Wind power: a promising revival

September 2021 – The industry experts at Hamburg Commercial Bank are looking forward to the upcoming Husum Wind trade fair. Not only because it will be held live again for the first time, but also because wind energy is on the verge of a promising comeback after a period in the doldrums.

Wind turbine

For Inka Klinger, Head of Project Finance at Hamburg Commercial Bank (HCOB), anticipation is growing for the start of the trade fair on September 14. While the 2020 trade fair, like so many events, unfortunately fell victim to the coronavirus pandemic, Klinger and her team are finally looking forward to four exciting days at the fair, enlightening technical discussions and exchanges with customers live on site.

Hamburg Commercial Bank is able to look back on a long tradition as a financier of wind energy

As was already the case two years ago, HCOB will be represented on the shared stand of Wirtschaftsförderung und Technologietransfer Schleswig-Holstein GmbH.

Inka Klinger: “We are really looking forward to it. We continue to maintain close ties with the rapidly growing industry, which is playing a central role in achieving global climate goals. Financing renewable energy projects is and will remain a growth area for Hamburg Commercial Bank.” HCOB has been a loyal companion to the industry for more than two decades, making it a financing pioneer from the very beginning.

Hamburg Commercial Bank's staunch commitment and loyalty to the wind energy sector are not something that should be taken for granted. After years of steady growth - not least thanks to the lavish subsidies under the German Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG) - the German wind industry has faced considerable business headwinds of late. Numerous companies have disappeared from the market again; existing and new projects have to be planned much more shrewdly than before against the backdrop of declining subsidies, but also growing public protest and increasing regulation. But a stronger focus, not only on what makes ecological sense, but also on what is economically feasible, must not hamper further growth.

“We continue to maintain close ties with the rapidly growing industry, which is playing a central role in achieving global climate goals. Financing renewable energy projects is and will remain a growth area for Hamburg Commercial Bank.”

Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure Project Finance at Hamburg Commercial Bank

Expansion figures for wind energy are once again on the rise

On the contrary: since the beginning of the year, wind energy has been making noticeable progress again - which should also raise the spirits of visitors to Husum Wind. In the first half of 2021, 240 onshore wind turbines with a capacity of 971 megawatts (MW) were installed in Germany. By comparison, according to calculations by the German Wind Energy Association, the amount installed in the first half of 2021 “already exceeds the amount installed in 2019 as a whole and is 62 percent higher than the capacity commissioned in the first half of 2020”.

“The expansion figures for onshore wind energy continue to develop positively. It seems that the industry has managed to weather the storm. The latest tender results show that the number of projects approved is increasing,” says association president Hermann Albers. “However, we still have a rocky road ahead of us, which we now urgently need to smooth out. In order to achieve the ambitious European and national climate targets, the political course must now be set,” demands Albers.

Demand for renewable energy is growing rapidly. Mobility, heating and digitalization, as well as the highly ambitious transition by industry, are setting new standards. Everything must therefore be done to enable more permits overall,” says the German Wind Energy Association.

Windmill on sand

Source: Zielke research consult

Wind-based hydrogen as the next big thing

Additional onshore and offshore wind turbines will be necessary if even a small part of the wildest dreams of the “wind-generated hydrogen sector” are to come true. Green hydrogen based on wind power is one of the main focuses of the trade fair, in addition to onshore/offshore, repowering & recycling, and sector coupling & storage.

Wind-generated hydrogen is, in a positive sense, currently the stuff of dreams for the industry. A dynamically growing hydrogen economy is emerging in Europe and the UK; wind energy, and especially offshore wind, is the main driver of this. In Germany and throughout Europe, the offshore sector, industry and politics have recognized the potential for the production of climate-friendly hydrogen and green fuels. Matthias Zelinger, Managing Director of VDMA Power Systems and Head of the Competence Center Climate and Energy at the German Engineering Federation (VDMA): “For the industry to become climate neutral, wind energy is essential.”

And this will require appropriate, competent and well-connected investors. A separate new exhibition zone covering around 1,000 square meters has been dedicated to the subject of offshore and green hydrogen at this year’s Husum Wind, where domestic and foreign exhibitors from European core markets will present innovative technologies and products for the booming market.

Inka Klinger

Global Head Infrastructure Project Finance

Phone: +49 40 3333-11343
Fax: +49 40 3333-611343
Contact

Windenergie: verheißungsvolles Revival

September 2021 – Die Branchenexpert:innen der Hamburg Commercial Bank freuen sich auf die kommende Husum Wind. Nicht nur, weil die Messe erstmals wieder live stattfindet. Sondern auch, weil die Windenergie nach einer Phase der Flaute vor einem vielversprechenden Comeback steht.

Windrad

Bei Inka Klinger, Head of Project Finance der Hamburg Commercial Bank (HCOB), steigt die Vorfreude auf den Messestart am 14. September. Während die 2020er-Ausgabe der Messe wie leider so viele Veranstaltungen ein Opfer der Corona-Pandemie wurde, erwarten sie und ihr Team endlich wieder vier spannende Messetage, erhellende Fachgespräche und den Austausch mit Kund:innen live vor Ort.

Hamburg Commercial Bank mit großer Tradition als Geldgeber der Windenergie

Die HCOB wird – wie bereits vor zwei Jahren – auf dem Gemeinschaftsstand der Wirtschaftsförderung und Technologietransfer Schleswig-Holstein GmbH vertreten sein.

Inka Klinger: „Wir freuen uns sehr. Wir sind der stark gewachsenen Branche, die bei der Erreichung globaler Klimaziele eine zentrale Rolle spielt, unverändert eng verbunden. Die Finanzierung von Projekten aus dem Bereich erneuerbare Energien ist und bleibt ein Wachstumsbereich der Hamburg Commercial Bank." Die HCOB ist der Branche bereits seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten ein treuer Begleiter – und damit ein Finanzierungspionier der ersten Stunden.

Das überzeugte Festhalten der Hamburg Commercial Bank und die Treue zur Windbranche sind keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach Jahren stetigen des Wachstums – nicht zuletzt dank der üppigen Förderungen im Rahmen des Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetzes (EEG) – hatte der deutschen Windindustrie der geschäftliche Wind zuletzt selbst stark ins Gesicht geblasen. Manches Unternehmen ist wieder vom Markt verschwunden; bestehende und neue Projekte müssen vor dem Hintergrund sinkender Subventionen, aber auch wachsender Bürgerproteste und zunehmender Regulierung viel spitzer als früher geplant werden. Doch die stärkere Orientierung nicht nur am ökologisch Sinnvollen, sondern auch am ökonomisch Machbaren muss kein Hindernis beim weiteren Wachstum sein.

„Wir sind der stark gewachsenen Branche, die bei der Erreichung globaler Klimaziele eine zentrale Rolle spielt, unverändert eng verbunden. Die Finanzierung von Projekten aus dem Bereich erneuerbare Energien ist und bleibt ein Wachstumsbereich der Hamburg Commercial Bank.“

Inka Klinger, Global Head of Infrastructure Project Finance der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Ausbauzahlen bei der Windenergie zeigen wieder nach oben

Im Gegenteil: Seit Jahresbeginn geht es mit der Windenergie jedoch wieder spürbar voran – das dürfte auch unter den Besucher:innen der Husum Wind die Laune heben. Im ersten Halbjahr 2021 wurden in Deutschland 240 Onshore-Windenergieanlagen mit einer Leistung von 971 Megawatt (MW) installiert. Zum Vergleich: Der Zubau im ersten Halbjahr 2021 übertrifft nach Berechnungen des Bundesverbandes Windenergie „bereits die Menge, die im Gesamtjahr 2019 installiert wurde und liegt 62 Prozent über der Leistung, die im ersten Halbjahr 2020 in Betrieb genommen wurde“.

„Die Entwicklung der Ausbauzahlen von Windenergie an Land bleibt positiv. Die Talsohle ist durchschritten. Die letzten Ausschreibungsergebnisse zeigen, dass sich die Genehmigungslage weiter verbessert“, sagt Verbandspräsident Hermann Albers. „Vor uns liegt allerdings immer noch ein steiniger Weg, den es jetzt dringend zu ebnen gilt. Um die ambitionierten Klimaziele auf europäischer und nationaler Ebene zu erreichen, müssen jetzt politische Weichen gestellt werden“, fordert Albers.

Die Nachfrage nach erneuerbarer Energie wächst rasant. „Mobilität, Wärme und Digitalisierung sowie der stark ambitionierte Umstieg der Industrie setzen neue Maßstäbe. Es muss daher alles getan werden, insgesamt mehr Genehmigungen zu ermöglichen“, heißt es beim Bundesverband Windenergie.

Windrad auf einem Sandboden

Quelle: Zielke research consult

Wasserstoff auf Windbasis als „next big thing“

Zusätzliche Windkraftanlagen an Land und auf hoher See werden notwendig werden, wenn sich auch nur ein kleiner Teil der kühnsten Träume von der „Windwasserstoff-Wirtschaft“ erfüllen sollte. „Grüner Wasserstoff“ auf Basis von Windstrom bildet einen der Hauptschwerpunkte der Messe – neben „Onshore/Offshore“, dem Bereich „Repowering & Recylcing“ sowie „Sektorenkoppelung & Speicherung“.

Windwasserstoff ist der Stoff, von dem die Branche derzeit im positiven Sinne träumt. In Europa und Großbritannien entwickelt sich eine dynamisch wachsende Wasserstoffwirtschaft; Windenergie, und hier besonders Offshore-Wind, ist dafür der zentrale Treiber. Offshore-Branche, Industrie und Politik haben hierzulande und europaweit die Potenziale für die Erzeugung von klimafreundlichem Wasserstoff und grünen Kraftstoffen erkannt. Matthias Zelinger, Geschäftsführer VDMA Power Systems und Leiter des Competence Center Klima und Energie im Verband Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagebau (VDMA): „Klimaneutrale Industrie braucht die Windenergie.”

Es sei an dieser Stelle ergänzt: Und es braucht dafür die passenden, kompetenten und gut vernetzten Kapitalgeber. Für das Thema Offshore und grüner Wasserstoff gibt es dieses Jahr auf der Husum Wind auf rund 1.000 Quadratmetern einen eigenen neuen Ausstellungsbereich, in dem in- und ausländische Aussteller aus europäischen Kernmärkten innovative Technologien und Produkte für den boomenden Markt präsentieren.

Inka Klinger

Global Head Infrastructure Project Finance

Telefon: 040 3333-11343
Fax: 040 3333-611343
Zum Kontaktformular