Accelerated KYC process: How Hamburg Commercial Bank digitally onboards its corporate clients

February 2021 – Before any new corporate client relationship can begin, an immense amount of bureaucracy needs to be dealt with. Hamburg Commercial Bank is now using an innovative digital hub to minimize the time this takes, in some cases reducing onboarding times down to one working day.

Man with an ipad in a office

Today’s finance business is one thing above all else: highly regulated. In the worst case scenario, it can take several weeks, if not months, to onboard new corporate clients. The primary reason that regulatory authorities set their requirements so immensely high is the fight against international money laundering. However, for the vast majority of law-abiding corporate clients, the legally required Know Your Client (KYC) verification process repeatedly becomes a test of patience when entering into new banking relationships – taking up valuable time that no company can afford to lose in today's fast-moving markets.

Is it even possible to reconcile the understandable desire of banking supervisory authorities for accuracy with the desire of banks and their clients for fast onboarding? The simple answer is: yes. With their digital onboarding process in the Commercial Bank, for around two years now, the experts at Hamburg Commercial Bank have been proving that the KYC process can be notably accelerated.

Two people work on a whiteboard

70 percent faster onboarding

Whether they be new or existing clients, treasurers of medium-sized domestic and international companies have been able to use a digital solution for onboarding and the KYC process since spring 2019. This makes opening accounts in particular significantly easier. "Our secure cloud solution can accelerate the KYC process by up to 70 percent," says Jan Sojka, Head of the Digital Excellence Center (DEC) at Hamburg Commercial Bank. When performed digitally, onboarding can be completed in as little as one working day.

Companies wishing to use Hamburg Commercial Bank's digital solution don’t have to fulfill any special IT system requirements. "clients simply receive a request from us along with a link to an upload portal, where can then easily upload their data," says Sojka. The big advantage: "The days of media discontinuities between the analog and digital worlds are over."

According to Sojka, this not only benefits corporate clients, but also the bank itself. "The new centralized onboarding platform has massively simplified our back-end processes and made them much more efficient than they were in the past," says the HCOB digital expert.

Guy works on a laptop

Beschleunigter KYC-Prozess: Wie die Hamburg Commercial Bank ihre Firmenkunden digital an Bord holt

Februar 2021 – Vor dem Start jeder neuen Firmenkundenbeziehung steht eine immense Bürokratie. Durch ein innovatives Digital Hub reduziert die Hamburg Commercial Bank diese Zeitspanne nun auf ein Minimum. Das Onboarding kann so auf bis zu einen Arbeitstag verkürzt werden.

Mann mit iPad im Büro

Das Finanzgeschäft von heute ist vor allem eines: stark reguliert. Beim Onboarding neuer Firmenkunden können im schlimmsten Fall mehrere Wochen, wenn nicht gar Monate vergehen. Vor allem die Anforderungen der Regulationsbehörden sind hoch, damit vor allem der internationalen Geldwäsche ein Riegel vorgeschoben wird. Für die überragende Mehrheit der lauteren Unternehmenskunden wird die rechtlich notwendige Prüfung beim „Know your customer“ (KYC) genannten Prozess bei der Aufnahme neuer Bankbeziehungen aber immer wieder zur Geduldsprobe – sie verlieren wertvolle Zeit, die in den schnell drehenden Märkten von heute kaum noch ein Unternehmen aufbringen kann.

Lassen sich die nachvollziehbaren Wünsche der Bankaufseher nach Genauigkeit mit dem Wunsch der Banken und ihrer Kunden nach Tempo beim Onboarding überhaupt vereinen? Kurze Antwort: ja. Seit nunmehr rund zwei Jahren beweisen die Expertinnen und Experten der Hamburg Commercial Bank mit ihrem digitalen Onboarding-Prozess im Commercial Bank, dass sich der KYC-Prozess deutlich beschleunigen lässt.

Zwei Menschen arbeiten an einem Whiteboard

70 Prozent mehr Tempo beim Onboarding

Treasurer von mittelständischen Unternehmen aus dem In- und Ausland – sowohl von Neu- als auch Bestandskunden – können seit Frühjahr 2019 eine digitale Lösung für das Onboarding und den KYC-Prozess nutzen. Besonders Kontoeröffnungen werden so massiv vereinfacht. „Durch unsere sichere Cloud-Lösung lässt sich der KYC-Prozess um bis zu 70 Prozent beschleunigen“, sagt Jan Sojka, Leiter des Digital Excellence Center (DEC) der Hamburg Commercial Bank. Auf digitalem Weg ist das Onboarding innerhalb eines Arbeitstages möglich.

Unternehmen, die die digitale Lösung der Hamburg Commercial Bank nutzen möchten, müssen IT-systemseitig keine besonderen Voraussetzungen erfüllen. „Die Kunden bekommen nur noch eine Anfrage von uns zusammen mit einem Link für ein Upload-Portal. Dort können sie dann ganz einfach ihre Daten hochladen“, sagt Sojka. Der große Vorteil: „Die Zeit der Medienbrüche zwischen analoger und digitaler Welt sind vorbei.“

Davon profitieren nach Sojkas Worten nicht nur die Unternehmenskunden, sondern auch die Bank selbst. „Unsere Prozesse im Backend sind durch die neue zentralisierte Onboarding-Plattform verglichen mit der Vergangenheit um Längen einfacher und damit effizienter geworden“, freut sich der Digitalexperte der HCOB.

Person arbeitet am Computer