Corona: Digitalization drivers for banks

March 2021 – The Corona pandemic is intensifying the pressure on established banks to reinvent themselves and, above all, to reposition themselves digitally. Hamburg Commercial Bank is taking good advantage of the opportunities that this offers. She has proven in recent years that she masters "change."

two women talking in the office

Before Corona, the topic of "disruption" was often a fine vocabulary for smart forum conversations. With the pandemic, the end of which is far from foreseeable, the starting position has changed fundamentally. Change is here, it stays, and it changes disruptively and, above all, sustainably existing products, processes and business models. And it is clear that even with the presence of vaccines and effective drugs against the virus, there will be no return to the status quo ante. The economy is a process of progress, not a return to the familiar.

Just as it seems unlikely that, after surviving the pandemic, all people from their home offices will make their way back to inner-city office towers on clogged roads and in crowded commuter trains, so little will companies be able to seamlessly build on their pre-crisis work. Hybrid models will determine the future: this applies to working in the office and at home. But also for future business models of companies and banks.

Man looks at his smartphone

"The comparatively small size and specialisation in certain areas of banking and particularly promising industries is becoming a real competitive advantage for a house like ours, especially when it comes to digitalization issues."

Jan Sojka, Head of Digital Excellence Center at the Hamburg Commercial Bank

A lot of tradition means legacy

The latter have been undergoing fundamental change for years: new competitors, the fintechs, are pushing into the market and often making life easier for the established with synergies, but also harder through new competition. In addition, there is increasingly tighter regulation. A symbolic example of this is the information provided by the client, which a bank advisor has to document at a wealth advisory service: in the past, a DIN-A-4 sheet was sufficient for this; today, the form stack has felt the thickness of a phone book from the eighties.

Above all, however, the industry is driving digitalization forward. Or digitalization the industry. Depending on your point of view. This process has now experienced a new dynamic with and through Corona. tradition. But sometimes it is also a millstone in the effort to reinvent itself. Germany's incumbent banks are usually aware of the need to modernize their IT structures. The problem is that unlike a fintech that can dare to restart on the green field without technical and legal legacy, German banks and savings banks not only have significantly more employees and more customers, but also an x-dimensional IT landscape built up over decades and thus a lot of legacy.

However, in order to be able to map and, above all, use the advances in digitalization, a fundamental system change is often necessary – a complex and expensive undertaking. Especially for banks, which, unlike HCOB, have to manage a large branch network. "The comparatively small size and specialisation in certain areas of banking and particularly promising industries is becoming a real competitive advantage for a house like ours, especially when it comes to digitalization issues," says Sojka.

Jan Sojka

Jan Sojka, Head of Digital Excellence Center at the Hamburg Commercial Bank

The working environment of employees in many banks is currently often still characterized by systems and processes from a past business world. "The resulting pressure to act has now reached the industry nationwide; However, there is still a way to go before implementation," says Sojka.

An important building block is the cloud-based Modern WorkplaceThe benefits of moving processes to the cloud, which are usually manual, fragmented and not optimized for the customer experience, are undisputed for the digitalization of banks. 78 percent of the respondents to the "Cloud Monitor 2020" of the auditing and consulting company KPMG attested to cloud computing a "large" to "rather large" contribution to digitalization. Cloud computing then contributes the most to improving collaboration between departments and the IT department, say 70 percent of respondents, while 69 percent see a large share in the digitization of internal processes. According to the KPMG survey, the next stage of cloud computing has already ignited: for many cloud users, the next development step is to merge their existing IT solutions as part of a "multi-cloud concept".

But for all the euphoria, in Sojka's words, complying with the applicable legal and regulatory requirements is a not to be underestimated expense item in the IT transformation. It is not a question of porting all the applications and functions available in the current workplace to the cloud in the status quo. This would not be suitable to achieve demanding IT transformation goals, nor would it exploit the possibilities of cloud use. Rather, it is a matter of consistently reducing complexity and optimizing the (customer) benefits.

Modern Workplace as the Key to the New World

The introduction of the Modern Workplace based on Microsoft 365/Azure is an important building block of the IT transformation of the HCOB. In addition to cloud-based elements, legacy on existing server-based applications (On Premises) is made available virtualized. But the transformation of traditional infrastructure is also being driven by the Modern Workplace, such as the replacement of landline telephones with computer-aided telephony (softphones) and the replacement of a single signon card with multi-factor authentication.

News at the "Bankingclub" | German edition

Corona: Digitalisierungstreiber für Banken

März 2021 – Die Corona-Pandemie verschärft den Handlungsdruck auf etablierte Banken, sich neu zu erfinden und vor allem digital neu aufzustellen. Die Hamburg Commercial Bank nutzt die sich daraus bietenden Chancen beherzt. Sie hat bereits in den vergangenen Jahren bewiesen, dass sie „Change“ beherrscht.

Zwei Frauen diskutieren in einem Büro

Vor Corona war das Thema „Disruption“ häufig eine wohlfeile Vokabel für kluge Forengespräche. Mit der Pandemie, deren Ende längst noch nicht abzusehen ist, hat sich die Ausgangslage grundlegend verändert. Der Wandel ist da, er bleibt, und er verändert disruptiv und vor allem nachhaltig bis dato bestehende Produkte, Prozesse und Geschäftsmodelle. Und klar ist: Auch mit dem Vorhandensein von Impfstoffen und wirksamen Medikamenten gegen das Virus wird es keine Rückkehr zum Status quo ante gehen. Wirtschaft ist ein Fortschrittsprozess, keine Rückkehr zum Gewohnten.

Ebenso wie es wenig wahrscheinlich erscheint, dass sich nach überstandener Pandemie alle Menschen aus den Heimbüros auf verstopften Straßen und in überfüllten Pendlerzügen wieder auf den Weg in die innerstädtischen Bürotürme machen, so wenig werden Unternehmen nahtlos an ihr Schaffen vor der Krise anknüpfen können. Hybride Modelle werden die Zukunft bestimmen: Das gilt fürs Arbeiten im Büro und Daheim. Aber auch für künftige Geschäftsmodelle von Unternehmen und Banken.

Mann bedient sein Smartphone

„Die vergleichsweise geringe Größe und die Spezialisierung auf bestimmte Bereiche des Bankings und besonders aussichtsreiche Branchen wird für ein Haus wie unseres gerade bei Digitalisierungsthemen zum echten Wettbewerbsvorteil.“

Jan Sojka, Head of Digital Excellence Center der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Viel Tradition gleich viel Legacy

Letztere befinden sich bereits seit Jahren in einem fundamentalen Wandel: Neue Wettbewerber, die Fintechs, drängen auf den Markt und machen den Etablierten das Leben bei Synergien oft leichter, durch neuen Wettbewerb aber auch härter. Hinzu kommt eine immer verschärftere Regulatorik. Sinnbildliches Beispiel dafür sind die Informationen des Kunden, die ein Bankberaterbei einer Vermögensberatung zu dokumentieren hat: Früher genügte dafür ein DIN-A-4-Blatt; heute hat der Formularstapel gefühlt die Dicke eines Telefonbuchs aus den Achtzigerjahren.

Vor allem aber treibt die Branche die Digitalisierung voran. Oder die Digitalisierung die Branche. Je nach Sichtweise. Dieser Prozess hat mit und durch Corona nun eine neue Dynamik erfahren. Tradition verpflichtet. Doch mitunter ist sie auch ein Mühlstein beim Bemühen, sich neu zu erfinden. Deutschlands etablierte Banken wissen in der Regel um die Notwendigkeit, ihre IT-Strukturen zu modernisieren. Das Problem dabei: Anders als ein Fintech, das auf der grünen Wiese den Neustart ohne technische und rechtliche Altlasten wagen kann, verfügen deutsche Banken und Sparkassen nicht nur über wesentlich mehr Beschäftigte und mehr Kunden, sondern auch über eine in Jahrzehnten aufgebaute, x-dimensionale IT-Landschaft und damit viel Legacy.

Um jedoch die Fortschritte bei Digitalisierung abbilden und vor allem nutzen zu können, ist oft ein grundlegender Systemwechsel notwendig – ein aufwändiges und teures Unterfangen. Besonders für Banken, die anders als die HCOB, ein großes Filialnetz managen müssen. „Die vergleichsweise geringe Größe und die Spezialisierung auf bestimmte Bereiche des Bankings und besonders aussichtsreiche Branchen wird für ein Haus wie unseres gerade bei Digitalisierungsthemen zum echten Wettbewerbsvorteil“, sagt Sojka.

Foto Jan Sojka

Jan Sojka, Head of Digital Excellence Center der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Die Arbeitsumgebung der Beschäftigten in vielen Banken ist aktuell oft noch geprägt von Systemen und Abläufen aus einer vergangenen Geschäftswelt. „Der daraus resultierende Handlungsdruck ist mittlerweile flächendeckend in der Branche angekommen; bis zur Umsetzung ist allerdings noch ein Weg zu gehen“, meint Sojka.

Ein wichtiger Baustein dabei ist der Cloud-basierte Modern WorkplaceDer Nutzen einer Verlagerung meist manueller, fragmentierter und nicht auf das Kundenerlebnis optimierter Prozesse in die Cloud ist für die Digitalisierung von Banken unumstritten. 78 Prozent der Befragten beim „Cloud-Monitor 2020“ der Prüfungs- und Beratungsgesellschaft KPMG bescheinigten dem Cloud-Computing einen „großen“ bis „eher großen“ Beitrag an der Digitalisierung. Am stärksten trägt Cloud-Computing danach zur Verbesserung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Fachbereichen und IT-Abteilung bei, sagen 70 Prozent der Befragten, 69 Prozent sehen einen großen Anteil bei der Digitalisierung interner Prozesse. Die nächste Stufe des Cloud-Computing ist laut KPMG-Umfrage bereits gezündet: Für viele Cloud-Nutzer besteht der nächste Entwicklungsschritt darin, ihre bestehenden IT-Lösungen im Rahmen eines „Multi-Cloud-Konzepts“ zusammenzuführen.

Doch bei aller Euphorie stellt das Einhalten der geltenden gesetzlichen und regulatorischen Anforderungen nach Sojkas Worten einen nicht zu unterschätzenden Aufwandsposten bei der IT-Transformation dar. Es gehe nicht darum, alle am bisherigen Arbeitsplatz verfügbaren Anwendungen und Funktionen im Status quo in die Cloud zu portieren. Das wäre weder geeignet, anspruchsvolle IT-Transformationsziele zu erreichen, noch würde es die Möglichkeiten der Cloudnutzung ausschöpfen. Es gehe vielmehr darum, konsequent Komplexität zu reduzieren und den (Kunden-)Nutzen zu optimieren.

Modern Workplace als Schlüssel zur neuen Welt

Die Einführung des Modern Workplace auf Basis von Microsoft 365/Azure ist ein wichtiger Baustein der IT-Transformation der HCOB. Hier wird zusätzlich zu cloudbasierten Elementen auf vorhandenen Server-basierten Anwendungen (On Premises) befindliche Legacy virtualisiert zur Verfügung gestellt. Aber auch die Transformation klassischer Infrastruktur wird durch den Modern Workplace vorangetrieben, zum Beispiel der Ersatz von Festnetztelefonen durch computergestützte Telefonie (Softphone) sowie der Ersatz einer Single-SignOn-Karte durch eine Multifaktor-Authentifizierung.

Beitrag im "Bankingclub"