Real estate market: the success story continues

September 2019 – Germany’s market for office real estate is confidently robust, just in time for the leading EXPO REAL 2019 trade fair in Munich. Despite Brexit, the fear of worsening trade wars and a noticeable economic slowdown in Germany, the outlook remains positive. Nonetheless, the experts at Hamburg Commercial Bank recommend more caution and foresight.

The health of an economy can be clearly measured by its unemployment rate. For years, Germany’s has ranked at a low, almost record-breaking level, most recently just above the five-percent mark. Real estate industry representatives can hardly smile about figures like that. A vacancy rate that high – essentially the industry’s own statistical counterpart to the unemployment rate – would be a cause for panic given current levels.

Vacancies in German office real estate have only seen one trend for years: downward. According to ZIA, the German real estate industry’s umbrella organization, vacancy rates currently stand at just 4.2 percent in the largest 127 German office submarkets. The average of the top-seven cities of Berlin, Hamburg, Düsseldorf, Cologne, Frankfurt, Stuttgart and Munich is only 3.1 percent. The absolute leader is the booming capital: a vacancy rate of 1.4 percent is the best proof that Berlin is not only popular among hipsters and tourists, but also among employers with space requirements. The peak rents for office real estate in Germany rose for the eighth time in a row by mid-2019.

"For years now, have seen significantly more demand than supply in the office real estate markets in German cities."

Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients, Hamburg Commercial Bank

Modern office space is in short supply

“For years now, we have seen significantly more demand than supply in the office real estate markets of German cities. This is partly due to the good economy and high employment level. And it is also due in part to the lack of available space. New and modern space is particularly lacking,” says Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients at Hamburg Commercial Bank. The trend towards an urbanized service-based economy has picked up even further: nearly 15 million people now work in offices.

Klaus Dittrich, CEO of Messe München and host of EXPO REAL, does not yet see any change in sentiment: “The question about when the boom will be over has been with us for years. But at least when it comes to participation in the trade fair, we aren’t seeing any reversal of trends. On the contrary: we are even opening another hall, NOVA3. This is where we will bring innovative and tech companies together,” says Dittrich. Hamburg Commercial Bank will also be on site with a completely new stand in Bavaria’s state capital.

"The question about when the boom will be over has been with us for years. But at least when it comes to participation in the trade fair, we aren´t seeing any reversal of trends."

Klaus Dittrich, CEO of Messe München and host of EXPO REAL

With regard to Brexit, trade conflicts and the deteriorating economic situation in Germany, Axmann sees medium-term reactions, but no market slump: “With the current economic slowdown, in the medium term we expect a stagnation in rents and purchase prices as well as a delayed decline in demand in about two years. Because in our experience, companies first look to see if an economic development is sustainable. This applies equally to both recoveries and slowdowns.”

At this year’s EXPO REAL, from October 7 to 9, pessimism is not an issue. On the contrary: more and more international investors are discovering the German market. Interest is so great that a forum contribution at the Munich real estate fair even asks the question: “Destination Germany: Investor’s Darling Forever?”

Continuing investment pressure among investors

It would be well advised to seek an answer to this question in the golden mean, between short-sighted euphoria and premature anxiety in the face of a rougher economic environment. The megatrends of migration to cities and the growth of modern office jobs continue in Germany and will keep driving the market further forward. Added to this is the investment pressure on many investors who, given low and even negative interest rates, have few worthwhile alternatives to investing in real estate. Consequence of the flood of capital: falling returns. According to information from Hamburg Commercial Bank, even top locations in Hamburg ultimately only achieved a peak returns of just under three percent.

By mid-2019, Hamburg Commercial Bank had added 2.3 billion in new real estate business to its books. This is exactly what the bank had signed in new loans by mid-2018. By the end of 2018, this then increased to 4.6 billion euros. The figures show one thing in particular: business is stable and Hamburg Commercial Bank, with its high level of real estate expertise and its representative offices in the most important real estate locations of Hamburg, Berlin, Düsseldorf/Cologne, Frankfurt and Munich, is a valued partner for property purchasing, project developments and long-term portfolio financing for both individual properties and entire portfolios. At the same time, however, the figures prove that the bank is selective.

"In order to generate peak rents, you need state-of-the-art technologiy and, above all, contnuele funds for modernization."

Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients, Hamburg Commercial Bank

Especially in more mature markets – which is what the German office real estate market has unquestionably become after years of an unstoppable boom – it is important to finance the right projects. Aside from the classics of good infrastructure and location, location, location, the team around Peter Axmann considers a property’s versatility. “Are the spaces easily customizable? And attractive for follow-up tenants?” These are the questions he also asks project and investment developers in search of financing. “In order to generate peak rents, you need state-of-the-art technology and, above all, continual funds for modernization,” says Axmann.

In its financing, Hamburg Commercial Bank concentrates on the major German metropolitan regions, but also finances in so-called B cities, which stand out particularly well in terms of population and economic development. There are also good opportunities for mixed-use properties where, for example, offices are supplemented by a hotel or retail space.

A balanced mix

A balanced mix [Quelle/Source: Hamburg Commercial Bank]

Hamburg Commercial Bank’s real estate portfolio as of June 30, 2019, in percent

  • Office 33%
  • Retail 28%
  • Residential 22%
  • Operator/special real estate 15%
  • Working capital lines of credit, guarantees etc. 3%

Immobilienmarkt: Die Erfolgsstory geht (noch) weiter

September 2019 – Deutschlands Markt für Büroimmobilien präsentiert sich pünktlich zur Leitmesse „EXPO REAL 2019“ in München selbstbewusst robust. Trotz Brexit, der Angst vor einer Verschärfung der Handelskriege und einer spürbaren Konjunkturabkühlung im Inland bleiben die Aussichten gut. Die Experten der Hamburg Commercial Bank raten dennoch zu mehr Vor- und Weitsicht.

Wie gut es einer Volkswirtschaft geht, lässt sich trefflich an der Arbeitslosenquote ablesen. Die rangiert in Deutschland seit Jahren auf niedrigem, fast rekordverdächtigem Niveau, zuletzt knapp oberhalb der Fünf-Prozent-Marke. Vertreter der Immobilienwirtschaft können über solche Werte nur milde lächeln. Eine annähernd hohe Leerstandsquote – quasi das brancheneigene Statistik-Pendant zur Arbeitslosenquote – wäre angesichts des heutigen Niveaus schon ein Grund zur Panik.

Der Leerstand bei deutschen Büroimmobilien kennt seit Jahren nur eine Richtung: nach unten. In den größten 127 deutschen Büroteilmärkten liegt der Leerstand laut ZIA, dem Spitzenverband der deutschen Immobilienwirtschaft, aktuell bei gerade 4,2 Prozent. Im Durchschnitt der Top-7-Städte Berlin, Hamburg, Düsseldorf, Köln, Frankfurt am Main, Stuttgart und München beträgt der Wert sogar nur 3,1 Prozent. Absoluter Spitzenreiter ist die boomende Hauptstadt: Die Leerstandsquote von 1,4 Prozent ist bester Beweis dafür, dass Berlin nicht nur bei Hipstern und Touristen schwer angesagt ist, sondern auch bei Arbeitgebern mit Flächenbedarf. Die Spitzenmieten für Büroimmobilien sind bis Jahresmitte 2019 deutschlandweit zum 8. Mal in Folge gestiegen.

„Auf den Büroimmobilienmärkten in deutschen Städten sehen wir seit Jahren deutlich mehr Nachfrage als Angebot.“

Peter Axmann, Leiter Immobilienkunden Hamburg Commercial Bank

Moderne Büroflächen sind Mangelware

„Auf den Büroimmobilienmärkten in deutschen Städten sehen wir seit Jahren deutlich mehr Nachfrage als Angebot. Das liegt zum einen an der guten Konjunktur und dem hohen Beschäftigungsgrad. Und zum anderen am Mangel an verfügbaren Flächen. Es fehlen besonders neue und moderne Flächen“, sagt Peter Axmann, Leiter Immobilienkunden bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank. Der Trend zur verstädterten Dienstleistungsgesellschaft hat weiter an Fahrt aufgenommen: Knapp 15 Millionen Menschen arbeiten mittlerweile in Büros.

Klaus Dittrich, CEO der Messe München und damit Gastgeber der „EXPO REAL“, erkennt noch keinen Stimmungsumschwung: „Seit Jahren begleitet uns die Frage nach dem Ende des Booms. Doch zumindest bei der Beteiligung an der Messe sehen wir keine Trendwende, im Gegenteil: Wir öffnen sogar eine weitere Halle, NOVA3. Hier bündeln wir innovationsaffine und Technologie-Unternehmen“, sagt Dittrich. Die Hamburg Commercial Bank ist ebenfalls mit einem komplett neuen Stand in Bayerns Landeshauptstadt vor Ort.

„Seit Jahren begleitet uns die Frage nach dem Ende des Booms. Doch zumindest bei der Beteiligung auf der Messe sehen wir keine Trendwende, im Gegenteil.“

Klaus Dittrich, CEO Messe München und Gastgeber EXPO REAL

Mit Blick auf den Brexit, die Handelskonflikte und die sich zusehends verschlechternde Wirtschaftslage in Deutschland sieht Axmann mittelfristige Reaktionen, aber keinen Markteinbruch: „Mit der derzeitigen Abkühlung der Konjunktur erwarten wir mittelfristig einen Stillstand bei Mieten und Kaufpreisen sowie einen verzögerten Nachfragerückgang in rund zwei Jahren. Denn die Unternehmen schauen nach unserer Erfahrung erst einmal, ob eine konjunkturelle Entwicklung auch nachhaltig ist. Dies gilt für einen Aufschwung wie für eine Abschwächung gleichermaßen.“

Auf der diesjährigen „EXPO REAL“ vom 7. bis 9. Oktober ist Pessimismus ebenfalls kein Thema. Ganz im Gegenteil: Zunehmend entdecken internationale Investoren den deutschen Markt. Das Interesse ist so groß, dass sich ein Forenbeitrag auf der Immobilienmesse in München sogar der Frage stellt: „Destination Germany: Investor’s Darling Forever?“

Anhaltender Anlagedruck bei Investoren

Gut beraten ist, wer die Antwort auf diese Frage in der goldenen Mitte sucht, zwischen unreflektierter Euphorie und voreiligem Angstgehabe angesichts des rauer werdenden volkswirtschaftlichen Umfelds. Die Megatrends Zuzug in die Städte und Zuwachs bei modernen Bürojobs sind in Deutschland ungebrochen und werden den Markt weiter nach vorn treiben. Hinzu kommt der Anlagedruck bei vielen Investoren, die angesichts der Niedrig- und sogar Negativzinsen wenig lohnende Alternativen zu Investitionen in Immobilien besitzen. Folge der Kapitalflut: sinkende Renditen. Nach Informationen der Hamburg Commercial Bank brachten selbst Toplagen in Hamburg zuletzt nur noch eine Spitzenrendite von knapp drei Prozent.

Bis zur Jahresmitte 2019 hatte die Hamburg Commercial Bank Immobilienneugeschäfte in Höhe von 2,3 Milliarden in die Bücher genommen. Das ist exakt das, was die Bank bis zur Jahresmitte 2018 an neuen Krediten abgeschlossen hatte – bis Jahresende 2018 wurden daraus dann 4,6 Milliarden Euro. Die Zahlen zeigen vorrangig eines: Das Geschäft ist stabil und die Hamburg Commercial Bank mit ihrer hohen Immobilienkompetenz und ihren Repräsentanzen an den wichtigsten Immobilienstandorten Hamburg, Berlin, Düsseldorf/Köln, Frankfurt am Main und München ein geschätzter Partner bei den Themen Grundstücksankauf, Projektentwicklungen oder langfristigen Bestandsfinanzierungen für Einzelobjekte und ganze Portfolien. Zugleich aber belegen die Zahlen, dass die Bank selektiv vorgeht.

„Um Spitzenmieten zu genieren, braucht es den neuesten technischen Stand und vor allem laufenden Mittel für die Modernisierung.“

Peter Axmann, Leiter Immobilienkunden Hamburg Commercial Bank

Besonders in reiferen Märkten – und das ist der deutsche Büroimmobilienmarkt nach den Jahren des unaufhaltsamen Booms fraglos – kommt es darauf an, die richtigen Projekte zu finanzieren. Dabei achtet das Team um Peter Axmann neben den Klassikern gute Infrastruktur und Lage, Lage, Lage vor allem auf die Vielseitigkeit eines Objekts. „Sind die Flächen gut anpassbar? Und auch attraktiv für Folgemieter“, nennt er die Fragen, die er auch Projektierern und Investmententwicklern auf der Suche nach einer Finanzierung stellt. „Um Spitzenmieten zu generieren, braucht es den neuesten technischen Stand und vor allem laufende Mittel für die Modernisierung“, sagt Axmann.

Bei ihren Finanzierungen konzentriert sich die Hamburg Commercial Bank auf die großen deutschen Metropolregionen, finanziert aber auch in sogenannten B-Städten, die bei der Bevölkerungs- und Wirtschaftsentwicklung besonders positiv herausstechen. Gute Chancen haben auch Immobilien mit Mischnutzungen, bei denen beispielsweise Büros durch ein Hotel oder Einzelhandelsflächen ergänzt werden.

Ausgewogener Mix

Ausgewogener Mix [Quelle/Source: Hamburg Commercial Bank]

Immobilienportfolio der Hamburg Commercial Bank zum 30. Juni 2019 in Prozent

  • Büro 33 %
  • Einzelhandel 28 %
  • Wohnen 22 %
  • Betreiber-/Spezialimmobilien 15 %
  • Betriebsmittellinien, Avale etc. 3 %