Infrastructure projects: HCOB targets new business of one billion euros in 2022

May 2022The Corona pandemic has ruthlessly exposed Germany's backwardness in terms of digitization and fast data lines. The war in Ukraine has made the issue of infrastructure even more topical and important. Hamburg Commercial Bank has been very involved in forward-looking infrastructure projects for years - and is now stepping up its commitment once again.

cable

Financing infrastructure projects has long been part of Hamburg Commercial Bank's core business. But the commitment has rarely been more important and in greater demand than it is today. Although interrupted supply chains and the expected "second-round effects" are challenging for the entire economy, the bank sees an increasing need for financing for forward-looking as well as sustainable infrastructure projects right now.

"We have committed around one billion euros to infrastructure projects in Europe over the past twelve months and aim to match that volume this year," says Christopher Brody, chief investment officer at HCOB. "In view of the devastating war in Ukraine and the associated uncertainties, we have set our sights high with this. And, of course, we will be watching developments very closely and managing our activities prudently and flexibly. But we are convinced that important infrastructure projects are urgently needed right now."

Focus on particularly promising infrastructure sectors

Jens Thiele, Head of Project Finance and Corporates at HCOB, adds: "We focus on digital and social infrastructure projects as well as innovative projects in traditional infrastructure, such as transport networks. In addition, investments in the production, transmission and storage of alternative energy sources are needed right now in order to be less dependent on energy imports in the future. This also includes the expansion of bridging technologies, such as the construction of port and storage terminals for liquefied gas tankers. "

construction workers

Greener information technology high on the agenda

In the past twelve months, around 60 percent of HCOB's new business volume was attributable to the construction and operation of data centers and the expansion of fiber-optic networks, which consume significantly less electricity than conventional copper networks and thus reduce emissions of climate-damaging carbon dioxide. The expansion of this digital infrastructure is one of the investment projects funded throughout Europe and forms the basis for the use of 5G technology. The demand for fast and reliable Internet connections is high: private individuals need fast Internet for their home offices. And on the corporate side, a stable digital network connection and modern, high-performance data centers are indispensable. Only with digitized business processes and up-to-date, energy-efficient technology can they be competitive and at the same time make an important contribution to greater environmental protection.Companies, but also governments, are being asked to step up their support for the necessary infrastructure investments now. "Public funds and well-structured financing models will play an important role in ensuring that companies are willing to invest despite the current uncertainties," says Dr. Cyrus de la Rubia, Chief Economist at Hamburg Commercial Bank. Investment support for transport services and infrastructure is an important issue in view of decarbonization, digitization and public infrastructure. In the German government's budget, investments of around 50 billion euros per year are earmarked until 2026, a significant portion of which is for infrastructure. In order to realize these investment projects and integrate the funding, strong and professional financing partners will continue to be required in the future.

HCOB with more than two decades of experience in infrastructure projects

Hamburg Commercial Bank has been financing infrastructure projects in Germany and Europe for more than 20 years, making it one of the pioneers in the industry. The bank has extensive experience in integrating promotional loans from KfW or the European Investment Bank and in public-private partnerships, as well as in integrating export credit cover. "Particularly in the financing of digitalization and IT - a sector that is important for the transformation of the economy toward greater sustainability - we have developed a very good track record, which we are building on today," says Thiele. "We continue to see high demand for financing in the market, despite the difficult economic environment. Our customers appreciate our experience, especially now, as we structure complex projects for them individually, promptly and reliably."

Jens Thiele

Head of Project Finance & Corporates

Phone: +49 40 3333-12611
Contact

Infrastrukturprojekte: HCOB peilt 2022 Neugeschäft von einer Milliarde Euro an

Mai 2022Die Corona-Pandemie hat Deutschlands Rückstände in Sachen Digitalisierung und schnelle Datenleitungen schonungslos offengelegt. Durch den Krieg in der Ukraine hat das Thema Infrastruktur nochmals an Aktualität und Bedeutung gewonnen. Die Hamburg Commercial Bank ist bei zukunftsweisenden Infrastrukturprojekten seit Jahren sehr engagiert – und intensiviert das Engagement jetzt abermals.

Kabel

Die Finanzierung von Infrastrukturprojekten zählt für die Hamburg Commercial Bank seit Langem zum Kerngeschäft. Doch das Engagement war selten wichtiger und gefragter als heute. Wenngleich unterbrochene Lieferketten und die zu erwartenden „Zweitrundeneffekte“ für die gesamte Wirtschaft herausfordernd sind, sieht die Bank gerade jetzt einen steigenden Finanzierungsbedarf für zukunftsweisende sowie nachhaltige Infrastrukturprojekte.

„Wir haben in den vergangenen zwölf Monaten rund eine Milliarde Euro für Infrastrukturprojekte in Europa bereitgestellt und wollen dieses Volumen auch in diesem Jahr erreichen“, sagt Christopher Brody, Chief Investment Officer bei der HCOB. „Mit Blick auf den verheerenden Krieg in der Ukraine und den damit verbundenen Unsicherheiten haben wir uns damit viel vorgenommen. Und natürlich werden wir die Entwicklungen sehr genau beobachten und unsere Aktivitäten umsichtig und flexibel steuern. Aber wir sind überzeugt, dass wichtige Infrastrukturvorhaben gerade jetzt dringend erforderlich sind.“

Fokus auf besonders aussichtsreiche Sparten der Infrastruktur

Jens Thiele, Head of Project Finance und Corporates bei der HCOB, ergänzt: „Wir fokussieren uns auf digitale und soziale Infrastrukturprojekte sowie auf innovative Vorhaben in der klassischen Infrastruktur, etwa auf Verkehrsnetze. Zudem sind gerade jetzt Investitionen in die Produktion, Übertragung und Speicherung alternativer Energieträger erforderlich, um künftig weniger abhängig von Energieimporten zu sein. Dazu zählt auch der Ausbau von Brückentechnologien, beispielsweise der Bau von Hafen- und Lagerterminal für Flüssiggastanker.“

arbeiter

Umweltfreundlichere Informationstechnologie hoch im Kurs

Vom Neugeschäftsvolumen der HCOB entfielen in den vergangenen zwölf Monaten rund 60 Prozent auf die Errichtung und den Betrieb von Datencentern sowie den Ausbau von Glasfasernetzen, die, im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Kupfernetzen, deutlich weniger Strom verbrauchen und somit den Ausstoß an klimaschädlichem Kohlendioxid verringern. Der Ausbau dieser digitalen Infrastruktur zählt zu den europaweit geförderten Investitionsprojekten und ist Grundlage für die Nutzung der 5G-Technologie. Der Bedarf an schnellen und verlässlichen Internetverbindungen ist hoch: Privatleute benötigen schnelles Internet für ihr Homeoffice. Und aufseiten der Unternehmen sind eine stabile digitale Netzanbindung sowie moderne und leistungsstarke Datencenter unverzichtbar. Nur mit digitalisierten Geschäftsprozessen sowie zeitgemäßer und energieeffizienter Technologie können sie wettbewerbsfähig sein und gleichzeitig einen wichtigen Beitrag zu mehr Umweltschutz leisten. Unternehmen, aber auch Regierungen sind gefragt, die notwendigen Infrastrukturinvestitionen jetzt verstärkt zu fördern. „Öffentliche Mittel und gut strukturierte Finanzierungsmodelle werden eine wichtige Rolle spielen, damit Unternehmen bereit sind, trotz der aktuell bestehenden Unsicherheiten zu investieren“, sagt Dr. Cyrus de la Rubia, Chefökonom der Hamburg Commercial Bank. Die Investitionsförderung von Transportleistungen und Infrastruktur ist mit Blick auf Dekarbonisierung, Digitalisierung und öffentliche Infrastruktur ein wichtiges Thema. Im Haushaltsplan der Bundesregierung, sind Investitionen von rund 50 Milliarden Euro jährlich bis zum Jahr 2026 vorgesehen, davon ein signifikanter Teil für Infrastruktur. Um diese Investitionsprojekte zu realisieren und die Fördermittel einzubinden, werden auch künftig starke und professionelle Finanzierungspartner gefragt sein.

HCOB mit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten Erfahrung bei Infrastrukturvorhaben

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank finanziert seit mehr als 20 Jahren Infrastrukturprojekte in Deutschland und Europa und zählt damit zu den Pionieren in der Branche. Bei der Einbindung von Förderkrediten der KfW oder der Europäischen Investitionsbank und bei öffentlich-privaten Partnerschaften verfügt die Bank über eine große Erfahrung ebenso wie bei der Integration von Exportkredit-Abdeckungen. „Gerade bei der Finanzierung von Digitalisierung und IT – einem für den Umbau der Wirtschaft hin zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit wichtigen Sektor – haben wir uns einen sehr guten Track Record erarbeitet, auf dem wir heute aufbauen“, sagt Thiele. „Wir sehen weiter eine hohe Finanzierungsnachfrage am Markt, trotz der schwierigen wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingung. Unsere Kundinnen und Kunden schätzen gerade jetzt unsere Erfahrung, da wir komplexe Vorhaben individuell, zeitnah und zuverlässig für sie strukturieren.“

Jens Thiele

Bereichsleiter Project Finance & Corporates

Telefon: 040 3333-12611
Zum Kontaktformular