Setting the Agenda for Wind Energy

August 2019 – The German wind energy industry has grown up and is currently going through its most serious crisis. Construction is stagnating, the time of generous subsidies is past. But there are good prospects even for older installations in high-wind locations, thanks to some smart schemes for continued use, new long-term power supply contracts for green energy and technological innovations. As a project funding institution with a thorough knowledge of the industry, the Hamburg Commercial Bank is actively involved in supporting this transformation.

In little more than a year, the first wind farms which have been operating for 20 years will have to hold their own in the market. Without any state subsidies. In the spring of 2020, the “Renewable Energies Act” [Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz (EEG)], initiated by the Federal government under Gerhard Schröder, will be celebrating its 20th birthday. The EEG is a success model – it has already driven the costs of power generation from solar and wind energy down to a level where they are almost on a par with fossil fuels. And without the significant expansion of wind energy and photovoltaics (PV), the upcoming phasing out of nuclear energy, followed in the medium term by that of coal-fired power generation, would be unachievable.

Green energy sources now account for almost 40 percent of all electricity generated in Germany. Wind energy contributes the biggest share of this. The once mildly ridiculed sector has now grown up. With systematic further development, future investment models should soon be able to cope in the market without subsidies.

The challenges for project developers, investors and operators of wind farms are growing. But also for the current Federal Government. Germany has undertaken to increase the proportion of renewable energies in the overall electricity mix to 65 percent by 2030. Wind energy is set to deliver the majority of this. According to the Federal Association for Wind Energy [Bundesverband WindEnergie] there were over 29,000 onshore wind turbines in total in 2018. These contribute around a fifth of total German electricity generation. The industry association is working on the assumption that an annual increase in capacity of at least 4.5 gigawatts will be needed to achieve the 65-percent target in eleven years. This corresponds to around 1,200 newly constructed wind turbines each year. But the construction of new wind turbines in Germany has dramatically slumped. At 2.4 gigawatts in 2018, the output from new installations was around 55 percent below the figure for the previous year. The first six months of 2019 saw the commissioning of only 86 new wind turbines with a capacity of 0.3 gigawatts. The University of Applied Sciences in Berlin warned recently that with these construction rates, the climate targets are turning into an illusion.

“New forms of financial participation on the part of affected citizens are necessary”

What are the reasons for this development? “The causes of the crisis are home-made. It is becoming more difficult to find sites for new wind farms and there is simply a lack of legally feasible projects ready for development. Where there are sites, the approval processes are protracted. More than 1,000 citizens' groups are now committed to blocking the construction of new wind farms,” says Nils Driemeyer, Global Head Renewable Energy at Hamburg Commercial Bank. “The German government is now challenged to adapt quickly to the circumstances, to enable adequate project development work in the long term.” But the project developers and the site owners will, in his honest opinion, also have to do a lot more with regard to the necessary public acceptance. “It’s not enough to inform the public about a new project clearly and in good time, and to open it up for the public for investment. New forms of financial participation on the part of affected citizens are required.”

At the end of the coming year, the first round of wind turbines will be coming to the end of their 20-year subsidy period. From this point on, a large number of older wind farms – the “over-twenty” wind farms – will have to manage without subsidies – or be decommissioned. More than half of the current onshore wind turbines and 30 percent of the installed nominal power output will be affected by 2025. In light of the decline in the construction of new wind farms, it is essential to continue the profitable operation of these older turbines, or alternatively to be able to “repower” these older installations with powerful, modern turbines, so as not to fall even further behind in the achievement of climate targets.

"The market potential for PPA in Germany is immense."

Nils Driemeyer, Global Head Renewable Energy Hamburg Commercial Bank

Over-twenty installations have a future in high-wind locations

The expiry of state funding is by no means the end for an over-twenty wind farm. Whether an older installation that is technically still productive can continue in profitable operation also depends on many factors. Along with maintenance program, future electricity prices and marketing strategy are also of key significance. Wind turbines in high-wind locations still have potential – not least thanks to the Power Purchase Agreements, or PPAs. These represent supply and purchase agreements between an electricity generator and an electricity customer. Wind energy customers include companies which have declared their commitment to sustainability. They want to be able to demonstrate to their customers, suppliers and the public at large, exactly which installation their power is coming from. “The market potential for PPAs is immense in Germany as well,” predicts Driemeyer.

What PPAs are all about

What to do with an over-twenty wind farm after its EEG subsidy has run out?

A wind farm operator generally has the following options: “continued operation”, i.e. the direct marketing of its power generation on an unsubsidized basis, the “repowering” of the installation(s) by building more powerful turbines, and “decommissioning without replacement”. Alternatively it may be possible to sell the installation(s).

Which basic electricity marketing strategies are available for over-twenty wind farms?

Three marketing approaches (plus mixed forms of these) are possible:

  • sale through a direct marketer via the electricity exchange at the current market price, possibly with partial hedging of the price risk (for example via the energy derivatives exchange),
  • sale at a fixed price to an end-consumer company in the context of a PPA contract, together with the transfer of certificates of origin,
  • sale to an energy supplier or trader in the context of a PPA contract, with restriction of the price risk to a certain price bandwidth, together with transfer of certificates of origin.

What exactly is a PPA?

PPA is the abbreviation for Power Purchase Agreement. A PPA is a long-term power supply contract which is concluded between an electricity generator and a customer company, defining primarily the supply quantity obligation and the price for the quantity of electricity supplied.

How does a PPA work?

If there does not happen to be a direct power line connection between the generator and the PPA customer, the power is supplied via the public power grid. The electricity generator usually handles the power flows, the remuneration payments and the transfer of the certificates of origin for the generated green electricity via an electricity trader. In the case of a baseload PPA, the latter is also commissioned with the marketing of any surplus generation capacity or the procurement of any shortfalls via the electricity exchange.

Power Purchase Agreement

Power Purchase Agreement

What is the benefit of PPAs for the continued operation of older installations?

They permit the price risk and the supply quantity risk for all the electricity generated in the course of the contract period to be transferred to the electricity customer (“pay-as-produced PPA”). However, the PPA electricity customer is compensated for accepting such a risk through a discount on the PPA fixed price. Alternatively the contract can be designed as a “baseload PPA”, in which the electricity generator undertakes to supply fixed quantities, for which, however, a higher fixed price can be agreed, in comparison with a pay-as-produced PPA. With a baseload PPA, the plant operator has to procure or sell any shortfalls or excess quantities via the electricity exchange in the event of any deviation from the defined delivery quantity, and carries the risk involved in doing so.

What is the benefit of PPAs for the continued operation of older installations?

They permit the price risk and the supply quantity risk for all the electricity generated in the course of the contract period to be transferred to the electricity customer (“pay-as-produced PPA”). However, the PPA electricity customer is compensated for accepting such a risk through a discount on the PPA fixed price. Alternatively the contract can be designed as a “baseload PPA”, in which the electricity generator undertakes to supply fixed quantities, for which, however, a higher fixed price can be agreed, in comparison with a pay-as-produced PPA. With a baseload PPA, the plant operator has to procure or sell any shortfalls or excess quantities via the electricity exchange in the event of any deviation from the defined delivery quantity, and carries the risk involved in doing so.

"The optimal investor for a wind farm can also come from abroad. Access to international investors is crucial."

Dr. Roland Schulz, M&A Transactions Energy Hamburg Commercial Bank

As one of the leading project funding institutions in Europe, the Hamburg Commercial Bank offers its clients a variety of services associated with the conclusion of a PPA. On the basis of experience in the Scandinavian wind energy markets, the bank provides advice on the design of a PPA contract, for example, and assistance in finding suitable electricity customers. The bank's specialists also advise project developers and plant operators on the sale of wind farms, etc. For example, the M&A team of Hamburg Commercial Bank recently advised getproject GmbH & Co. KG, the Kiel-based project developer and operator of onshore wind farms in Germany, on the sale of its shares in two turn-key wind farms in Brandenburg. The wind farms, which began to feed the grid in June and September last year, have a total nominal output of 20 megawatts. The buyer was EWE Erneuerbare Energien GmbH, a subsidiary of the Oldenburg-based energy supplier EWE AG. “But, depending on the parameters of the wind farm in question, the ideal investor can also come from abroad. So for the successful sale of a wind farm, access to international investors is also crucial. Thanks to its extensive international network, the bank is very well positioned in this respect,” explains Dr. Roland Schulz, who is responsible for providing advice on transactions in the area of renewable energies at Hamburg Commercial Bank.

"Wind turbines will continue to be produced in Germany in the future. There are a number of factors playing into the hands of wind energy."

Nils Driemeyer, Global Head Renewable Energy Hamburg Commercial Bank.

Higher and higher

Average size and performance of onshore wind turbines 2000 to 2018 (Source: Bundesverband WindEnergie [Federal Association for Wind Energy])

Opportunities for an upturn in the wind industry

Is the wind energy sector now threatened by a wave of bankruptcies, plant closures and mass redundancies - just as the solar industry was a few years ago - as a result of the current decline in the construction of new wind farms? “No,” is the firm response of Driemeyer, “wind turbines will continue to be produced in Germany in future.” According to the banking expert for renewable energies, there will in fact be “a large number of developments which will favour wind energy, and could well deliver new buoyancy in the industry.” These include not only the increasing internationalization of the industry and the repowering process, but also the development of storage technologies, and not least the development of Power-to-X technologies. In these processes alternative energy sources such as the wind or the sun are used to produce, for example, hydrogen for fuel cells or liquid synthetic fuels for aircraft.

The latter in particular are still far too high for a real market breakthrough; the most critical estimates range from 4.50 euros to even more per liter. As a scientist, Tremmel is more optimistic and believes that e-fuel production costs of around one euro per liter are feasible within the next five to ten years. A prerequisite for this, however, is the roll-out of the technology, which so far has not progressed much beyond the experimental stage in Germany.

The end of the boom

Newly installed onshore capacity in Germany, in megawatts (Sources: Bundesnetzagentur [Federal Network Agency]; Deutsche WindGuard GmbH)

What Power-to-X is all about

What is Power-to-X?

Power-to-X is a collective term for technologies with which (surplus) electricity from renewable energy sources such as solar radiation energy or hydroelectric power are used to produce liquid or gaseous fuels from water and CO2, for example.

How does Power-to-X work?

The technical basis is always water electrolysis, with the aid of which water is split into oxygen and hydrogen. Using carbon dioxide from the ambient air, the hydrogen obtained in this way can be used in subsequent process stages to create synthetic gaseous or liquid hydrocarbons (e-methane, e-fuels).

What benefits does this offer?

Power-to-X solutions enable the production of climate-neutral fuels. The preconditions for this are as follows: The electricity used to split the water must come from regenerative energy sources and the carbon dioxide needed must be taken from the atmosphere. Power-to-X enables the urgently necessary linkage of the sectors: For example, while renewables enjoy a significant market share in the electricity sector, the transport sector still relies largely on fossil fuels. If green energy were used in future both to power more e-vehicles and to produce climate-neutral fuels, the power generation and transport sectors would be genuinely linked for the first time.

What is the government doing?

For a long time, e-fuels, etc. were only of interest to specialist circles. But the government has now also recognized that climate change will be difficult to handle if the focus is solely on e-mobility. Peter Altmaier, the Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy, recently made headlines with a plan to trial hydrogen and alternative energy storage systems on an industrial scale in 20 “real-world laboratories” throughout Germany. According to his statement, there are around 100 million euros per year available for this.

Weichenstellung für die Windkraft

August 2019 – Die deutsche Windkraftbranche ist erwachsen geworden und durchlebt aktuell ihre erste schwere Krise. Der Zubau stockt, die Zeit üppiger Förderungen ist vorbei. Doch selbst für Altanlagen an windstarken Standorten gibt es gute Perspektiven: dank pfiffiger Nachnutzungskonzepte, neuen langfristigen Stromlieferverträgen für grüne Energie und technologischen Innovationen. Als Projektfinanzierer mit tiefem Branchen-Know-how begleitet die Hamburg Commercial Bank den Wandel aktiv mit.

Wenig mehr als ein Jahr noch, dann müssen die ersten schon seit 20 Jahren laufenden Windenergieanlagen allein am Markt bestehen. Ohne staatliche Subventionen. Im Frühjahr 2020 jährt sich der Start des von der Bundesregierung unter Gerhard Schröder eingeführten „Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetzes“ (EEG) zum 20. Mal. Das EEG ist ein Erfolgsmodell – es hat die Stromerzeugungskosten aus Solar- und Windenergie bereits fast zur Wettbewerbsfähigkeit mit fossilen Energieträgern getrieben. Und ohne den kräftigen Ausbau von Windenergie- und Photovoltaik (PV) wäre der baldige Ausstieg aus der Atomenergie und mittelfristig auch aus der Kohleverstromung nicht machbar.

Der Anteil der grünen Quellen an der gesamten Stromproduktion in Deutschland rangiert inzwischen bei fast 40 Prozent. Vor allem die Windkraft trägt großen Anteil daran. Die einst milde belächelte Branche ist groß und erwachsen geworden. Bei einer konsequenten Weiterentwicklung sollten künftige Anlagenmodelle schon bald ohne Förderung am Markt zurechtkommen können.

Für die Projektierer, Investoren und Betreiber von Windparks wachsen die Herausforderungen. Aber auch für die amtierende Bundesregierung: Deutschland hat sich dazu verpflichtet, den Anteil erneuerbarer Energien am gesamten Strommix bis zum Jahr 2030 auf dann 65 Prozent zu erhöhen. Den Großteil davon soll die Windenergie liefern. Ende 2018 gab es nach Angaben des Bundesverbandes WindEnergie insgesamt gut 29.000 Windenergieanlagen an Land. Diese steuern rund ein Fünftel zur gesamten deutschen Stromproduktion bei. Der Branchenverband geht davon aus, dass es einen jährlichen Kapazitätszubau von mindestens 4,5 Gigawatt braucht, um das 65-Prozent-Ziel in elf Jahren zu erreichen. Das entspricht etwa 1.200 neu gebauten Anlagen pro Jahr. Doch der Bau neuer Windkraftanlagen in Deutschland ist massiv eingebrochen. So lag die neu installierte Anlagenleistung 2018 mit 2,4 Gigawatt um rund 55 Prozent unter dem Vorjahresvolumen. Und im ersten Halbjahr 2019 gingen gerade einmal noch 86 neue Anlagen mit einer Kapazität von 0,3 Gigawatt in Betrieb. Mit diesen Zubauraten verkommen die Klimaziele zu einer Illusion, warnte jüngst die Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin.

„Neue Formen der finanziellen Teilhabe betroffener Bürger nötig“

Was sind die Gründe für diese Entwicklung? „Die Ursachen der Krise sind hausgemacht. Die Flächen für neue Windparks werden knapper, und es fehlt schlichtweg an rechtssicher umsetzbaren baureifen Projekten. Wo es Flächen gibt, ziehen sich die Genehmigungsverfahren in die Länge. Mehr als 1.000 Bürgerinitiativen engagieren sich mittlerweile gegen den Bau neuer Anlagen“, sagt Nils Driemeyer, Global Head Renewable Energy bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank. „Hier ist die Bundesregierung gefordert, schnell die Rahmenbedingungen anzupassen, um eine dauerhaft ausreichende Projektentwicklungstätigkeit zu ermöglichen.“ Doch auch die Projektierer und Flächeneigentümer müssen im Hinblick auf die nötige Bürgerakzeptanz seiner Überzeugung nach mehr tun. „Es reicht nicht, die Bürger frühzeitig und transparent über ein neues Projekt zu informieren und dieses für finanzielle Kapitalbeteiligungen der Bürger zu öffnen. Gebraucht werden auch neue Formen der finanziellen Teilhabe betroffener Bürger.“

Ende kommenden Jahres nun laufen die Windkraftanlagen der ersten Stunde aus ihrer 20-jährigen Förderung heraus. Jahr für Jahr muss dann eine große Zahl von Altanlagen – die „Ü20-Anlagen“ – den Weiterbetrieb ohne Förderung bewerkstelligen – oder stillgelegt werden. Bis 2025 sind davon mehr als die Hälfte des derzeitigen Anlagenbestands an Land und 30 Prozent der installierten Nennleistung betroffen. Angesichts des Einbruchs beim Bau neuer Windparks ist es essenziell, solche Altanlagen profitabel weiterbetreiben oder alternativ durch leistungsstarke moderne Anlagen „repowern“ zu können, um bei der Erreichung der Klimaziele nicht noch weiter ins Hintertreffen zu geraten.

„Das Marktpotential für PPA auch in Deutschland ist immens.“

Nils Driemeyer, Global Head Renewable Energy Hamburg Commercial Bank

Ü20-Anlagen an windstarken Standorten haben eine Zukunft

Das Auslaufen der staatlichen Förderung bedeutet keineswegs das Ende für eine Ü20-Anlage. Ob ein profitabler Weiterbetrieb einer technisch noch leistungsfähigen Altanlage im Einzelfall möglich sein wird, hängt dabei von vielen Faktoren ab. Neben dem Wartungskonzept sind hier die künftige Strompreisentwicklung und die Vermarktungsstrategie von zentraler Bedeutung. Windmühlen an windstarken Standorten haben weiter Potenzial – nicht zuletzt dank der sogenannten Power Purchase Agreements, kurz PPA. Dahinter stecken Liefer- und Abnahmeverträge zwischen einem Stromerzeuger und einem Stromabnehmer. Abnehmer des grünen Windstroms sind dabei Unternehmen, die sich das Thema Nachhaltigkeit auf ihre Fahnen geschrieben haben. Sie wollen gegenüber ihren Kunden, Lieferanten und der Öffentlichkeit ausweisen, von welchen Anlage genau ihr Strom stammt. „Das Marktpotenzial für PPA auch in Deutschland ist immens“, sagt Driemeyer voraus.

Das steckt hinter PPAs

Was tun mit Ü20-Anlagen nach dem Auslauf ihrer EEG-Förderung?

Einem Anlagenbetreiber stehen grundsätzlich die Optionen „Weiterbetrieb“, also die Direktvermarktung der Stromerzeugung am Markt auf ungeförderter Basis, das „Repowering“ der Anlage(n) durch den Bau neuer leistungsstärkerer Anlagen sowie die ersatzlose „Stilllegung und Rückbau“ offen. Alternativ ist gegebenenfalls auch ein Verkauf der Anlage(n) möglich.

Welche grundlegenden Stromvermarktungsstrategien bieten sich für Ü20-Anlagen?

Drei Vermarktungsansätze (sowie Mischformen davon) sind möglich:

  • Verkauf über einen Direktvermarkter über die Strombörse zum jeweiligen Marktpreis, gegebenenfalls mit teilweiser Absicherung des Preisrisikos (zum Beispiel über die Stromterminbörse),
  • Verkauf zum Festpreis an ein endverbrauchendes Unternehmen im Rahmen eines PPA-Vertrags mitsamt Übertragung von Herkunftsnachweisen,
  • Verkauf an einen Energieversorger oder -händler im Rahmen eines PPA-Vertrags mit Begrenzung des Preisrisikos auf eine bestimmte Preisbandbreite mitsamt Übertragung von Herkunftsnachweisen.

Was genau ist ein PPA?

PPA ist die Abkürzung für Power Purchase Agreement. Ein PPA ist ein langfristiger Stromliefervertrag, der zwischen einem Stromerzeuger und einem abnehmenden Unternehmen abgeschlossen wird und vor allem die Liefermengenverpflichtung definiert und den Preis für die gelieferte Strommenge festlegt.

Wie funktioniert ein PPA?

Wenn nicht gerade eine direkte Stromleitungsverbindung zwischen Erzeuger und PPA-Abnehmer besteht, erfolgt die Stromlieferung zwischen den Parteien über das öffentliche Stromnetz. Der Stromerzeuger wickelt die Stromflüsse, die Vergütungszahlungen sowie die Übertragung der Herkunftsnachweise für den erzeugten grünen Strom gewöhnlich über einen Stromhändler ab. Dieser ist – im Falle eines Baseload-PPA – auch mit der Vermarktung anfallender Erzeugungsüberschüsse beziehungsweise der Beschaffung von Fehlmengen über die Strombörse beauftragt.

Power Purchase Agreement

Power Purchase Agreement

Was bringen PPA beim Weiterbetrieb von Altanlagen?

Sie erlauben für die gesamte Stromerzeugung während der Vertragslaufzeit eine Übertragung des Preisrisikos und des Liefermengenrisikos auf den Stromabnehmer („Pay as produced-PPA“). Für eine solche Risikoübernahme lässt sich der PPA-Stromabnehmer allerdings durch einen Abschlag beim PPA-Festpreis kompensieren. Alternativ kann der Vertrag als „Baseload-PPA“ ausgestaltet werden, bei dem der Stromerzeuger feste Liefermengenverpflichtungen eingeht, hierfür aber einen im Vergleich zum Pay as produced-PPA höheren Festpreis vereinbart werden kann. Bei Baseload-PPA hat der Anlagenbetreiber im Falle von Abweichungen von der festgelegten Liefermenge Mehr- beziehungsweise Mindermengen über die Strombörse zu verwerten beziehungsweise zu beschaffen und trägt hierfür das Preisrisiko.

„Der optimale Investor eines Windparks kann auch aus dem Ausland kommen. Der Zugang zu internationalen Investoren ist entscheidend.“

Dr. Roland Schulz, M&A Transaktionen Energy Hamburg Commercial Bank

Als einer der führenden Projektfinanzierer in Europa bietet die Hamburg Commercial Bank ihren Kunden verschiedene Dienstleistungen rund um den Abschluss eines PPA. Gestützt auf Erfahrungen in den skandinavischen Windenergiemärkten, berät die Bank etwa bei der PPA-Vertragsgestaltung und unterstützt bei der Suche nach geeigneten Stromabnehmern. Daneben beraten die Spezialisten der Bank Projektentwickler und Anlagenbetreiber u.a. beim Verkauf von Windparks. So hat das M&A-Team der Hamburg Commercial Bank jüngst die getproject GmbH & Co. KG, den Kieler Projektentwickler und Betreiber von Onshore-Windenergieanlagen in Deutschland, beim Verkauf ihrer Anteile an zwei schlüsselfertigen Windparks in Brandenburg beraten. Die Windparks, die im Juni und im September vergangenen Jahres ans Netz gegangen sind, haben eine Gesamtnennleistung von 20 Megawatt. Käufer war die EWE Erneuerbare Energien GmbH, ein Tochterunternehmen des Oldenburger Energieversorgers EWE AG. „Abhängig von den jeweiligen Parametern eines Windparks kann der optimale Investor aber auch aus dem Ausland kommen. Für einen erfolgreichen Verkauf eines Windparks ist daher auch der Zugang zu internationalen Investoren entscheidend. Hier ist die Bank durch ihr breites internationales Netzwerk sehr gut aufgestellt“, erklärt Dr. Roland Schulz, der bei der Hamburg Commercial Bank die Beratung bei Transaktionen im Bereich Erneuerbare Energien verantwortet.

„Auch künftig werden Windenergieanlagen in Deutschland produziert werden. Es gibt eine Vielzahl an Entwicklungen, die der Windenergie in die Karten spielen.“

Nils Driemeyer, Global Head Renewable Energy Hamburg Commercial Bank

Immer höher hinaus

Durchschnittliche Größe und Leistung von Onshore-Windkraftanlagen 2000 bis 2018 (Quelle: Bundesverband für Windenergie)

Chancen für einen Aufschwung in der Windbranche

Drohen der Windenergiebranche als Folge des aktuellen Einbruchs beim Zubau jetzt – so wie schon der Solarindustrie vor einigen Jahren – eine Pleitewelle, Werksschließungen und Massenentlassungen? „Nein,“ hält Driemeyer entschieden dagegen, „auch künftig werden Windenergieanlagen in Deutschland produziert werden.“ Nach den Worten des Bankexperten für erneuerbare Energien gibt es vielmehr „eine Vielzahl an Entwicklungen, die der Windenergie in die Karten spielt und für neuen Branchenauftrieb sorgen dürfte“. Dazu gehören neben der zunehmenden Internationalisierung der Branche und dem Repowering auch die Entwicklung der Speichertechnologien sowie nicht zuletzt die Entwicklung von Power-to-X-Technologien. Dabei werden alternative Energieträger wie Wind oder Sonne genutzt, um etwa Wasserstoff für Brennstoffzellen oder flüssige synthetische Treibstoffe für Flugzeuge zu produzieren.

Ende des Booms

Neu installierte Anlagenkapazität an Land in Deutschland in MW [Quelle: Bundesnetzagentur; Deutsche WindGuard GmbH (Stand: Juni 2019)]

Das steckt hinter Power-to-X

Was ist Power-to-X?

Power-to-X ist ein Sammelbegriff für Technologien, mit denen Strom(überschüsse) aus erneuerbaren Energien wie Solarstrahlungsenergie, Windenergie oder Wasserkraft dazu verwendet werden, aus zum Beispiel Wasser und CO2 flüssige oder gasförmige Energieträger zu produzieren.

Wie funktioniert Power-to-X?

Technische Grundlage ist stets die Wasser-Elektrolyse. Mit ihrer Hilfe wird Wasser in Sauerstoff und Wasserstoff aufgespalten. Der so gewonnene Wasserstoff kann unter Verwendung von Kohlendioxid aus der Umgebungsluft in weiteren Prozessschritten zur Erzeugung von synthetischen gasförmigen oder flüssigen Kohlenwasserstoffen (E-Methan, E-Fuels) genutzt werden.

Was bringt das?

Mit Power-to-X-Lösungen können klimaneutrale Kraft- oder Brennstoffe hergestellt werden. Voraussetzungen dafür: Der Strom für das Aufspalten des Wassers muss aus regenerativen Energien stammen und das benötigte Kohlendioxid aus der Athmosphäre entnommen werden. Power-to-X ermöglicht die dringend notwendige Koppelung der Sektoren: Während etwa im Strombereich die Erneuerbaren schon bemerkenswerte Marktanteile innehaben, beruht etwa der Verkehrssektor weitgehend noch auf fossilen Energieträgern. Wenn künftig grüne Energie sowohl zum Antrieb von mehr E-Fahrzeugen als auch zur Erzeugung klimaneutraler Kraftstoffe verwendet würde, wären die Sektoren Stromerzeugung und Verkehr erstmals wirklich gekoppelt.

Was macht die Politik?

Lange Zeit waren E-Fuels und Co. nur ein Thema für Fachkreise. Doch auch die Politik hat nun erkannt, dass es schwierig wird mit der Klimawende, wenn der Fokus nur auf die E-Mobilität ausgerichtet wird. Jüngst machte Bundeswirtschaftsminister Peter Altmaier mit dem Plan Schlagzeilen, in bundesweit 20 „Reallaboren“ Wasserstoff und alternative Energiespeicher im industriellen Maßstab zu erproben. Dafür stehen nach seinen Worten mindestens rund 100 Millionen Euro pro Jahr zur Verfügung.