Thoughts about International Women’s Day

March 2021 – The Hamburg Commercial Bank takes the subject of equality seriously. And not just on the institutionalized occasion of International Women’s Day on March 8. Diversity Management has been a fixed component of our guidelines and daily conduct at the Hamburg Commercial Bank for many years.

4 arms building a star

Progress can sometimes happen at a snail’s pace. In 1911, socialist icons of the global women’s movement established March 8 as “their day”. Since 2019, it has been a statutory holiday in Berlin. After the end of the first world war, in January 1919, women were allowed to vote and be voted for in the German national constitutional assembly for the first time. But it took another four decades, until 1958 to be precise, before the legislative body decreed equality between men and women – and for the first time women could open their own accounts and take responsibility for their personal assets.

“International Women’s Day” on May 8 should now be a purely symbolic ritual to mark the fact that women have access to all the same rights and opportunities as men, in both their personal and professional lives. A great deal has no doubt been achieved in the past years, but there is still a fair way to go, as various studies repeatedly show, when viewing the continued minimal presence of women in management positions or the “gender gap” – the pay gap between women and men for equal work.

woman is holding a compass

Diversity Management is well established at HCOB

Katrin Waechter, the new Diversity Manager at Hamburg Commercial Bank, is delighted with what has been achieved so far as well as the current awareness and commitment of the Bank towards the subject of equal opportunities and equality. There has been a full-time equality officer at HCOB and its predecessor institutions for almost 20 years.

But what do the female staff members at the Bank think about the topic and what feelings does International Women’s Day evoke in them? We asked five of them to speak on behalf of the great many talented and committed female staff members at the bank:

“I was lucky that it was only relatively late on that I encountered people who discriminated according to gender, faith, background or skin color, something that is completely unthinkable for me.”

Maren Thiele, Product Manager in Business Operations:

At first I was skeptical when I was asked to contribute. Personally, I don’t really know where to start with these kind of institutionalized days. For some inexplicable reason it sadly still seems necessary to highlight certain things on a regular basis. The first thought which came to me spontaneously was a quote that my grandmother (born in 1896) wrote in my poetry album when I was eight or nine years old: “If there be a faith that can move mountains, it is faith in one’s own power.” (Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach)

As a child, no doubt I didn’t understand what she was trying to pass on to me with these words from her own experience. My grandmother lost her husband at the end of the first world war after being married for just a short time. As a master milliner, she founded her own company and ultimately had 20 employees and several shops. If anyone knew how important it is to have faith in oneself, then it was this energetic and strong woman.

I was lucky that it was only relatively late on that I encountered people who discriminated according to gender, faith, background or skin color, something that is completely unthinkable for me. But the “free spirit” in me was already too well established for any of the “faith in my own power” to be permanently shaken by anyone.

“Trust in yourselves! Show yourselves! And learn to recognize people who will support you on your journey."

Rieka Meetz-Schawaller, Member of the Supervisory Board of the Hamburg Commercial Bank:

“Whether or not a man offers me his seat on the tram is irrelevant. He should be offering me a place on his Supervisory Board.” (Käte Ahlmann, 1958).

Käte Ahlmann lived from 1890 to 1963 and for decades managed the oldest and largest industrial operation in Schleswig-Holstein, the Carlshütte ironworks in Büdelsdorf near Rendsburg. After the death of her husband, in 1931 she took over management of the iron foundry and was proprietor of Ahlmann Carlshütte KG. She was a member of numerous politico-economic, socio-political and cultural-political boards and founder-member and first president of the Association of German Women Entrepreneurs (VdU).

The quote by Käte Ahlmann moves me because it is more than 60 years old and still relevant. Women are still put in their supposed place in subtle ways which perhaps even superficially appears to be politeness. I too have experienced bosses who have spoken to me almost exclusively about home and children rather than about professional matters. Luckily, though, there were also other types. Those who supported me in becoming a manager, while raising small children, with flexible working hours – something that was not a given 25 years ago, and still isn’t today. On the subject of challenges in your working environment, whether your job is as a specialist, manager or board representative: Trust in yourselves! Show yourselves! And learn to recognize people who will support you on your journey.

“:-)-: You decide!”

Kim-Olivia Lietzau, member of staff in the Board Office of the Hamburg Commercial Bank:

I think that your inner attitude can have a major impact. Although it’s good to take some time out in your comfort zone now and then, I am convinced that people grow through their work. It is important to me that I continue to develop and take responsibility. When it comes to change, I look for opportunities that go hand in hand with it, for new tasks, to develop further and for cooperation with new colleagues.

I draw my energy from working in a cooperative environment, something which has been reinforced in these times of the coronavirus pandemic. I am already looking forward to times where we can effortlessly bump into each other in the office. Until then I choose :-)!

“If They Don’t Give You a Seat at the Table, Take a Folding Chair!”

Katharina Könches, Expert in the Digital Excellence Center at HCOB:

Shirley Chrisholm, the first African-American woman ever to be elected to US congress, who later also ran as a presidential nominee, succinctly brings many things together with her quote. The table which appears to have no place for her can apply to many situations, in particular in a professional context. I am also familiar with the feeling of not belonging to an exclusive club.

But what I love about the quote is the invitation to take a folding chair On the one hand it’s an encouragement and challenge to take the initiative yourself and not to wait until the place is actively offered to you. On the other hand, I like the imagery of the folding chair: “Be creative and do things differently to others, as a folding chair always manages to fit in and ultimately makes the board significantly more versatile!”

Unfortunately it will still take some time until the tables of our society are equally and diversely occupied. Until then, I hope for you and me to have the courage to take along our own folding chair and claim our place in the boardroom – this is the only way we can enrich the tables in different ways.

Young, blond, feminine...and assertive!

Kathrin Lemke, Expert in Loan Agency and Public Funding:

Who hasn’t experienced prejudice?! Whether in our personal or professional life, it follows us everywhere. It’s not always the spoken words that make the prejudice apparent. Sometimes looks or reactions are enough.

Prejudice also presents itself in unconscious behavior, which is deeply ingrained and based on a person’s own experiences, environment and values learned in childhood. This is why I am aware that there are some unconscious actions which don’t represent ill-intent. They reflect experiences. We should remain positive and motivated to help others to also gather many positive experiences. For me, valuing and respecting one other is a crucial part of living together, regardless of gender, age, background or other characteristics. It is all about diversity!

In my professional life, I have experienced a few situations in which I encountered prejudice. Comments like “the little blond one” or “what does the young thing want to tell us?” are just a few examples which can be hurtful. But how should we respond to this? I took the decision not to respond to these kinds of comments and enter into a debate about stereotypes, gender or similar, instead countering them with content and performance. It is extraordinary how often discussions took a quick turn and the prejudices quickly faded away. The result: being accepted as an equal business partner. These situations show me that society’s opinions are already in the process of being revised. The first steps have been taken, even if there is still some way to go.

Together we can change a lot and help each other identify new prospects to enrich our lives. So, let’s continue to motivate each other on this issue. It affects us all – the same, equally and diversely!

Gedanken zum Weltfrauentag

März 2021 – Die Hamburg Commercial Bank nimmt das Thema Gleichberechtigung ernst. Und das nicht nur aus Anlass des institutionalisierten Weltfrauentages am 8. März. Diversity Management ist seit vielen Jahren fester Bestandteil der Leitlinien und des täglichen Handelns in der Hamburg Commercial Bank.

4 Menschen bilden mit ihren Armen einen Stern

Der Fortschritt ist mitunter eine Schnecke. 1911 setzten sozialistische Ikoninnen der weltweiten Frauenbewegung den 8. März als „ihren Tag“ durch. Seit 2019 ist er übrigens in Berlin gesetzlicher Feiertag. Im Januar 1919 durften Frauen bei der Wahl zur verfassungsgebenden Deutschen Nationalversammlung nach Ende des Ersten Weltkrieges erstmals wählen und gewählt werden. Doch es dauerte weitere vier Jahrzehnte, exakt bis zum Jahr 1958, bis der Gesetzgeber die Gleichberechtigung zwischen Frauen und Männern beschloss – und Frauen erstmals eigene Konten eröffnen und die Vermögensbildung in die eigenen Hände nehmen durften.

Der „Weltfrauentag“ am 8. März sollte heute eigentlich eine Selbstverständlichkeit markieren. Nämlich die Tatsache, dass Frauen im Privat-, aber gerade auch Berufsleben alle Rechte und Chancen haben, die auch Männern zustehen. Tatsächlich hat sich gerade in den vergangenen Jahren eine Menge getan. Doch ein gutes Stück des Weges bleibt zu gehen, wie der Blick auf die nach wie vor geringere Präsenz von Frauen in Führungspositionen oder der „Gender-Gap“ – die Einkommensdifferenz zwischen Frauen und Männern bei gleicher Tätigkeit – in diversen Studien immer wieder zeigen.

Frau zeigt Kompass in die Kamera

Diversity Management hat eine lange Tradition bei der HCOB

Katrin Waechter, die neue Diversity-Managerin bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank, freut sich über das bisher Erreichte sowie die bestehende Sensibilität und das Engagement der Bank beim Thema Chancengerechtigkeit und Gleichberechtigung. Seit knapp 20 Jahren gibt es bei der HCOB und ihren Vorgängerinstitutionen bereits eine hauptberufliche Gleichstellungsbeauftragte.

Doch wie sehen das die Mitarbeiterinnen der Bank selbst, welche Gedanken ruft der Weltfrauentag in ihnen hervor? Wir haben fünf von ihnen stellvertretend für die große Zahl talentierter und engagierter Mitarbeiterinnen bei der Bank befragt:

„Ich hatte das Glück, erst relativ spät Menschen zu begegnen, die nach Geschlecht, Glaubensrichtung, Herkunft oder Hautfarbe unterscheiden, was für mich völlig unvorstellbar war und ist.“

Maren Thiele, Produktmanagerin in Business Operations:

Zunächst war ich skeptisch, als ich um einen Beitrag gebeten wurde. Mit solchen institutionalisierten Tagen kann ich persönlich nur wenig anfangen. Leider ist es, unverständlicher Weise, scheinbar immer noch erforderlich, bestimmte Dinge regelmäßig in den Fokus zu rücken. Die ersten Worte, die mir spontan einfielen, waren ein Zitat, das mir meine Großmutter (Jahrgang 1896) in mein Poesiealbum schrieb, als ich acht oder neun Jahre alt war: „Wenn es einen Glauben gibt, der Berge versetzen kann, so ist es der Glaube an die eigene Kraft.“ (Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach)

Als Kind habe ich sicher nicht verstanden, was sie mir mit diesen Worten aus eigenem Erleben auf den Weg geben wollte. Meine Großmutter verlor nach kurzer Ehe ihren Mann am Ende des Ersten Weltkrieges. Allein gründete sie als Putzmachermeisterin ein Unternehmen und hatte zuletzt 20 Mitarbeiterinnen und mehrere Geschäfte. Wenn jemand wusste, wie wichtig es ist, an sich selbst zu glauben, dann diese energische und starke Frau.

Ich hatte das Glück, erst relativ spät Menschen zu begegnen, die nach Geschlecht, Glaubensrichtung, Herkunft oder Hautfarbe unterscheiden, was für mich völlig unvorstellbar war und ist. Da war aber der „Freigeist“ bei mir schon zu erwachsen, als dass irgendjemand meinen „Glauben an die eigene Kraft“ hätte noch nachhaltig ins Wanken bringen können.

„Traut Euch! Zeigt Euch! Und lernt, diejenigen Menschen zu erkennen, die Euch auf Eurem Weg unterstützen."

Rieka Meetz-Schawaller, Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat der Hamburg Commercial Bank:

„Ob mir ein Mann seinen Sitz in der Straßenbahn anbietet, ist mir egal. Er soll mir einen Sitz in seinem Aufsichtsrat anbieten“ (Käte Ahlmann, 1958).

Käte Ahlmann lebte von 1890 bis 1963 und leitete über Jahrzehnte den ältesten und größten Industriebetrieb Schleswig-Holsteins, die Carlshütte in Büdelsdorf bei Rendsburg. 1931 übernahm sie nach dem Tod ihres Ehemanns die Leitung der Eisengießerei und war Gesellschafterin der Ahlmann Carlshütte KG. Sie war Mitglied zahlreicher wirtschafts-, sozial- und kulturpolitischer Gremien und Gründungsmitglied und die erste Präsidentin des Verbands Deutscher Unternehmerinnen (VdU).

Die Aussage von Käte Ahlmann berührt mich, weil sie älter als 60 Jahre und immer noch aktuell ist. Immer noch werden Frauen auf subtile, vielleicht auf den ersten Blick sogar höflich erscheinende Art und Weise in ihre vermeintlichen Schranken verwiesen. Auch ich habe Chefs erlebt, die mich fast ausschließlich nicht zu fachlichen Themen, sondern zu Haus und Kindern angesprochen haben. Aber es gab zum Glück auch andere. Solche, die mich bestärkten, Führungskraft zu sein, mit kleinen Kindern und flexiblen Arbeitszeiten – vor 25 Jahren keine Selbstverständlichkeit und heute immer noch nicht. Zum Thema Herausforderungen in Eurem Arbeitsumfeld, auf welcher Position auch immer, ob als Spezialistin, Führungskraft oder Aufsichtsrätin: Traut Euch! Zeigt Euch! Und lernt, diejenigen Menschen zu erkennen, die Euch auf Eurem Weg unterstützen.

„:-)-: Du entscheidest!“

Kim-Olivia Lietzau, Mitarbeiterin im Board Office der Hamburg Commercial Bank:

Ich glaube, dass die innere Einstellung viel bewirken kann. Auch wenn ein Aufenthalt in der „Komfortzone“ zwischendurch mal gut tut, bin ich davon überzeugt, dass der Mensch mit seinen Aufgaben wächst. Mir ist es wichtig, mich weiterzuentwickeln und Verantwortung zu übernehmen. In Veränderungen suche ich die damit verbundenen Chancen für neue Aufgaben, Weiterentwicklung und die Zusammenarbeit mit neuen Kolleg*innen.

Aus der Arbeit in einem kollegialen Umfeld ziehe ich meine Energie, was mir in Zeiten der Corona-Pandemie nochmal deutlicher wird. Ich freue mich schon auf die Zeiten, wo wir wieder unbeschwert im Büro aufeinandertreffen. Und solange entscheide ich mich für :-)!

„If They Don’t Give You a Seat at the Table, Take a Folding Chair!“

Katharina Könches, Expertin im Digital Excellence Center der HCOB:

Shirley Chrisholm, die erste afroamerikanische Frau, die jemals in den US-Kongress gewählt wurde und später auch für die Nominierung zur Präsidentin kandidierte, bringt für mich mit diesem Zitat viele Dinge auf einmal auf den Punkt. Der Tisch, an dem kein Platz zu sein scheint, kann für viele Situationen insbesondere auch im beruflichen Kontext stehen. Auch ich kenne das Gefühl, zu einem exklusiven Club nicht dazuzugehören.

Was mich begeistert an dem Zitat, ist jedoch die Aufforderung „Take a Folding Chair“ Einerseits, weil es eine Ermutigung und Aufforderung ist, selbst aktiv zu werden und nicht darauf zu warten, dass einem der Platz aktiv angeboten wird. Andererseits finde ich das Symbol des Klappstuhls schön: „Werde kreativ und mache die Dinge anders als sonst, denn ein Klappstuhl passt immer noch gut und macht die Tafel im Ende deutlich vielseitiger!“

Bis die Tische unserer Gesellschaft völlig gleichverteilt beziehungsweise divers besetzt werden, wird es leider noch eine Weile dauern. Bis dahin wünsche ich Ihnen und mir den Mut, den eigenen Klappstuhl mitzubringen und den Platz an der Tafel zu beanspruchen – nur so können wir die Tische auf vielfältige Art bereichern.

Jung, blond, weiblich…und durchsetzungsSTARK!

Kathrin Lemke, Expertin für Loan Agency und Öffentliche Fördermittel:

Wer kennt sie nicht – Vorurteile! Ob im privaten oder beruflichen Umfeld, überall begegnen sie uns. Nicht immer sind es die gesprochenen Worte, die die Vorurteile deutlich machen. Oftmals reichen Blicke oder Reaktionen.

Vorurteile zeigen sich auch durch unbewusste Verhaltensweisen, die tief verankert sind aufgrund der eigenen Erfahrungen, des Umfelds und der Werte, die uns bereits im Kindesalter beigebracht wurden. Daher bin ich mir bewusst, dass es zum Teil unbewusste Handlungen sind, die keine böse Absicht darstellen. Sie spiegeln Erfahrungen wider. Wir sollten positiv und motiviert bleiben, anderen Menschen zu helfen, ebenfalls viele positive Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Einander schätzen und respektieren ist für mich ein wichtiges Gut im Zusammenleben und dies ungeachtet von Geschlecht, Alter, Herkunft oder anderen Eigenschaften. Es kommt auf die Vielfalt an!

In meinem Berufsleben habe ich einige Situationen erlebt, in denen ich Vorurteilen begegnet bin. Aussagen wie „das kleine Blondchen“ oder „Was will das junge Ding uns denn schon erzählen?“ sind nur einige Beispiele dafür, die durchaus verletzend wirken können. Aber wie verhält man sich dann? Ich habe mich dafür entschieden, nicht auf solche Äußerungen einzugehen und eine Debatte über Stereotypen, Geschlecht oder Ähnliches zu führen, sondern mit Inhalten und Leistung zu entgegnen. Erstaunlich wie oft die Unterhaltungen eine rasche Wendung nahmen und die Vorurteile wie weggefegt waren. Das Ergebnis: als gleichwertige Geschäftspartnerin wahrgenommen zu werden. Solche Situationen zeigen mir, dass ein Umdenken in der Gesellschaft bereits stattfindet. Die ersten Schritte sind getan, wenngleich dies noch nicht genug ist.

Gemeinsam können wir viel bewegen und uns gegenseitig neue Perspektiven aufzeigen, mit denen wir das Leben bereichern. Also lasst uns dieses Thema weiter gemeinsam bewegen. Es geht uns alle an – gleichermaßen, gleichberechtigt und vielfältig!