SmartFact: Particularly smart factoring

October 2021 – Now that the COVID-19 pandemic is abating in many corners of the world, global trade is starting to flourish again: But given the economic uncertainties and some currency turbulence, German commercial enterprises should play it safe where financing is concerned. The “SmartFact” product offering from Hamburg Commercial Bank offers valuable assistance with this.

crows

If one thing is definitely certain, it’s that nothing is certain any longer. If it wasn’t obvious before, the outbreak of the COVID-19 crisis in spring 2020 and the subsequent sudden crash of the real economy around the globe showed how fragile many supply chains were up to that point. The accident involving the giant container ship “Ever Given” in the Suez Canal in the spring of this year provided further, very vivid confirmation of the suspicion that the stability of supply chains is far from being able to keep pace with the speed of globalization.

Trade: The fear of impending payment delays or even defaults

There will never be 100% certainty in commercial life. Risks lie in wait wherever opportunities are on offer. German commercial enterprises who have been doing business successfully around the world for years or even decades know all about this. But they also know that certain risks, which cannot be excluded completely, can at least be minimized to a large extent. Not least, such risks include faltering or even entirely absent payments from customers abroad. Such a circumstance can cause liquidity bottlenecks for many small and medium-sized enterprises if they themselves expend money and deliver the goods – but then are not recompensed for this adequately or within a tolerable timeframe.

person is working on a laptop

Factoring: Turning future receivables into immediate funds

In such cases, assistance can be provided by means of the sale of receivables through factoring. The basic idea is that commercial enterprises receive cash immediately from the factoring company and accept a specific clear deduction in return, which is paid out again when the buyer subsequently settles the debt. This ensures that companies remain solvent at all times, can use the income to finance new business, protect their balance sheets, and save themselves some bridging loans. In the shape of “SmartFact,” Hamburg Commercial Bank can offer its customers a particularly sophisticated product. It can be used for all commercial transactions involving individual receivables or receivables pools with a volume in excess of ten million euros or U.S. dollars and with terms from one year. Browser-based management enables extremely convenient handling for customers.

Advance financing for payment periods of up to 180 days

One of the most recent deals to be concluded was for BdV Behrens GmbH from Hamburg. This owner-managed SME is increasingly trading in Central and Latin America in the chemical, food, and pharmaceuticals industries on the basis of U.S. dollars. Due to the immense delivery distances alone, payment periods are longer than average at up to 180 days. “Our customer had increased financing requirements thanks to positive business and sales prospects. Factoring is the ideal instrument for such growth periods to ensure the company retains enough working capital,” says Jan Schubert, a factoring specialist at Hamburg Commercial Bank.

Like many commercial enterprises, in order to ensure sufficient working capital, BdV Behrens requires both receivables financing and enough capital to purchase goods and make the required down payments. In this case, the latter was partially funded by other banks to date, meaning that the “SmartFact” offering had to be incorporated in coordination with this group of financers.

What we appreciate about factoring via Smart Fact is the possibility of being able to generate liquidity for new business at very short notice on the basis of our complex and diversified receivables portfolio, in parallel with conventional financing," says Christoph Marquardt, Managing Director of BdV Behrens. And adds: "The practical handling in day-to-day business, the timely processing of all transactions and the possibility of flexible, individual adjustments of the program to our needs give us additional leeway.

Jan Schubert and his colleagues are particularly proud of three things: “First, we were able to purchase receivables in U.S. dollars and euros from more than 40 countries in export markets of relevance for BdV Behrens. Second, the associated payment transactions were handled from a single source and third, payment was on time despite the COVID-19 crisis and the various lockdowns in all parts of the world.”

Would you like further information on this subject? We would be happy to advise you.

André Niewels

Senior Vice President

Phone: 040 3333-10410
Contact

SmartFact: Factoring auf die besonders clevere Weise

Oktober 2021 – Mit dem Abflauen der Corona-Pandemie in vielen Ecken der Welt blüht der weltweite Handel wieder auf: Doch angesichts wirtschaftlicher Unwägbarkeiten und mancher Devisenstürme sollten deutsche Handelsunternehmen bei der Finanzierung auf Nummer sicher gehen. Das Produktangebot „SmartFact“ der Hamburg Commercial Bank leistet dabei wertvolle Hilfe.

Krähne

Wenn eines mit Sicherheit sicher ist, dann das nichts mehr sicher ist. Spätestens der Ausbruch der Corona-Krise im Frühjahr 2020 und der darauffolgende jähe Einbruch der Realwirtschaft rund um den Globus haben gezeigt, wie fragil viele Lieferketten bis dato geknüpft waren. Die Havarie des Containerriesen „Ever Given“ im Suezkanal im Frühjahr dieses Jahres war eine weitere, sehr bildhafte Bestätigung für die Vermutung, dass die Stabilität der Supply Chains bei Weitem nicht mehr mit dem Tempo der Globalisierung mithalten kann.

Handel: Damoklesschwerter Zahlungsverzug oder gar -ausfall

Eine 100-prozentige Sicherheit wird es im Handelsleben niemals geben. Wo Chancen winken, lauern stets auch Risiken. Gerade deutsche Handelsfirmen, die seit Jahren oder Jahrzehnten erfolgreich Geschäfte in aller Welt machen, wissen darum. Sie wissen aber auch zugleich, dass sich bestimmte Risiken wenn nicht komplett ausschließen, so doch wenigstens weitgehend minimieren lassen. Dazu gehören nicht zuletzt stockende oder gar komplett wegbrechende Zahlungen von Kunden im Ausland. Viele mittelständische Handelsunternehmen kann das in Liquiditätsengpässe bringen, wenn sie selbst in Vorleistung gehen und die Waren ausliefern – dann aber nicht dafür in angemessener Höhe oder erträglicher Zeitspanne entlohnt werden.

Person arbeitet am Laptop

Factoring: künftige Forderungen sofort zu Geld machen

Abhilfe schafft in diesen Fällen der Forderungsverkauf mittels Factoring. Die Grundidee: Die Handelsunternehmen erhalten von der Factoring-Gesellschaft sofort Cash und nehmen dafür einen gewissen, überschaubaren Einbehalt in Kauf, der bei späterer Begleichung der Schuld durch den Käufer wieder ausgezahlt wird. Damit bleiben die Firmen jederzeit liquide, können die Einnahmen für die Finanzierung neuer Geschäfte nutzen, schonen ihre Bilanz und ersparen sich manchen Überbrückungskredit. Mit ihrem Produkt „SmartFact“ hat die Hamburg Commercial Bank dabei ein besonderes ausgefeiltes Angebot für ihre Kundschaft im Portfolio. Nutzbar ist es für alle Handelsgeschäfte mit Einzelforderungen oder Forderungs-Pools ab einem Volumen von zehn Millionen Euro oder US-Dollar sowie Laufzeiten ab einem Jahr. Die Handhabung für die Kunden ist dank der browserbasierten Steuerung denkbar bequem.

Zahlungsziele von bis zu 180 Tagen vorab finanzieren

Einer der jüngsten Abschlüsse gelang dabei für die BdV Behrens GmbH aus Hamburg. Dahinter steckt ein inhabergeführtes, mittelständisches Handelsunternehmer, das verstärkt in Mittel- und Lateinamerika Handelsgeschäfte in den Bereichen Chemie, Nahrung und Pharma auf US-Dollar-Basis abwickelt. Allein aufgrund der immensen Lieferwege ergeben sich überdurchschnittlich lange Zahlungsziele von bis zu 180 Tagen. „Unser Kunde hatte aufgrund positiver Geschäfts- und Umsatzaussichten einen gesteigerten Finanzierungsbedarf. Factoring ist genau für diese Wachstumsphasen das ideale Instrument, um das Working Capital des Unternehmens am Laufen zu halten“, sagt Jan Schubert, Factoring-Fachmann bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank.

BdV Behrens benötigt wie viele Handelsfirmen zur Sicherstellung des Working Capital neben der Finanzierung von Forderungen auch ausreichend Kapital für den Wareneinkauf und die notwendigen Anzahlungen. Das wurde in diesem Fall bisher auch von weiteren Banken finanziert, sodass die Einbindung des SmartFact-Programms unter anderem in diesem Kreis der Finanzierer abgestimmt werden musste.

„Wir schätzen am Factoring über Smart Fact die Möglichkeit, auch sehr kurzfristig Liquidität für neue Geschäfte auf Basis unseres komplexen und diversifizierten Forderungsbestands, parallel zur konventionellen Finanzierung, generieren zu können“, sagt Christoph Marquardt, Managing Director von BdV Behrens. Und ergänzt: „Die praktische Handhabung im Tagesgeschäft, die termingerechte Abwicklung aller Vorgänge sowie die Möglichkeit flexibler, individueller Anpassungen des Programms an unsere Bedürfnisse geben uns zusätzlichen Spielraum.“

Besonders stolz sind Jan Schubert und seine Kolleg:innen auf drei Dinge: „Erstens gelang uns so der Ankauf von Forderungen in US-Dollar und Euro aus mehr als 40 Ländern in den für BdV Behrens relevanten Exportmärkten. Zum Zweiten erfolgte die Abwicklung des damit einhergehenden Zahlungsverkehrs aus einer Hand Und drittens kam es trotz Corona-Krise und der vielfältigen Lockdowns in allen Teilen der Welt zur termingerechten Auszahlung.“

Sie wünschen weitere Informationen zum Thema? Wir beraten Sie gern.

André Niewels

Abteilungsdirektor/Senior Vice President

Telefon: 040 3333-10410
Zum Kontaktformular