The bank at a glance

Hamburg Commercial Bank – the specialist financier

Hamburg Commercial Bank (HCOB) is a private commercial bank and specialist financier headquartered in Hamburg, Germany. The bank offers its clients a high level of structuring expertise in the financing of commercial real estate projects with a focus on Germany as well as neighboring European countries. It also has a strong market position in international shipping. The bank is one of the pioneers in European-wide project financing for renewable energies and is also involved in the expansion of digital and other areas of important infrastructure. HCOB offers individual financing solutions for international corporate clients as well as a focused corporate client business in Germany. The bank’s portfolio is completed by digital products and services facilitating reliable, timely domestic and international payment transactions as well as for trade finance.

Hamburg Commercial Bank aligns its activities with established ESG (Environment, Social, and Governance) criteria and has anchored sustainability aspects in its business model. It supports its clients in their transition to a more sustainable future.

The bank’s specialists are as experienced as they are pragmatic. They act in a reliable manner and at eye level with their customers. They provide in-depth advice in order to jointly find efficient solutions that are a perfect fit – for complex projects in particular. Tailor-made financing, a high level of structuring and syndication expertise and many years of experience are just as much a hallmark of the bank as are our profound market and sector expertise.

Hamburg Commercial Bank had around 950 employees (full-time equivalents) as of 31 December, 2021 and total assets amounted of 30.3 billion euros.

More in our corporate reporting.

Sustainability means future viability

Sustainability is just as important to Hamburg Commercial Bank as good financial results. It applies high ESG criteria to its own business activities and accompanies its clients on their way to a more sustainable future.

More about sustainability.

What Hamburg Commercial Bank stands for

As a specialist financier, Hamburg Commercial Bank closely supports its clients and does what it does best: It delivers tailoredsolutions that meet customers’ needs, ensures direct communication to facilitate timely decisions and offers efficient business processes to support its clients.

Commercial Real Estate

  • Commercial real estate financing in Germany and neighboring European countries
  • Focus on the asset classes office, residential and retail
  • Structuring expertise for tailor-made financing solutions
  • State-of-the-art digital payment solutions
  • More about our Real Estate Clients expertise

Shipping

  • Financing for ships and maritime companies worldwide
  • In the key industry locations Athens and Hamburg with experts on the ground
  • A high level of expertise in the container ship, bulk carrier, and tanker segments.
  • State-of-the-art digital payment solutions
  • More about our Shipping Clients expertise

Project Financing

  • Active in Europe-wide project financing for renewable energy for more than two decades
  • Financing the expansion of digital and other areas of important infrastructure, both nationally and internationally
  • Deep industry and market understanding
  • State-of-the-art digital payment solutions
  • More about Project Financing

Corporates Germany, Corporate International And Speciality Lending

Individual financing solutions for international corporate clients

focused corporate client business in Germany

innovative, tailor-made offers in the lending business

State-of-the-art digital payment solutions

More about Corporates Germany, Corporates International And Speciality Lending

Hamburg Commercial Bank’s presence

Hamburg Commercial Bank Locations

Hamburg Commercial Bank Locations

Rating

Information on the rating of Hamburg Commercial Bank AG by the international rating agencies Moody’s and Standard & Poor’s can be viewed here.

Information on Hamburg Commercial Bank’s ESG rating can be found here.

Deposit Protection

The Bank is a member of the Compensation Scheme of German Banks (Entschädigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken GmbH). Further information is available at www.edb-banken.de .

In addition, the Bank participates in the Deposit Protection Fund of the Association of German Banks (Einlagensicherungsfonds des Bundesverband deutscher Banken e.V.). Further information is available under No. 20 of the Bank's General Terms and Conditions or at The Deposit protection scheme - Association of German Banks (bankenverband.de) .

Shareholders

Hamburg Commercial Bank AG is the first privatized federal state bank (formerly HSH Nordbank AG) in Germany andhas had independent shareholders since November 28, 2018. Shareholders structure as of 7 April, 2022:

Cerberus Capital Management, L.P.; J.C. Flowers & Co. LLC; GoldenTree Asset Management LP; Centaurus Capital LP;BAWAG P.S.K.

Die Bank im Profil

Hamburg Commercial Bank – der Spezialfinanzierer

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank (HCOB) ist eine private Geschäftsbank und ein Spezialfinanzierer mit Hauptsitz in Hamburg. Die Bank bietet ihren Kunden eine hohe Strukturierungskompetenz bei der Finanzierung von gewerblichen Immobilienprojekten mit Fokus auf Deutschland sowie dem benachbarten europäischen Ausland. Zudem verfügt sie über eine starke Marktposition im internationalen Shipping. In der europaweiten Projektfinanzierung von erneuerbaren Energien zählt die Bank zu den Pionieren. Darüber hinaus engagiert sie sich für den Ausbau digitaler und anderer wichtiger Infrastrukturbereiche. Die HCOB bietet individuelle Finanzierungslösungen für internationale Unternehmenskunden sowie ein fokussiertes Firmenkundengeschäft in Deutschland. Digitale Produkte und Dienstleistungen für einen zuverlässigen, zeitnahen nationalen und internationalen Zahlungsverkehr sowie für Handelsfinanzierungen runden das Angebot der Bank ab.

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank richtet ihr Handeln an etablierten ESG-Kriterien – die Abkürzung steht für „Environment“, „Social“ und „Governance“ – aus und hat Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte fest in ihrem Geschäftsmodell verankert. Ihre Kunden begleitet sie bei dem Wandel in eine nachhaltigere Zukunft.

Die Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten der Bank sind ebenso erfahren wie pragmatisch. Sie agieren verbindlich und auf Augenhöhe mit ihren Kunden. Sie beraten ausführlich, um gemeinsam passgenaue und effiziente Lösungen zu finden – auch und insbesondere bei komplexen Projekten. Maßgeschneiderte Finanzierungen, eine hohe Strukturierungs- und Syndizierungskompetenz sowie langjährige Erfahrung zeichnen die Bank ebenso aus wie eine tiefe Markt- und Branchenexpertise.

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank beschäftigte zum 31.12.2021 rund 919 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter (Vollzeitarbeitskräfte), die Bilanzsumme lag zum 31.12.2021 bei 30,3 Milliarden Euro.

Mehr in unserer Konzernberichterstattung

Nachhaltigkeit ist Zukunftsfähigkeit

Genauso wichtig wie gute Finanzkennziffern ist der Hamburg Commercial Bank das Thema Nachhaltigkeit. Sie legt hohe ESG-Kriterien an die eigene Geschäftstätigkeit an und begleitet ihre Kunden beim Weg in eine nachhaltigere Zukunft.

Mehr zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit

Wofür die Hamburg Commercial Bank steht

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank steht eng an der Seite ihrer Kunden und macht das, was sie als Spezialfinanzierer besonders gut kann: Sie liefert passgenaue Lösungen, setzt auf kurze Wege für zeitnahe Entscheidungen und bietet ihren Kunden effiziente Geschäftsprozesse.

Immobilien

  • Gewerbliche Immobilienfinanzierung in Deutschland und benachbarten europäischen Ländern
  • Assetklassen Büro, Wohnen sowie Handel stehen im Fokus
  • Strukturierungskompetenz für passgenaue Finanzierungslösungen
  • Hochmoderne digitale Lösungen im Zahlungsverkehr
  • Zum Angebot für Immobilienkunden

Shipping

  • Finanzierungen für Schiffe und Unternehmen der maritimen Wirtschaft weltweit
  • An den wichtigen Branchenstandorten Athen und Hamburg mit Expertinnen und Experten vor Ort
  • Hohe Expertise in den Segmenten Containerschiffe, Massengutfrachter und Tanker
  • Hochmoderne digitale Lösungen im Zahlungsverkehr
  • Zum Angebot für Shipping

Projektfinanzierungen

  • Seit mehr als zwei Jahrzenten in der europaweiten Projektfinanzierung für erneuerbare Energie aktiv
  • Finanzierung des Ausbaus digitaler und anderer Infrastrukturbereiche, national sowie international
  • Tiefes Branchen- und Marktverständnis
  • Hochmoderne digitale Lösungen im Zahlungsverkehr
  • Mehr zum Thema Projektfinanzierungen

Corporates International und Unternehmenskunden Deutschland

Präsenz der Hamburg Commercial Bank

Hamburg Commercial Bank – Für unsere Kunden vor Ort

Hamburg Commercial Bank – Für unsere Kunden vor Ort

Rating

Informationen zum Rating der Hamburg Commercial Bank AG durch die internationalen Ratingagenturen Moody´s und Standard & Poor's können Sie hier einsehen.

Informationen zum ESG-Rating der Hamburg Commercial Bank finden Sie hier.

Einlagensicherung

Die Bank ist Mitglied der Entschädigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken GmbH. Nähere Informationen sind unter www.edb-banken.de erhältlich.

Darüber hinaus ist die Bank dem Einlagensicherungsfonds des Bundesverbands deutscher Banken e.V. angeschlossen. Weitere Informationen sind unter Nr. 20 der Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen der Bank oder über www.bankenverband.de/einlagensicherung erhältlich.

Aktionäre

Die Hamburg Commercial Bank AG ist die erste privatisierte Landesbank (vormals HSH Nordbank AG) in Deutschland und hatseit dem 28. November 2018 voneinander unabhängige Aktionäre. Die Aktionärsstruktur zum 07. April 2022:

Cerberus Capital Management, L.P.; J.C. Flowers & Co. LLC; GoldenTree Asset Management LP; Centaurus Capital LP;BAWAG P.S.K.