBOR?

Der EURIBOR wurde reformiert – seine neue Berechnungsmethodik basiert zum Teil auch auf realen Transaktionen. Er erfüllt die Anforderungen der EU-BMR und kann somit angewendet werden. Ob der EURIBOR dauerhaft bestehen bleibt, ist nicht geklärt.

Kontakt:

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank wird Sie über die weitere Entwicklung der IBOR-Reform auf dem Laufenden halten.

Mit zwischenzeitlich auftretenden Fragen können Sie sich jederzeit gern über benchmark-reform@hcob-bank.com an uns wenden.

Weiterführende Informationen:

Detaillierte Informationen zur IBOR-Reform finden Sie zusätzlich auf den Webseiten der nationalen IBOR-Arbeitsgruppen und Industrieorganisationen: