New upwind expected: HCOB study on the potential of corporate PPAs

February 2021 – The growing business with power purchase agreements (PPAs) has experienced setbacks caused by the coronavirus crisis. However, the long-term outlook for this special energy segment, in which individual companies conclude direct supply contracts with wind or solar parks, is promising. A study now published by the Hamburg Commercial Bank highlights the future of PPAs.

barrels on a pallet

A look at the raw data is sobering at first. A total of 1.8 gigawatt of Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) were signed in 2020, whereby solar power was the strongest green energy source for the first time. In the previous year, the figure was 2.5 gigawatts and in 2018 at least 2.3. But the decline in 2020 did not mark a permanent trend reversal for the fairly new and very specialized energy segment of PPAs, as the recently published study update “Corporate PPA. Green electricity for corporate consumers” from HCOB shows.

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic can be felt

The Covid-19 pandemic has hit the PPA market on more than just the supply side, where many projects have been and are being pushed back as investors take cover for now. “The pandemic has also had a significant influence on the demand side. This is because the prices of electricity in Europe dropped drastically, and buyers were acting more cautiously due to the dynamic developments during the pandemic,” said Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure at HCOB.

windmill on a rapeseed field

At the same time, the bank's analysts see good long-term prospects for power purchase agreements. The trend towards sustainability and therefore also green electricity continues unabated. It is not only companies and their employees, but customers who are taking an ever more critical look at their carbon footprint and increasingly opting for renewable energy sources. However, since classic providers are rarely able to satisfy these demands with the power mix they offer, individual power purchase agreements are an innovative solution as a link in the chain between the green electricity sources and the buyers.

What is innovative here is that, instead of buying the green electricity – as was previously already possible – “anonymously” via the market, PPAs offer a direct relationship between the electricity-producer and his buyer of the green energy. This is made possible by various forms of supply and purchase agreements – from direct contracts to forwarding contracts to virtual power purchase agreements – between an energy provider and an energy consumer.

"For us, sustainability also means being future-proof, which is why we are happy to provide expertise to our customers in this forward-looking sector.”

Dr. Nicolas Blanchard, Chief Clients and Products Officer at the Hamburg Commercial Bank

“Because of the clear fall in state subsidies safeguarding of revenue for electricity producers via long-term power purchase agreements are ever more important. The challenge now is for the individual projects, with their wide-ranging time spans and the various underlying conditions, to find exactly the right PPA partner,” says Klinger.

This is precisely where the Hamburg Commercial Bank comes in. “We support our customers by bringing them together with institutional investors and banking partners. We have been active in project financing for sustainable energy production for decades and are therefore perfectly connected in the industry,” says Dr. Nicolas Blanchard, Chief Clients and Products Officer at the Hamburg Commercial Bank. In his view, PPAs continue to be an important growth market “because they increasingly enable companies to cover their energy requirements with renewable energies. For us, sustainability also means being future-proof, which is why we are happy to provide expertise to our customers in this forward-looking sector.”

factory building

Revised EU regulation facilitates sales and brings further potential

Sweden, Norway, the UK, Spain and Finland currently dominate the PPA market in Europe. In Germany, the business is still in its infancy. “But the trend is clear: the costs of generating electricity from solar or wind power projects in Germany are continuing to drop, and with the continuously growing demand from companies for green electricity, it's only a matter of time before PPAs pick up speed.”

The European Union renewable energy guideline “RED II” should provide for a further upswing in Germany as well. This gives alternative energy sources additional impetus to actually implement the ambitious climate goals in Europe by the middle of this century. “From this year, RED II will remove the final hurdles that have been standing in the way of direct marketing for green energy using PPAs,” says the expert Klinger.

Neuer Aufwind erwartet: HCOB-Studie zum Potenzial von Corporate PPAs

Februar 2021 – Das wachsende Geschäft mit Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) hat durch die Corona-Krise einen Dämpfer erhalten. Langfristig bleiben die Aussichten für dieses besondere Energiesegment, bei dem einzelne Unternehmen direkte Lieferverträge mit Wind- oder Solarparks abschließen, aber aussichtsreich. In ihrem jetzt veröffentlichten Studien- beleuchtet die Hamburg Commercial Bank die Zukunft der PPAs.

Fässer auf einer Palette

Der Blick auf die nackten Zahlen ist erst einmal ernüchternd. 2020 wurden europaweit Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) im Gesamtvolumen von rund 1,8 Gigawatt unterzeichnet – dabei erstmals mit der Solarkraft als stärkster grüner Kraftquelle. Im Vorjahr waren es noch 2,5 Gigawatt gewesen, 2018 immerhin 2,3 Gigawatt. Doch der Rückgang 2020 markiert keine dauerhafte Trendumkehr auf dem recht jungen und speziellen Energiesegment der PPAs, wie das Studien-Update „Corporate PPA. Green electricity for corporate consumers” der HCOB zeigt.

Auswirkungen durch COVID-19-Pandemie spürbar

Die Covid-19-Pandemie hat den PPA-Markt nicht nur auf der Angebotsseite getroffen, wo viele Projekte in die Zukunft verlagert wurden und werden, weil Investoren erst einmal in sichere Deckung gehen. „Auch auf der Nachfrageseite hat die Pandemie das PPA-Geschäft deutlich beeinflusst. Denn die Elektrizitätspreise in Europa sind stark gesunken, und die Abnehmer agieren aufgrund der dynamischen Entwicklung während der Pandemie zurückhaltender“, sagt Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure bei der HCOB.

Windrad auf einem Rapsfeld

Gleichwohl sehen die Analysten der Bank langfristig gute Aussichten für die Stromabnahmevereinbarungen. Der Trend zur Nachhaltigkeit und damit auch zu grünem Strom ist ungebrochen: Nicht nur Unternehmen und ihre Mitarbeiter*innen, auch die Kunden hinterfragen den CO2-Fußabdruck immer kritischer und setzen verstärkt auf erneuerbare Energiequellen. Da jedoch klassische Versorger mit ihrem angebotenen Strom-Mix diesen Wünschen selten nachkommen können, sind individuelle Stromabnahmevereinbarungen als Bindeglied zwischen der grünen Stromquelle und dem Abnehmer eine innovative Lösung.

Das Neue dabei: Statt den grünen Strom – wie bisher bereits möglich – „anonym“ über den Markt zu kaufen, gibt es bei PPAs eine direkte Beziehung zwischen Strom-Produzenten und seinem Abnehmer. Möglich machen das verschiedene Formen von Liefer- und Abnahmeverträgen – von direkten Kontrakten über Durchleitungsverträge bis hin zu virtuellen Stromabnahmeverträgen.

„Nachhaltigkeit heißt für uns auch Zukunftsfähigkeit, daher stehen wir unseren Kunden in diesem Zukunftssektor gern mit Know-how und Expertise zur Seite"

Dr. Nicolas Blanchard, Chief Clients und Products Officer der Hamburg Commercial Bank

„Wegen der deutlich rückläufigen staatlichen Subventionen wird für die Stromproduzenten eine Ertragsabsicherung durch langfristige Stromkaufvereinbarungen immer wichtiger. Die Herausforderung besteht nun darin, für die individuellen Vorhaben, mit ihren diversen Laufzeiten und den unterschiedlichen Rahmenbedingungen, den exakt passenden PPA-Partner zu finden“, sagt Klinger.

Genau hier kommt die Hamburg Commercial Bank ins Spiel. „Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden, indem wir sie mit Projektentwicklern, institutionellen Investoren und Bankenpartnern zusammenbringen. Bereits seit Jahrzehnten sind wir in der Projektfinanzierung für nachhaltige Energieerzeugung aktiv und daher bestens in der Branche vernetzt“, sagt Dr. Nicolas Blanchard, Chief Clients and Products Officer der Hamburg Commercial Bank. PPAs bleiben aus seiner Sicht ein wichtiger Wachstumsmarkt, „denn sie ermöglichen es den Unternehmen, ihren Energiebedarf immer stärker über erneuerbare Energien zu decken. Nachhaltigkeit heißt für uns auch Zukunftsfähigkeit, daher stehen wir unseren Kunden in diesem Zukunftssektor gern mit Know-how und Expertise zur Seite“.

Farikgebäude

Überarbeitete EU-Verordnung erleichtert Vertrieb und bringt weiteres Potenzial

Schweden, Norwegen, Großbritannien, Spanien und Finnland dominieren derzeit noch den Markt für PPAs in Europa. In Deutschland steckt das Business noch in den Kinderschuhen. Aber der Trend ist der Studie zufolge eindeutig: „Die Kosten für die Stromgewinnung aus Solar- oder Windkraftprojekten in Deutschland sinken weiter. Und mit der zugleich weiterwachsenden Nachfrage von Unternehmen nach grünem Strom ist es nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis sich PPAs durchgesetzt haben.“

Für weiteren Auftrieb auch in Deutschland dürfte die Erneuerbare-Energie-Richtlinie „RED II“ der Europäischen Union sorgen. Diese gibt alternativen Energieträgern weiteren Vortrieb, um die ambitionierten Klimaziele in Europa bis zur Mitte dieses Jahrhunderts in die Tat umsetzen zu können. „RED II sollte ab diesem Jahr die letzten vorhandenen Hürden bei der direkten Vermarktung von grüner Energie mithilfe von PPAs aus dem Weg räumen“, meint Expertin Klinger.