The future of leasing

November 2019 – The leasing business in Germany has followed a record-breaking trend over recent years. Nevertheless, the business is continually becoming more fragmented – this significantly increases the outlay for leasing businesses and their refinancers. An innovative solution for this is presented by the refinancing of receivables with the aid of digital platforms. A round table will be focusing on this at the 15th "STRUCTURED FINANCE" event on November 27 in Stuttgart.

The numbers have been going in one direction for years: upwards. After two record years, in 2018 new business of the German leasing economy grew once more by 4.5 percent. For the current year, 2019, the sector is anticipating growth of between three and four percent. The slight slowdown in pace compared to 2018 is attributed to the depressed economic outlook, explains Kai Ostermann, president of the Federal Association of German Leasing Companies (BDL): "Leasing goes hand in hand with the economy."

"Leasing goes hand in hand with the economy."

Kai Ostermann, president of the Federal Association of German Leasing Companies (BDL)

But in the worst case, this is just complaining at a high level. The demand for leasing has been high for many years. According to BDL information, around 54 percent of the externally financed investment in 2018 was realized via leasing. "This means that leasing dominates all forms of financing," says Ostermann, head of the association. The leasing business is the link between the real economy and the financial world. Its attention is drawn to medium-sized businesses, as around 90 percent of contracts are concluded with medium-sized clients.

Leasing goods: from the company car to medical technology

Leasing companies in Germany invested 69.7 billion euros for their clients in real estate, machinery, vehicles, IT equipment and other commodities in 2018. The new business in machinery developed particularly well. At seven percent, telecommunication engineering and signaling equipment as well as medical technology grew at an above-average rate.

As regards signaling and medical technology, the examples show that the range of leasable goods has grown immensely. When it comes to the subject of leasing, anyone only thinking of company car fleets or office photocopiers has slept through the crucial developments of recent years. These days, virtually any commodity can be leased. According to information from the Federal Association of German Leasing Companies, in March 2019, commodities were leased with a total value of 200 billion euros.

For the leasing providers, however, the booming trend of no longer needing to own everything has its downsides. The leasing business is becoming increasingly fragmented and therefore more laborious. So fragmented in fact that leasing customers are no longer paying for a fixed rental period, for example for machinery or specialist software, but only according to usage, known in the trade as "pay-per-use".

Leasing is booming

Investment in the German leasing business in billions of euros [Quelle/Source:ifo Institute for Economic Research; Federal Association of German Leasing Companies ]

Refinancing: the market has tended to narrow rather than expand

Added to this are the challenges on the refinancing side. "The market for refinancing of leasing companies in Germany has tended to narrow rather than expand in recent years with the withdrawal of various refinancers. The refinancing of fragmented receivables portfolios presents challenges to the leasing companies and their backers," says Volker Kieschke. He is head of leasing finance at the Hamburg Commercial Bank.

Kieschke and his expert team therefore searched for alternative solutions to the classic refinancing business. Clear specification: the new process must be shaped in a simple, transparent and significantly more digital way for all involved, which is also close to the capital market.

It quickly became clear to the project team that there was room for improvement when it comes to simplicity and transparency, mainly in contract and project management. In recent years, this has developed into a bureaucratic nightmare for leasing companies and refinancers, mainly due to the increasing fragmentation of individual receivables.

A platform, developed by the Hamburg Commercial Bank in collaboration with its partners, is now creating a solution: the IT service provider QuantFS uses its platform to ensure that all data can be imported and processed in electronic form, and checked for correctness using defined criteria from the contractual parties. Manual intervention is only required in exceptional cases. "This guarantees a considerable reduction in outlay on all sides and creates a genuine alternative to the refinancing of fragmented leasing receivables portfolios," says Kiesche in summary.

It was and is particularly important to him that the platform is designed in a way which is close to the capital market. Established for some years, the "SmartFact platform" from the refinancers for working capital solutions in Luxembourg was therefore incorporated. The refinancing of receivables takes place through the issuance of promissory notes. "These are largely standardized to make it very easy to incorporate further investors," explains Kieschke.

Cars (still) dominate

Share of object groups in new leasing business 2018 [Quelle/Source: ifo Institute for Economic Research; Federal Association of German Leasing Companies]

"The market for refinancing of leasing companies in Germany has tended to narrow rather than expand in recent years with the withdrawal of various refinancers. The refinancing of fragmented receivables portfolios presents challenges to the leasing companies and their backers."

Volker Kieschke, head of leasing finance at the Hamburg Commercial Bank

Volker Kieschke, leasing expert at the Hamburg Commercial Bank, will be reporting on the advantages of the new platform at a round table at the 15th "STRUCTURED FINANCE" event in Stuttgart. Date: November 27, 1:45 PM to 2:45 PM. Joining him on the podium are Tim Tiedermann, managing director of the leasing company AGL Activ Service and their commercial manager Rene Gräf.

Die Zukunft des Leasings

November 2019 – Das Leasing-Geschäft hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren in Deutschland rekordverdächtig entwickelt. Doch zugleich wird das Business immer kleinteiliger – was den Aufwand für die Leasing-Gesellschaften und ihre Refinanzierer extrem erhöht. Eine innovative Lösung stellt da die Refinanzierung von Forderungen mit Hilfe digitaler Plattformen da. Mit diesem Thema beschäftigt sich auch ein Roundtable auf der 15. „STRUCTURED FINANCE“ am 27. November in Stuttgart.

Die Zahlen kennen seit Jahren nur eine Richtung: nach oben. Nach zwei Rekordjahren wuchs das Neugeschäft der deutschen Leasing-Wirtschaft 2018 abermals um 4,5 Prozent. Für das noch laufende Jahr 2019 erwartet die Branche ein Wachstum zwischen drei bis vier Prozent. Die leichte Tempodrosselung im Vergleich zu 2018 erklärt Kai Ostermann, Präsident des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Leasing-Unternehmen (BDL), mit den sich eintrübenden Konjunkturaussichten: „Leasing atmet mit der Konjunktur.“

„Leasing atmet mit der Konjunktur.“

Kai Ostermann, Präsident des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Leasing-Unternehmen (BDL)

Doch das ist schlimmstenfalls ein Klagen auf hohem Niveau. Die Nachfrage nach Leasing ist seit Jahren hoch. Rund 54 Prozent der außenfinanzierten Investitionen wurden 2018 nach BDL-Angaben über Leasing realisiert. „Damit dominiert Leasing alle Finanzierungsformen“, sagt Verbandschef Ostermann. Die Leasing-Wirtschaft ist Bindeglied zwischen Real- und Finanzwirtschaft. Und ihr Augenmerk liegt dabei auf dem Mittelstand: Rund 90 Prozent der Verträge werden mit mittelständischen Kunden geschlossen.

Leasing-Güter: vom Dienstwagen bis zur Medizintechnik

Für 69,7 Milliarden Euro realisierten die Leasing-Gesellschaften in Deutschland im Jahr 2018 Investitionen für ihre Kunden in Immobilien, Maschinen, Fahrzeuge, IT-Equipment und andere Wirtschaftsgüter. Besonders gut entwickelte sich das Neugeschäft mit Maschinen. Überdurchschnittlich mit sieben Prozent wuchsen auch Nachrichten- und Signaltechnik sowie Medizintechnik.

Apropos Signal- oder Medizintechnik: Die Beispiele zeigen, dass sich das Universum der leasbaren Güter immens vergrößert hat. Wer heute beim Thema Leasing nur an die Dienstwagenflotte oder den Bürokopierer denkt, hat entscheidende Entwicklungen der vergangenen Jahre verschlafen. Nahezu jedes Wirtschaftsgut lässt sich heute leasen. Nach Angaben des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Leasing-Unternehmen waren im März 2019 Wirtschaftsgüter im Gesamtwert von 200 Milliarden Euro verleast.

Für die Leasing-Geber hat der boomende Trend zum Nicht-mehr-selbst-besitzen-müssen allerdings auch Schattenseiten. Das Leasing-Geschäft wird immer granularer und damit aufwendiger. Sogar so kleinteilig, dass die Leasing-Kunden etwa den Einsatz von Maschinen oder Spezialsoftware nicht mehr für einen festen Mietzeitraum, sondern nur noch nach Einsatz bezahlen – „pay-per-use“ wird das in der Fachsprache genannt.

Leasing boomt

Investitionen der deutschen Leasingwirtschaft in Milliarden Euro [Quellen/Source: ifo Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung; Bundesverband Deutscher Leasing-Unternehmen]

Refinanzierung: Markt hat sich eher verengt als ausgeweitet

Hinzu kommen Herausforderungen auf der Refinanzierungsseite. „Der Markt für die Refinanzierung von Leasing-Gesellschaften in Deutschland hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren durch den Rückzug diverser Refinanzierer eher eingeengt als ausgeweitet. Besonders die Refinanzierung von kleinteiligen Forderungsportfolien stellt die Leasing-Gesellschaften und ihre Geldgeber vor große administrative Herausforderungen“, sagt Volker Kieschke. Er ist Head of Leasingfinance der Hamburg Commercial Bank.

Kieschke und sein Expertenteam suchten daher nach alternativen Lösungen zum klassischen Refinanzierungsgeschäft. Klare Vorgabe: Der neue Prozess muss für alle Beteiligten einfach, transparent, wesentlich digitaler und kapitalmarktnah ausgestaltet sein.

Luft nach oben in Sachen Einfachheit und Transparenz, das wurde dem Projektteam schnell klar, gibt es vor allem beim Vertrags- und Abwicklungsmanagement. Dieses hat sich, vor allem durch die zunehmende Granularität der Einzelforderungen, in den vergangenen Jahren für Leasing-Gesellschaften und Refinanzierer zu einem regelrechten bürokratischen Monstrum entwickelt.

Abhilfe schafft jetzt eine Plattform, die die Hamburg Commercial Bank zusammen mit ihren Partnern entwickelt hat: Der IT-Dienstleister QuantFS stellt dabei über seine Plattform sicher, dass alle Daten in digitaler Form eingelesen, verarbeitet und anhand definierter Kriterien des Vertragsparteien auf Stimmigkeit geprüft werden können. Ein manuelles Eingreifen ist nur noch in Ausnahmefällen nötig. „Damit wird der Aufwand auf allen Seiten erheblich reduziert und eine echte Alternative für die Refinanzierung von kleinteiligen Leasing-Forderungsportfolien geschaffen“, fasst Kieschke zusammen.

Besonders wichtig war und ist ihm, dass die Plattform kapitalmarktnah konzipiert ist. Daher wurde die seit Jahren etablierte „SmartFact Plattform“ des Refinanziers für Working-Capital-Lösungen in Luxemburg eingebunden. Die Refinanzierung der Forderungen erfolgt durch die Begebung von Schuldscheindarlehen. „Diese sind weitgehend standardisiert, sodass auch eine Einbindung weiter Investoren sehr einfach möglich ist“, erklärt Kieschke.

Autos dominieren (noch)

Anteile der Objektgruppen am Leasing-Neugeschäft 2018 [Quellen/Source: ifo Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung; Bundesverband Deutscher Leasing-Unternehmen]

„Der Markt für die Refinanzierung von Leasing-Gesellschaften in Deutschland hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren eher eingeengt als ausgeweitet.

Volker Kieschke, Head of Leasingfinance der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Über die Vorzüge der neuartigen Plattform berichtet Volker Kieschke, Leasing-Experte der Hamburg Commercial Bank, in einem Roundtable im Rahmen der 15. „STRUCTURED FINANCE“ in Stuttgart. Termin: 27. November, 13:45 bis 14:45 Uhr. Mit auf dem Podium sitzen Tim Tiedemann ,Geschäftsführer der Leasing-Gesellschaft AGL Activ Service, und deren Kaufmännischer Leiter, Rene Gräf.