Climate change initiatives increasingly important for banks

July 2021 – The Hamburg Commercial Bank (HCOB) has officially joined the 'Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials' (PCAF), a globally active initiative for the standardized measurement and disclosure of greenhouse gas emissions in the financial sector.

green red abstract eye on pink background

It just became obvious on the West coast of Canada what adjustments people around the world are having to make and what the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) at the United Nations is insistently warning about. In their most recent draft report, researchers are outlining that global warming by two degrees will expose a further 420 million people to the risk of heat waves. In addition to this, there are the consequences of extreme weather events such as droughts and floods.

This shows that climate change has tangible consequences which have an impact on society and the economy. This is something that the financial sector has long recognized. In a current survey of member banks of the Federal Association of German Banks, 89 percent responding saying that they are expecting climate change to also have an impact on the financial sector within the next ten years. Their conclusion: Greater climate protection is only possible with the help of banks.

But how can the financial sector act to mitigate the risks associated with the climate crisis? Increased financing of sustainable investments and the offer of sustainable investment products is a very good place to start. But what impact do these measures actually have? How can banks adapt to future levies for greenhouse gas emissions and decarbonization in their risk management and investment decisions?

green leaf on pink background

To answer these questions transparently, the Hamburg Commercial Bank has joined the Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials (PCAF). The globally active initiative is developing standards to measure and disclose climate-relevant emissions for the financial sector. This ensures that companies participating in PCAF are taking the first step to evaluate climate-related risks, define goals in line with the Paris Climate Agreement and develop effective strategies for decarbonization.

“By joining the PCAF initiative, we are emphasizing the importance that the subject of sustainability plays in our organization. The methodology enables financial institutions around the world to measure the emissions associated with their business activity and to disclose it,” says Daniel Roth, Head of Strategy & Transformation at the Hamburg Commercial Bank. “The goal is to have a consistent and comparable database to enable monitoring of progress in reducing greenhouse gas emissions.”

While the method of determining the emissions of individual companies or projects is largely standardized, what is known as 'Financed Emissions', that is, the emissions at a portfolio level, have so far been identified using various approaches which deliver results that are hard to compare. With participants in the financial sector market now using a consistent and harmonized process of the PCAF approach, the level of comparability will be greater. “We will use the resulting transparency to better improve our own sustainability strategy and support our customers with the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions,” says Daniel Roth

The PCAF standard has already started to be implemented around the globe. With some 140 banks and investors around the world, PCAF members represent managed assets of more than 43 billion US dollars. In Germany, the Hamburg Commercial Bank is one of the pioneers. It plans to disclose the emissions identified using the PCAF methodology within three years.

Initiativen zum Klimaschutz für Banken immer wichtiger

Juli 2021 – Die Hamburg Commercial Bank (HCOB) hat sich offiziell der ‚Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials‘ (PCAF) angeschlossen, einer global tätigen Brancheninitiative zur standardisierten Messung und Offenlegung von Treibhausgas-Emissionen für den Finanzsektor.

grün-rotes abstraktes Auge auf rosa Grund

An der Westküste Kanadas war jüngst zu beobachten, worauf sich die Menschen weltweit einstellen müssen und wovor der Weltklimarat der Vereinten Nationen (IPCC) eindringlich warnt. In ihrem jüngsten Berichtsentwurf skizzieren die Forscher, dass eine Erderwärmung um zwei Grad, weitere 420 Millionen Menschen dem Risiko von Hitzewellen aussetzen würde. Hinzu kommen Konsequenzen durch Wetterextreme wie Dürren und Überschwemmungen.

Das zeigt: Der Klimawandel hat spürbare Folgen, die Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft belasten. Das hat auch die Finanzwelt längst erkannt. In einer aktuellen Umfrage unter Mitgliedsbanken des Bundesverbands deutscher Banken antworteten 89 Prozent, dass sie in den kommenden zehn Jahren mit Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auch auf die Finanzbranche rechnen. Ihr Fazit: Mehr Klimaschutz geht nur mit den Banken.

Aber wie kann der Finanzsektor handeln, um die mit der Klimakrise verbundenen Gefahren zu mildern? Die vermehrte Finanzierung von nachhaltigen Investitionen und das Angebot von nachhaltigen Anlageprodukten sind ein sehr guter Anfang. Doch welchen Effekt haben diese Maßnahmen tatsächlich? Und wie können Banken in Zukunft Erhebungen zu Treibhausgasemissionen und Dekarbonisierung in ihrem Risikomanagement und bei Investitionsentscheidungen berücksichtigen?

grünes Blatt auf rosa Hintergrund

Um diese Fragen transparent zu beantworten, hat sich die Hamburg Commercial Bank der Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials (PCAF) angeschlossen. Die global tätige Brancheninitiative entwickelt Standards zur Messung und Offenlegung von klimarelevanten Emissionen für den Finanzsektor. Auf diese Weise unternehmen die PCAF-Teilnehmer einen ersten Schritt, um klimabezogene Risiken zu bewerten, Ziele im Einklang mit dem Pariser Klimaabkommen festzulegen und wirksame Strategien zur Dekarbonisierung zu entwickeln.

„Mit dem Beitritt zur PCAF-Initiative unterstreichen wir die Bedeutung, die das Thema Nachhaltigkeit für unser Haus hat. Die Methodik ermöglicht es Finanzinstituten weltweit, die mit ihren Geschäften verbundenen Emissionen zu messen und offenzulegen“ sagt Daniel Roth, Leiter Strategie & Transformation der Hamburg Commercial Bank. „Das Ziel ist eine konsistente und vergleichbare Datenbasis, um ein Monitoring der Fortschritte bei der Reduzierung des Treibhausgas-Emissionen zu ermöglichen.“

Während die Ermittlung der Emissionen einzelner Unternehmen oder Projekte bereits weitgehend vereinheitlicht ist, wurden die sogenannten ‚Financed Emissions‘, also die Emissionen auf Portfolio-Ebene bis her mit verschiedenen Ansätzen ermittelt, die wenig vergleichbare Ergebnisse lieferten. Indem Marktteilnehmer der Finanzbranche mit dem PCAF-Ansatz nun ein konsistentes und harmonisiertes Verfahren nutzen, steigt die Vergleichbarkeit. „Wir werden die entstehende Transparenz nutzen, um unsere eigene Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie weiter zu verbessern und unsere Kunden bei der Reduzierung von Treibhausgas-Emissionen zu unterstützen“, sagt Daniel Roth.

International beginnt sich der PCAF-Standard bereits durchzusetzen. Mit rund 140 Banken und Investoren weltweit repräsentieren die PCAF-Mitglieder ein verwaltetes Vermögen von mehr als 43 Billionen US-Dollar. In Deutschland gehört die Hamburg Commercial Bank mit zu den Vorreitern. Sie plant, die mittels der PCAF-Methodik ermittelten Emissionen spätestens nach drei Jahren offenzulegen.