HCOB Art Foundation supports the “sinn.vor.ort”

October 2021 – For almost 30 years now, Hamburg Commercial Bank’s Art Foundation has been supporting contemporary fine arts and culture in Schleswig-Holstein. The work never felt more important than today. A new project in Pinneberg in October showed how art can help put the Corona pandemic behind us.

literature

The public space has to be rediscovered and reinvigorated. This is the central idea behind the “sinn.vor.ort” project, which took place over a total of three weekends in October in Pinneberg near Hamburg. The Pinneberg Museum and the art group“feine menschen” (subtle people) wanted to conquer the public space of Pinneberg around the Drosteiplatz with their art and thus revitalize it. “Through this action, both the respective specific local history and contemporary developments of our society are expressed, and their particular relevance is examined,” says Ina Duggen-Below, Director of Pinneberg Museum. After the completion of the actions, the museum director is highly satisfied: "I am very happy about the new perspective on Pinneberg that the artists have brought in.

installation

Hamburg Commercial Bank with a long tradition of supporting the arts

This project was supported by the Art Foundation of the Hamburg Commercial Bank. The HCOB promotes contemporary fine arts and culture in Schleswig-Holstein through its Art Foundation, which was established in 1992 by LB Kiel.

The foundation allows a curator to develop and implement an art program that corresponds to the foundation’s main objective – above all, supporting young, talented artists. Getting started in this profession, which is associated with a great deal of insecurity, requires a lot of courage and a strong, helping hand.

„The exciting thing about this project is the stimulation of a physical debate about art and space. It’s about how one positions one’s self in space, which activates the perception and elicits an immediate reaction of the beholder.t“

Angela Krzykowski & Nicole Neumann, HCOB Art Foundation Board of Directors

Focus on supporting young art

With the performance artist Sabrina Schuppelius, who earned her Master's degree at the Muthesius Academy of Fine Arts in Kiel in 2019, such a young talent was active at the kick-off in Pinneberg on October 2. In her opening performance "An bei", Schuppelius used choreographic walking to re-experience the movements and flows of urban space. Public space was taken for granted and considered secondary by many of us in the past. Now it has to be made accessible to the public once again.

The four artists from “feine menschen” also played their part. The art group is known for its actions in which they subtly question assumptions about public space and address its social relevance in a straightforward fashion.

“The exciting thing about this project is the stimulation of a physical debate about art and space. It’s about how one positions one’s self in space, which activates the perception and elicits an immediate reaction of the beholder,” say Angela Krzykowski and Nicole Neumann from the HCOB Art Foundation Board of Directors.

In total, 28 artists were involved in the overarching performance over all three October weekends, including the creative writing group “Der Schnipsel” (the scrap of paper) and the sculptor Oskar Schroeder.

Kunststiftung der HCOB fördert „sinn.vor.ort“

Oktober 2021 – Seit nunmehr knapp 30 Jahren unterstützt die Kunststiftung der Hamburg Commercial Bank zeitgenössische bildende Kunst und Kultur in Schleswig-Holstein. Gefühlt war die Arbeit nie wichtiger als heute. Ein neues Projekt in Pinneberg zeigt, wie Kunst dabei helfen kann, die Corona-Pandemie hinter uns zu lassen.

Aufgeschlagenes Buch vor rosa Wand

Der öffentliche Raum muss wiederentdeckt und neu belebt werden. Das ist die zentrale Idee hinter dem Projekt „sinn.vor.Ort“, das am 2. Oktober in Pinneberg bei Hamburg anläuft. Das Pinneberg Museum und die Kunstgruppe „feine Menschen“ wollen dabei an insgesamt drei Oktoberwochenenden den öffentlichen Raum Pinnebergs rund um den Drosteiplatz mit ihrer Kunst erobern und damit neu beleben. „Durch die Aktionen wird sowohl der jeweils spezifischen Lokalgeschichte als auch den zeitgenössischen Entwicklungen unserer Gesellschaft Ausdruck verliehen und ihre jeweilige Relevanz hinterfragt“, sagt Ina Duggen-Below, Leiterin des Museums Pinneberg.

Installation an der Wand

Hamburg Commercial Bank mit langer Tradition bei der Kunstförderung

Unterstützt wird das Projekt durch die Kunststiftung der Hamburg Commercial Bank. Die HCOB fördert über ihre 1992 von der LB Kiel gegründete Kunststiftung die zeitgenössische bildende Kunst und Kultur in Schleswig-Holstein. Die Stiftung ermöglicht es einem Kurator, ein dem Stiftungszweck entsprechendes Kunstprogramm zu erarbeiten und umzusetzen.

Im Kern des Stiftungszwecks geht es dabei vor allem um die Förderung junger, talentierter Künstlerinnen und Künstler. Besonders der Start in diesen so erfüllenden wie ebenso mit vielen Unwägbarkeiten verbundenen Beruf erfordert Mut und eine starke, fördernde Hand.

„Das Spannende an diesem Projekt ist die Förderung der physischen Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst und Raum. Es geht um die eigene räumliche Verortung des Menschen, welche die Wahrnehmung aktiviert und eine unmittelbare Reaktion der Betrachtenden hervorruft.“

Angela Krzykowski & Nicole Neumann, Vorstände der HCOB Kunststiftung für Schleswig-Holstein

Förderung junger Kunst im Vordergrund

Mit der Performance-Künstlerin Sabrina Schuppelius, die 2019 ihren Master an der Muthesius Kunsthochschule in Kiel erwarb, ist ein solches junges Talent in Pinneberg am 2. Oktober aktiv. In ihrer Auftakt-Performance „An bei“ will Schuppelius durch choreografisches Gehen die Bewegungen und Abläufe des städtischen Raums neu erfahrbar machen. Ein Raum, den viele für uns in den vergangenen Jahren als zu selbstverständlich, oft als nebensächlich betrachtet haben und den es jetzt wieder für die Gemeinschaft zu erschließen gilt.

Auch die vier Künstler:innen von „feine menschen“ wollen ihren Teil dazu beitragen. Die Kunstgruppe ist bekannt für ihre Aktionen, mit denen sie feinsinnig die Selbstverständlichkeit des öffentlichen Raums infrage stellt sowie niedrigschwellig dessen gesellschaftliche Relevanz thematisiert.

„Das Spannende an diesem Projekt ist die Förderung der physischen Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst und Raum. Es geht um die eigene räumliche Verortung des Menschen, welche die Wahrnehmung aktiviert und eine unmittelbare Reaktion der Betrachtenden hervorruft“, sagen Angela Krzykowski und Nicole Neumann aus dem Vorstand der Kunststiftung der HCOB.

Insgesamt sind 28 Künstler:innen an der Gesamt-Performance an allen drei Oktoberwochenenden beteiligt, darunter auch die Kreativschreibgruppe „Der Schnipsel“ und der Bildhauer Oskar Schroeder.